Posted by: thefitacademic | June 27, 2011

Oh Monday, you little thing!

It’s amazing how Mondays just have this “personality,” if you will…

Some weeks they aren’t so bad; some weeks they strike with a vengeance. I think today is the latter of those two options. I spent much of the weekend working. I’m a little behind on a couple deadlines and I really need to not only catch up – bet get ahead on some work. That’s because – I haven’t mentioned it here – but Chris and I are going out of town for a long 4th of July weekend! We’re going to be heading north to Utah

image(Source)

We’ve known for awhile and I’ve had kind of mixed feelings about it (family drama, and what not), but I’m actually starting to really look forward to it.

1. For one thing, Chris will be meeting all of my cousins, aunts, and uncles on my Dad’s side that he has never met before, despite us having been together for almost a decade now!!! We’re going to have a big family BBQ and get-together on Monday, the 4th of July.

2. And for another, I can NOT WAIT to get out of this weather we’re having in southern Arizona! It’s been over 110 F every day for weeks now. It’s brutal! My Grandma tells me there’s still snow in the mountains and ski lodges are planning to stay open through August! CRAZY!

3. Also, Chris has never been to Utah before and it is really gorgeous! I’m going to take him up to the mountains to see the snow, and to Park City to visit the cute shops. And maybe to the big, outdoor Gateway Mall.imageimage

4. And we’ve also got tickets to go to this big Fourth of July celebration thing on Saturday called Freedom Festival, which culminates with a concert by Brad Paisley and fireworks! Did I mention that fireworks are banned this year in Tucson due to the draught? Yeah, I’m pretty excited to be getting outta here for the 4th.

But that means I’ve got a LOT to get done – both for work & for preparation for the trip!

So that’s where I am. Hello, Monday – please be good to me!!!

How do you feel about Mondays?

How was your weekend?

Responses

  1. This is awesome! I love going back to hang with family 🙂 Despite the fact that we’ve been married for 2 years Max hasn’t met ALL of my family (big Italian fam!) and I am daydreaming about introducing him to the rest =)

    • it can be hard – especially if you don’t live in the same place!

  2. I couldn’t have put my feelings about Monday better. Sometimes they’re awesome, sometimes not so much. I’m trying to change my general “case of the Mondays” around and really focus on whether or not the day was good or bad versus just hating it for being a Monday. Haha.

    My weekend was good – a mixture of fun stuff and relaxing stuff. Can’t wait for this coming weekend!

    • that’s a great suggestion – I should try to incorporate that into my life instead of just hating it simply for being a Monday, haha!

  3. I am SO jealous that you’re going to see Brad Paisley! SO jealous 🙂

    • I’m really excited! I used to be really into Country music and I’ve seen lots of shows, but never Mr. Paisley before! : )

  4. Last I heard, fireworks are banned here too! They aren’t even going to be opening the little stands if we don’t get more rain because of how dry/hot/windy it has been here. I have to work 7-11 p.m. on July 4 anyway, but still!

    • boo for working all 4th of july evening….but its actually a bit of sweet satisfaction that the rest of the city can’t really celebrate either (in my dark twisted way I know I would be happy, haha)

  5. I think my attitude towards Monday has to do with how good/relaxing the weekend was for me. When I feel like the weekend was relaxing and I got stuff done, then I’m happy for the routine Monday brings. When the weekend just frazzled me, Monday feels kinda…unfair!

  6. Just another Monday here… nothing special. Since I’m not working anymore, Mondays are just another day. I get a little alone time since the husband is back at work, and it’s a chance to recoup from whatever happened on the weekend. This past weekend was more shopping (ick) to get the apartment sorted out and get us settled. I’m exhausted! I hope the upcoming long weekend will be much more relaxing! 🙂

  7. I like me a good Monday every once in a while because it is back to the grind and routine .. I like routine (for the most part!)

    I am so jealous you get to go to Utah! Have fun and hit the mountains for some cold air 😉

  8. […] off to tackle a giant To-Do list, getting ready for our trip this weekend! I’m so excited to get out of the million-degree heat and somewhere a little bit […]

  9. […] think it has to be a tie between the 12-hour drive to get to Utah and all the pre-trip prep work (laundry, packing, etc.) that was […]

  10. […] still in Utah and enjoying time with the family. I’ll be back soon with a full recap and pictures of all the […]

  11. […] past long weekend away in Utah has been phenomenal! I’ll do a couple recap posts rather than have a single, really long recap. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

