Posted by: thefitacademic | June 21, 2011

Double Dates

Can you believe that until this week I had never had a date?

No, I’m not talking about the dinner + movie kind of date. I’m talking about the golden delicious kind.

image

And although I’m not starting my clean eating challenge until the second week of July, I think it’s never too soon to start making an effort!

So yesterday when I was craving something sweet instead of begging the hubs for an Eegee or running to the convenience store for some gummy bears, I busted out a thing of dates and ate them Caitlin style – stuffed with almond butter.

IMAG1014

Would you believe that my very first date (ever in my life!) I just popped right into my mouth, totally unaware of the giant pit in the middle? Yikes – almost chipped a tooth! But not to worry, I figured it out quickly enough. I also figured out that 1-2 chocolate chips per date (below the AB) is pretty much the best thing in this world.

And I discovered that I cannot take a close-up of myself eating an AB-stuffed date.

Proof:

IMAG1015

Take 1:  It’s so dark & off-centered!

IMAG1016

Take 2: Agh – this one is even worse & you can see my

un-brushed, straight-outta-the-shower hair!

IMAG1017

Take 3: Now my finger is all in the way! Oh well, I give up.

Off to make some dinner, do some Shred, and watch some 16 & Preggers (ah, the guilty pleasures in life…)

Have you had dates before?

What’s your favorite fruit?

Responses

  1. I need to try dates. And I’m gonna have them with AB and CCs!!!

  2. hahaha I believe we had ourselves a long distance 16 & Preggers date! I don’t know why I’m so addicted to that show!!

    Dates are AMAZING. Glad you have experienced the pure joy of them 😀

  3. I can’t eat dates. I used to always get served them at events hosted by Arabs, but I feel like I’m eating a giant bug and I just can’t do it.

    Sorry if that ruined dates for anyone 🙂

    • haha, I totally understand! It looks so weird! I thought it was basically going to taste like a big raisin/prune thing, but its really so sweet!

  4. I totally thought you meant the dinner + movie kind of date! LOL.. I need to try a double date asap 🙂

  5. I LOVE dates. I can’t help but eat about 200 at a time, so I have to limit it!

    • haha, I think I might have to constitute a limit for myself too!!

  6. I have had dates, but it’s been a while! I love strawberries so this time of year makes me pretty happy!

  7. I LOVE dates – they really are natures candy! And anything stuffed with almond butter is a win in my book :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

