Posted by: thefitacademic | June 28, 2011

When Fun turns to Fabulous!

Last night we had plans to go over to a friends’ place. He’s house-sitting for a family that is out of town and they have a beautiful home in a nice, gated community here in Tucson. We planned to go over, make dinner, and maybe watch a movie.

When we drive up to the gate, we were greeted with a beautiful fountain and wild flowers

IMAG1062

We BBQ’ed beer-butt chicken and baby back ribs, and while the boys manned the grill, I whipped up some mango-avocado salsa and a dump cake.

The salsa was very easy and I just used ingredients I had on hand. I chopped up 1 large mango, half an avocado, half an onion, half a tomato, about a quarter of a red bell pepper, 2 cloves of fresh pressed garlic, a quarter of a cup of corn kernels, sea salt and pepper, a squeeze of lime juice, and a handful of torn cilantro I had on hand. The resulting mess looked like this:

IMAG1089

Looked kinda like mush, but it tasted amazing! It was gone QUICK!

And here’s the dump cake before it went in the oven:IMAG1088

and after it was cooked it had a beautiful golden brown crust to it.IMAG1095

While it was baking I also made homemade ice cream! Decided to keep it simple with a basic vanilla

IMAG1092IMAG1093

And though I somehow missed out on taking pictures of the meat and other accompanying dishes (corn on the cob, steamed asparagus, summer salad), I sure did get a picture of the dump cake with the vanilla ice cream!!!

IMAG1096

Just amazing!!!

IMAG1097

all done!

But somehow magically, just as we were about to sit down to watch a movie, my phone rang. Through some twist of fate (long story), we were having a 22 person limo escalade (with full bar) come to pick us up from the house, drive us around wherever we wanted to go, before returning us safely again whenever we wished!

So even though we’d intended for it to be a “low key” night (+ it was a work night!!!) we decided we couldn’t pass the opportunity up!!!

I don’t like to blog pictures of people without their consent, so I don’t have many pictures to share, but here are a couple that I think are okay:

When the thing first pulled upIMAG1065

Some of the décor:  There were spinning CD – looking things, and lots of flat screens everywhere. Plus a full bar, of course.

IMAG1070

The thing got a little trashed as the evening wore on….IMAG1081IMAG1083IMAG1086

All in all, it was a fabulous evening (even though I woke up today with killer headache and cursing life that I still have to go to work!!!) I definitely don’t regret a thing, though! These opportunities only come along very rarely so I just had to jump when it came up….work night and all.

How often/do you go out on work nights?

Have you ever had an awesomely random night like this before?

Responses

  1. Wow that looks like it was so much fun!!! Way to really grab life by the horns! 🙂 haha. I love unexpected crazy fun nights 😀

  2. Wowie! Fun really did turn into fabulous .. the house seems like ti was gorgeous and the limo is so cool!

  3. i am terrible at going out on work nights. Mostly because I hateee being tired the next day. Looks like you had a great night out though!

  4. oh wow, that sounds like such a fun night! i love when things like that happen randomly – they always end up being the most fun! 🙂

    although, i’m with you – i almost always regret going out on work nights. i don’t think i’d regret your night either though!

  5. Homemade iced cream is so yummy!!

    That was a seriously cool random turn of events! I haven’t had anything that exciting but last weekend my husband and I decided to drive an hour into the nearest city to see a movie we wanted to watch that was no longer at our local theatre. We never do anything like that and it was really fun!

    • yeah, we’re typically pretty low-key, but it was fun!

  6. Sometimes, even going out to dinner on a worknight can be too exhausting for me! But I’m an old grammy 80% of nights.

    When I plan for it, though, I’ll go hard on a weeknight for special occasions, especially if I can sleep in the next day/do overtime to make up for it!

  7. I actually have had something just like this happen! In high school, my friend’s dad won a trip in a limo (just like yours) so we got dressed up and rode into the city! it was so fun feeling like a celebrity… for free!

  8. Haha…..nights like that are THE BEST!! I don’t usually go out on work nights, but when I do, I usually make it worth it!

  9. […] Monday night dinner party + random limo escalade to ride around town. […]

  10. […] night. A little later than I like on a Monday work-night, but it’s not like I’m a stranger to random Monday night happenings. It was also a great opportunity to bond with a friend – we had a great time! Can’t go wrong! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

