Posted by: thefitacademic | July 22, 2011

Humidity City!

Humidity is not what you expect when you live in the dessert.

But with the monsoon season in full swing, it has been HOT and HUMID lately in Tucson! People always complain about how they hate humidity, but I’ve lived in Houston, Austin, Boca Raton and Tucson so I’ve experienced the whole range of humidity and I think a little differently than most people about it…

A Clouds’ Silver Lining…or The UPside to Humidity:

1. You feel like you’re always freshly showered because there’s a perma-glisten on your skinWinking smile

2. Plants and foliage grow like crazy, making even the driest climates feel like a tropical oasis

3. The moisture in the air breaks up the light so the sun’s beams aren’t as potent on a run (of course you still need sunscreen, but it helps keep it from feeling like the sun is penetrating your flesh!)

4. You no longer need a hat to shade yourself from the sun every time you step outside (see #3)

5. You can actually run at pretty much any point throughout the day because the moisture in the air prevents it from ever getting tooo hot (this is all relative – it’s still up to 100 degrees F, but it never gets up to 115 or 120 anymore…it’ll rain before it gets that hot and then everything cools down).

IMAG1446

So there you have it. I know lots of people are anti-humidity, but I think it can actually be really nice sometimes.

What’s your silver lining lately?

Responses

  1. I rather be hot than cold! So the heat doesnt bother me THAT much!

  2. I will gladly send you ALLLLL our humidity your way!! Hope it cools down for you soon though 🙂

  3. you look great! 🙂

  4. Wow…definitely all relative. The idea that 100 isn’t so bad compared to 115/120 shows the difference between living in the Northeast and the Southwest. It’s been about 100 here and we’re all begging for mercy…115 would melt our brains!

  5. As much as I complain about being hot, I hate being cold so much more. While I am sweating where I sit, I remind myself that in just a short time, I am going to be FREEZING my butt of for about 8 months. Ugh winter= yuck haha
    Why don’t I live in the south again!!?

  6. Yay for looking on the brightside! Every time I think it’s too run to hot, I remind myself that it’s not nearly as hot here as it is in every other part of the country so I shouldn’t complain 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

