Posted by: thefitacademic | July 7, 2011

4th of July Weekend Recap–Part II, On the Road Edition

This past week Chris & I took a long-weekend trip to Utah to visit family and friends.

I’m doing a 3 part recap of the trip

Part I: A Red, White, and Blue recap with the foods we ate for 4th of July

Part II: Sights from the road (see below)

Part III: Things we did (check back tomorrow!)

If you’ve never driven through Arizona and Utah, there is really some beautiful scenery. You pass through lots of different environments with lots of different plant-life and the variety keeps things interesting. Here’s a little taste of our trip.

Friday, trip to Utah:

We left at 6:45am. Rocky tried to jump in the car with us, having seen the suitcases and knowing that we were going away. Broke my heart, poor baby! (we had a friend come stay with him while we were gone)IMAG0289

The drive was beautiful. It was HOT through Arizona, but soon it cooled down as we continued driving north-bound

IMAG1104

First through the Arizona palm-trees in Phoenix

IMAG1129

through the windy, mountain roads

IMAG1137

sand-dunes that made it look like we were in Egypt!IMAG1151

Giant rocks of red and brown

IMAG1155

Pine trees and fresh mountain air in Utah

IMAG1161

Tuesday, return trip:

Crazy red rocks, dotted with green shrubs

IMAG1296IMAG1297

A tiny sliver of Lake Powell across the plains

IMAG1300

A storm blowin’ in as we approach Tucson

IMAG1305

And we made it inside approximately 30 seconds before the bottom of the sky just fell out and Tucson was put on “Severe Storm Warning”, with caution of flooding and damaging wind gusts up to 80 mph in some areas.

IMAG1308

Thank goodness we made good time and got home early!

Tomorrow I’ll share some of the more day-to-day things we did while in Utah. Then its back to the daily grind of life here in Tucson. (Pssst:  You’re not missing much! I’m just back to the daily grind!Winking smile)

Do you prefer road trips or flying? I prefer to fly simply because its faster, but there’s really something to be said for long road trips. I really think it lets you get to experience the country in a way you never can if you only fly to your final destination.

Responses

  1. i heard about that storm, CRAZY!! glad you made it just in time.

  2. My husband showed me a youtube video of the clouds rolling in and “eating” the control tower of the airport in Arizona! Crazy! I’m glad you made it home safe.

    Roadtrips… flying… travel of any kind is great by me. I don’t think I was born to stay in one place for too long!

  3. yikes- it was so sunny in the phoenix pictures… and then it got so scary! Your pictures make me want to hit the open road 🙂

  4. I cannot decide if I like flying or road trips… I HATE to fly but it IS so much faster!

    I love all of the pictures 🙂

  5. I am loving your pictures! Crazy how the weather can change so fast though!

  6. Wow–the scenery really is amazing! I love the convenience of flying, but I also enjoy a nice long drive. Being “captive” in the car is almost relaxing to me–I can’t possibly do anything but drive!

  7. […] Part II: Sights from the road […]

  8. […] MIA a couple of days! I gave you some recaps from my long 4th of July weekend trip (see Part I, II, and III) but then I kind of fell of the face of the Earth for a couple […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

