Posted by: thefitacademic | June 26, 2011

Mixing up the Workouts

So lately I’ve been doing a lot of Jillian’s 30 Day Shred. I’ve talked about what I think of it here and here (don’t hate it, but not super impressed). I’ve also been riding my bike for transportation (which I also consider a form of cardio!) and have mixed in an occasional P90X workout sheet, sans the accompanying video. (Shhh – the secret about P90X is after you learn the weight moves you really don’t have to watch the horrible videos – just fill in the sheet for a good weight sesh!)

But today I went on a nice, long run.

It’s been a long time since I’ve done a distance run. And let me tell you what – I could feel it in my knees!

IMAG0870

Even with stretching + wearing knee braces! It’s too bad, because I love running, but I can definitely feel that running has taken a toll on my knees. I think my body has enjoyed the increased strength training + workout videos because it has given my knees some much needed rest. I’ll always continue to run, but I just may not be training for any marathons or anything! My 1 half-marathon may be enough for me. I won’t rule out the possibility of other long runs, but I think I’ve been bit by the triathlon bug now anyway.

And….I’ve decided my next race already! It’s going to be a fun one! The Mad Mud Run Phoenix! It’s between 3-5 miles (course length varies) and has different boot-camp style obstacles (climbing wall, crawling underneath low planks, etc.) and ends with running through a giant mud pit. I’ve talked to a friend about doing it and I think we’re going to do a little team! I’m pretty excited!

Well now I’ve got to run! I’ve got errands to take care of and I currently have this “little” boy trying to claim my stomach/lap as his own personal burrow. Winking smileIMAG0902

Have you ever had a big dog think he can just lay in your lap like a little dog would?….Would you let him?

What’s on the agenda today for you?

Responses

  1. My to do list today reads – run, yoga, laundry, blog stuff & I’m about 3/4 of the way through it. 🙂

    • Nice! Feels good to check things off that list! : )

  2. I feel ya! I’ve been running less than usual lately and my body has been sore, sore, sore because i’ve been doing more strength training. I loove running but our bodies really do need a break! My mom always tells me that my knees are going to die by the time i’m 30! I hope not! 🙂 Breaks are good!

    When is the tough mudder in Phoenix? It sounds fun!

    • Either November 10th or 13th….can’t remember right now, but it’s definitely around there! : )

  3. My boyfriend has two big rottweilers that are just the best. They definitely try to flop all over any and everyone that will let them!

    Today on my agenda is cleaning, cleaning, cleaning! It’s been too long since I’ve done a good deep clean/organizing weekend so that’s what’s on tap for today 🙂

    • That’s what makes me so sad about all the stuff about “killer” rotties and pit-bulls! It’s totally in how you raise them! I used to have a pit-bull and he was such a sweetheart – he’d cuddle with anyone!!!

  4. My pit bull totally thinks she is a lap dog.. it makes me laugh!

    I really like the p90x workouts too.. and running has been killing my knees as well :/

  5. The triathlon bug is a good one to catch 🙂 You can choose various distances which I like, and allows you to train for three different sports (duh) and not do too much wear and tear in one area!
    That picture is adorable! My friend’s dog is like that, lays on top of everyone even though he is close to 80 pounds haha

  6. Our extra big puggle loves to think he’s a lap dog. It’s pretty ridiculous. 🙂
    Not much left on the agenda for today! Probably blog reading….lol.

  7. Peanut sleeps half in my lap too, but it’s awesome in the winter 🙂

    • Totally agree!!! Better than a blanket! : )

  8. That run sounds like loads of fun! I often get bored running after just 15 minutes, so adding obstacles is where it’s at. Time to Google some in my area 🙂

  9. I have a goldendoodle and he loves to cuddle. Of course, he also loves to SPRINT all over my house… But anywhoo, sorry about the knee issues. A 1/2 marathon is no small chore. Good luck and may your knees hold out on you. I had some major knee issues when I started increasing my mileage as well. Also, I am getting a tri bug too =) I am just loving biking and swimming to spice up my running so I say BRING IT!

    Have a great day -Jen

    • Thanks so much! Isn’t the cross-training fun!?

  10. Your dog looks awesome 🙂 I miss having a pet.. but at the same time I do NOT want one right now.

    I think its great that you are doing tris. Id love to do one, but no access to a pool and no bike! Maybe one day though.

    • I’ve been training using a mountain bike (definitely NOT ideal, but better than nothing!) and using the pool at my school. I hope to invest in a “real” (aka: cycling) bike soon, but they’re so dang expensive!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

