Posted by: thefitacademic | June 8, 2011

Happy Hump Day

What? It’s already Wednesday?! Where is this week going!?

Things continue to be a bit of a whirl-wind around these parts and I realized I haven’t shown you any pictures of food for quite awhile! Well it’s a good thing its What I Ate Wednesday so you can catch up on what I’ve been shoving in my mouth eating lately.

I started the day with a beautiful green monster brown beast. Breakfast:

IMAG0900

In the mix: 1 frozen banana, 1 cup of spinach, 2 Tbs chocolate soy protein powder, 1 Tbs almond butter, and 1/3 cup coffee

Lunch was leftovers from over the weekend: Half rack of ribs, a side of corn, and a side of beans. Love me some BBQ!

IMAG0572

Rocky, Chris, and I went on a long walk in the late afternoon so we stopped by Eegees and grabbed one for each of us. Snack:

IMAG0906

Mine was a mix: half lemon, half tangerine

IMAG0905

A little pre-dinner cuddling while food was in the ovenIMAG0902

Dinner was kabobs! We were going to grill them but realized after the skewers were all threaded that we’re out of charcoal! Rather than run to the store when we were already ready to eat, I just popped them on a cookie sheet and put in the oven.

The kabob components: pineapple, onion, mushroom, bell pepper, shrimp, chicken, and 4 “special” bacon-wrapped shrimp (his with “real” bacon, mine with turkey bacon")

IMAG0908IMAG0909

Served with a cold summer salad very similar to the one I posted here, only with rotini instead of tortellini.

Rotini was a mix of tri-color and whole grainIMAG0910

and other components were a tomato, fresh mozzarella, and basil from my plant outside!

IMAG0911

I just tossed the pasta with oil, balsamic vinegar, tomato, mozzarella, and basil.

IMAG0913

Skewers before being cooked (“His” more meaty and on the right, “Hers” more veg-heavy, and on the right)

IMAG0912

My finished plate (+ more veg from the boys’ skewers!)

IMAG0915

I’m off to a movie with a friend tonight so hopefully I can resist the popcorn temptation.  I might take a Larabar with me just in case!

Have you ever done shish kabobs in the oven?

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten today?

Responses

  1. brown beast sounds interesting!

  2. Taking snacks is critical when seeing a movie! I don’t really care for popcorn, but it’s nice to have your own healthy treat to munch on if you want to eat something 🙂

  3. I’ve been craving kabobs for a long time now! Never tried making them in the oven, but that’s a good idea. Good idea to add coffee to your smoothie. I’ll have to try that.

    • It was 1 extra cup the hubbs had brewed but didn’t want…the smoothie ended up being delicious!

  4. I have never done shish’s in the oven but I tried to do scallops over the grill and they fell off the stick! Bummer lol.

    Your lunch looks amazing.. I LOVE bbq!

    • that sucks – I looooove scallops so I woulda been super bummed!

  5. I want kabobs sooo bad! I need to go pick up some farmers markets goodies today so we can have some tonight/tomorrow and allll weekend long! =)

    tangerine + lemon sounds so genius… WANT! ❤

  6. i love kabobs. so fun! I have tried them in the oven before. not a bad deal. Pineapple is good too!

  7. Ribs are so so good! Your pic has me craving!! And I’m a totally kabob person. My mom’s are so delicious!

  8. […] I spent the next 5 hours out at a pool party with friends, munching on my chips and guacamole, along with the other great eats (hummus, burgers, and some Eegees!) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

