Posted by: thefitacademic | June 17, 2011

Compromises

Being in a relationship you have to learn to make compromises. The area where that is consistently difficult for me is with food! I don’t want to compromise on my food. And the hubbs and I have pretty different palates. There’s definitely some overlap, but there’s a lot that I eat that he thinks is disgusting (green monsters, carrots!) and a lot of what he eats I wouldn’t want to touch with a 10-foot pole (fast food, super-processed frozen dinners).

Another one of our “problem” areas is the Mexican dish:  Enchiladas.

We both love chicken enchiladas.

But …

I like corn tortillas; he likes flour.

I like green sour cream sauce; he likes red sauce or queso (or both).

So last night when I knew I was preparing chicken enchiladas, I thought it would be a good time for each of us to practice the art of compromise!

Instead of flour (his fave), I used corn tortillas.

IMAG0977

I had previously baked some chicken which had been marinated in a spicy hot-sauce mixture. I shredded it and mixed with some reduced fat garden veggie flavored cream cheese (it’s creaminess really works well inside the enchiladas). I also added a couple dashes of hot sauce and about a tablespoon of this Creamy Salsa Dip from our local grocery store. So he got his favorite (red sauce) instead of a sour cream green one.

IMAG0976

I rolled half of the enchiladas just like that. The other half I added some sauteed veggies (pepper & onions) to add to the chicken mix that went inside the tortilla. I put them all in a greased baking dish and topped with more of the creamy salsa dip, sprinkled with reduced fat mozz cheese, and added jalapenos to the half of the tray with veggies, so we would know the difference.

IMAG0978

Popped it in the oven at 350. I covered it with foil for the first 15 minutes then removed it and cooked for another 10 minutes or so until the cheese was a golden brown. I’m so sorry I didn’t get an “after” picture in the tray because it was beautiful!

While it baked I made some spicy rice by cooking brown rice in a mix of chicken broth & spicy adobo sauce. It really gave it a kick of flavor! I also heated up some black beans to serve on the side.

This picture really does not do it justice (and I didn’t think to take a picture until I was half-way through with my enchiladas!) but here’s the finished product, served with a dollop of light sour cream (or could use plain greek yogurt).

IMAG0979

So both the Mr. & the Mrs. are happy:  corn tortillas for her, red sauce for him.

I’m off to tackle another day. I might be working this weekend too. We’ll see…

On another note, I just did Day 1 of Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred (yes, I know – I’m late to the party!) Not sure what I think just yet. I did get pretty sweaty, but it just feels like it was way too quick!!

Do you and your partner always get along with food choices?
If your palates are very different, how do you compromise?

Have you done Jillian’s 30 Day Shred? What did you think about it?

Responses

  1. When I first met my ex, he only had ever eaten processed food and canned crap, which I just totally don’t do. Since we lived together & I did the cooking, we ate much healthier & fresher than he was used to & he sort of adapted, but he stlll chose to eat crap other times. He did get much healthier though, even though he was weirded out by most foods I love (oatmeal, spinach, etc).

  2. We also have to compromise on food. I have to say though…over time, Joe has adopted more of my habits than I thought he would. I learned quickly that as long as I don’t push my foods on him he usually tries them on his own (and sometimes sticks with it!).

  3. thats a good compromise! you did well ash. looks good!

  4. I’ve totally been thinking about making enchiladas lately, but I’ll have to wait until we’re in the new house… all my kitchen stuff is pretty much packed! 🙂

    • eeeek – excited for your move!!! (not so excited for the mayhem that is moving & the in-between limbo period)

  5. I did some shredding, but I only did level 2 and 3 and not for 30 days and definitely not every day. Too short and that would have been WAY too boring. Plus, she annoys me. 🙂

  6. I don’t have a significant other, but I definitely have to compromise when I cook for my family! They are super picky!

  7. We often just eat different things. We eat maybe 2-4 of the same meal a week, but where I’ll have a salad with it, he’ll eat something else.
    I’ve done 30 day shred but not for 30 days…just once or twice a week.

  8. I am new to the whole relationship thing, so I’m sure I will be dealing with this soon! I am going to check back to this post for advice haha
    I own that DVD and really like it! Although I haven’t done the 30 day challenge, I often pop it in when I don’t feel like going to the gym or for a run, but still want to get a great workout in


Leave a Reply

Categories

