Posted by: thefitacademic | June 4, 2011

That’s how the Tahini Jar Crumbles

Today has been an eventful little Saturday and its still just midday here in Tucson!

I started my day off E.A.R.L.Y. Tucson is weird that way. During summer it is sunny from 4am until 9pm. While I appreciate the sun in the evening, I loathe it in the morning. I’ve always been a light sleeper and when the sun comes up it wakes me up….even if its only 4am still!

So I tossed and turned in bed for an hour and finally got up to do a jog a little past 5am. I got some new running gear and I’m super excited – I finally got a running skirt!

IMAG0858IMAG0862

sorry for the terrible lighting!

I’ve wanted a running skirt forever now, but sometimes they’re hard to find (all the sports stores will have are tennis skirts…which are different from running skirts), or they’re way out of my price range!

I found this bad boy on clearance at Old Navy (who knew!?) for $10 and snagged it up! It’s got spandex-style shorts underneath and a little change/key pocket on the back in the middle.

Verdict = Great for short distances!

It started off very comfortably, but it did have a tendency to creep up in the back. Even though there are shorts underneath, I felt kinda like a hoochy there toward the end so I wouldn’t wear these for anything longer than quick neighborhood runs (3-4 miles or less).

I came home and biked up to the local banks. Chris is working all day so the bicycle is my form of transportation Smile

I just now got around to changing my name….7 months after the wedding! (You can see wedding posts here and here). Better late than never!

After running, but before the bank, I decided to make a knock-off breakfast of one of my favorite (very unhealthy) breakfasts: Chick-fil-A’s spicy chicken biscuit!

I LOVE this breakfast, but it’s also about 800 calories or something ridiculous. I know “frying” food at home is by no means healthy, but it’s gotta be a little better than the fast-food equivalent, right?

I battered up some chicken breasts and pan-fried in a little bit of EVOO instead of regular veg oil. It’s heart-healthy oil, and this way the entire breast wasn’t submerged as it would be in a deep fryer.

IMAG0863

Meanwhile, I cheated and cooked a frozen biscuit in the oven. I could’ve made my own, but I was feeling lazy!

When the chicken was done it got a good pat on a paper towel to get rid of excess oil. Then plated atop the biscuit and it was perfection!

IMAG0864

Filled me up post-run and kept me fueled for the bike ride around town.

Came home, showered, did some reading for school, and decided to make lunch. Somehow, someway, I managed to rip a shelf out of my fridge when I was just trying to open it. Everything came flying out and I shattered an almost-empty jar of pickled jalapenos (no biggie) and busted the lid of a brand spankin’ new jar or Tahini!! Thank goodness glass didn’t get all in it, because Tahini is pricey!

IMAG0875

What can ya do? That’s the way the cookie Tahini Jar crumbles! Luckily I was able to save the tahini in a glass tupperware container thingy.

IMAG0873

Mmmmm – so thick and creamy!

After all those shenanigans I ended up making a simple wrap with leftover “fried” chicken, lettuce, roasted onions and corn (yes, corn – I’m weird that way), a side of carrot sticks and almond butter.

IMAG0878

Now I’ve got a house that needs cleaning and a lot of reading and notating to do. Have a Happy Saturday!

Any great ideas for what to do with all my Tahini? (I’ve got some hummus in my future, for sure!)

Responses

  1. Cute skirt! I have been debating buying a running skirt, but you may have convinced me too 🙂
    And I have never tasted Tahini! I know, this needs to change! I think hummus is a great idea, I would love to hear how it turns out

  2. Ha it took me forever to legally change my name too! A year I think?! I hate bureaucracy and paperwork 😉

    • omg, seriously! Just realized I have to change it at school too so my checks (which are directly deposited) will still go through! Ugh! I’ve heard its a huge headache too! Not looking forward to it!

  3. Tahini and melted chocolate over some oat bran is killlllllllllerrrrrrrrr!! 🙂

    • mmmmm – I’ll have to try that out! Thanks for the tip!

  4. I wish I could take some tahini off your hands, I can never find it at the store.

    I was in Chicago the past few days and it was bright at 5am, I do not miss that at all.

  5. ummmmm you made me crave fried chicken and biscuits! I NEVER crave that! … omg get in my face! =)

    love your new skirt! I imagined they would ride up a lil? oh well — show it off girl!

  6. I know the light sleep problem too well! I even wake up when a blossom falls down from the flower next to my bed, and since the sun is coming out so early now, I always wake up very early in the morning already. (I don’t get up then, I mostly stay in bed until my regular getting up time, but I find it hard to sleep then.)

    Yay for saving the tahini! Would have been too sad if it had been lost!

  7. So glad you saved the tahini! That stuff is so expensive- I would have been on my hands and knees trying to rescue it too, haha! I drop things all the time- mainly yogurt containers!

    In addition to hummus, I highly recommend drizzling tahini onto oatmeal and adding chocolate chips. The flavor combo is AMAZING!

    • omg, that sounds amazing!!! Thanks for the tip!!

  8. I was curious about the running skirts. Thanks for the review and advice.

  9. What an adorable skirt! I’ve been looking at these but haven’t bought one yet!

    • some of them are sooo pricey! But this one was a great deal

  10. […] In late afternoon I decided today was the day I would finally make that hummus I mentioned way-back-when. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

