Posted by: thefitacademic | July 6, 2011

4th of July weekend Recap–Part I, WIAW edition

This past long weekend away in Utah has been phenomenal! I’ll do a couple recap posts rather than have a single, really long recap. So today I’m going to show you some of the eats I had for the 4th of July festivities…

 

Décor at my Grandma’s place:

IMAG1287

Fooooooood:

I made a lovely (if I do say so myself) Red, white, and “bleu” salad – forgot to take a picture until after it had been dug into, so sorry that it doesn’t look too pretty anymore!

IMAG1120IMAG1123

IMAG1121

The obvious thing would to be to use strawberries, blueberries, and a white cheese. But that’s too easy (and I didn’t have those ingredients on hand, heh). So I used raspberries, almond slivers (as the “white”) and bleu cheese crumbles! I also threw on some sliced green apple at the last minute. Served alongside a homemade citrus vinaigrette.

And, of course, there was BBQ! My plate:

IMAG1109

Half of a roasted corn-on-the-cob, two halves of chicken sausage (one spicy, one sweet), some roasted red potatoes, steamed broccoli, and some little tastes each of BBQ ribs and BBQ chicken. I also had a ton of my red, white, and bleu salad on a separate plate.

Desserts:

IMAG1288IMAG1289

Red, white and blue cupcakes & strawberries! I had half a cupcake and 2 strawberries!

As much as Chris and I enjoyed our time in Utah, it feels great to be back home. We made amazing timing on the way back yesterday – leaving at 5:45am and arriving in Tucson by 5:15pm. Yup….it was a loooong day (but much faster than it took us to get there! We took a short cut on the way home and saved 2 hours!!!)

Today I’ve got to jump back full-force into the swing of things. I have two classes I’m teaching that start this upcoming Monday so I need to finish up prep-work and get my rear into gear!

…..not before a long bike ride, first!

IMAG1332

Took the beautiful, scenic route today. Easing my way back into Arizona life after spending the past 4 days in the absolutely gorgeous Utah weather (around 80ish or so, snow in mountains, gentle breeze…) a stark contrast from Tucson’s 115 degree death-heat. At least we have some pretty mountain views, too.

IMAG1326

and if you look hard enough, you can even find a little grass once in awhile…

IMAG1324

Responses

  1. love those pretty strawberries!
    That weather sounds amazing…I’d love some of that!

  2. The salad looks delish and the strawberries are darling!!!

    xo, Ana
    My (Newly)Wed Life

  3. Those white choc covered strawberries look so cute!!! I love the red white and ‘bleu’ salad as well!

  4. I love how festive your eats are. Those strawberries look great!

  5. love your festive food!! i could go for a white choc dipped strawberry right now 🙂

  6. Those strawberries have to be my absolute fav. 4th of July food on WIAW!!!!! YUM!

  7. What a lovely day of eats 🙂 I bet Utah is SO pretty!

  8. I love that you made a sign to go along with your salad…so cute! The red white and blue strawberries are lovely.

  9. Yum- your BBQ food makes me sad that I didn’t have any BBQ this year 🙂

  10. I love red white & bleu salads!!

  11. bahaha! love the red white and bleu! ❤ I always go for the obvious pun so yours is way more creative and makes me extra giddy AND hungry! Happy belated 4th and happy WIAW ash!

  12. I was at a conference in SLC, Utah last year in May and really the weather was perfect. I love your red, white and bleu salad, fits the theme 🙂

  13. I love the patriotic cupcakes! I usually make something similar but no one in my family likes frosting. Something is wrong with those people!

  14. […] Part I: A Red, White, and Blue recap with the foods we ate for 4th of July […]

  15. […] Part I: A Red, White, and Blue recap with the foods we ate for 4th of July […]

  16. Yummyummy. I ❤ your wiaw.

    Whitney

  17. […] been MIA a couple of days! I gave you some recaps from my long 4th of July weekend trip (see Part I, II, and III) but then I kind of fell of the face of the Earth for a couple […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

