Posted by: thefitacademic | May 22, 2011

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Whew! Yesterday I ended up being so pooped after my hike! I did, indeed, take Rocky on a trip up the road to the store (to score a RedBox), but then I went home and proceeded to take a 90 minute nap! It felt glorious!

Chris was working all day long! When he got home at 7:30pm, I ran up to the grocery store really quickly to pick up a couple things while he hit the shower. When I got back we decided to hit up a local Chinese place for dinner. Too tired to cook anything!

This was my fortune:

IMAG0739

Really?

About 10 minutes after we got home I walked into the bedroom to find this going on

IMAG0736

Wow. I must have some tired boys!!!

Chris is working again all day today Sad smile

But, I decided to have another leisurely morning. What else are Sundays for, right? I took Rocky on an hour walk (didn’t mean to go that long, but got slightly lost for a minute!), came home, read blogs, and was inspired to bake!

I’m so glad I just happened to stumble across this new-to-me blog, What Kelly Said, and to find THIS recipe. So exciting! Not only does it sound delicious, but I have all of those ingredients on hand (plus, bonus:  it doesn’t involve baking with yeast!!)

I whipped it up, tended to some laundry, and in what felt like no time, I was able to pull this bad boy out of my oven, with my house smelling just heavenly!

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

IMAG0768

I modified the original recipe just a tad

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup agave nectar

1 tsp salt

1 egg, beaten

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup PB&Co Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter

1/2 cup almond butter

1 banana, mashed

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Mix together dry ingredients in a large bowl (white + wheat flours, sugar, salt).

In a medium sized bowl, mix together peanut butter, mashed banana, and agave nectar. Pour into big bowl.

Re-use medium bowl (I don’t like to dirty extra dishes) to beat egg and mix with milk. Pour into big bowl and stir all together until dry ingredients are moistened.

Pour batter into a prepared bread pan (or muffin tins if you prefer peanut butter banana muffins!). Bake for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick in the center comes out clean. Cool completely.

omg, y’all – this came out amazing!!!

IMAG0770

I ate half of it just as it was and it was delicious. The other half I had a spark of genius (inspired by Trader Joe’s peanut butter cream cheese) and spread a bit of reduced fat cream cheese on top. It was the thing food dreams are made of!

The rest of my day is going to include lots of laundry, dishes, and cleaning, packing for my trip, doing some reading and work, and maybe watching that Netflix that I never got around to yesterday (that nap was totally worth it!)

What have you accomplished this weekend?

Do you hate baking with yeast, too?

Responses

  1. This looks awesome!! I have been craving banana bread lately too!

  2. This weekend I’ve accomplished: RELAXING. I also ran a 5k and did 90 minutes of yoga, but mostly relaxing and eatin’ through leftovers. My semester just ended on Thursday so a few days of doin’ next to nothing is great. 🙂

    I actually really like making pizza dough and things like that, but your bread looks amazing!

    • are you kidding me? when a semester ends a couple days of just relaxing, doing next-to-nothing should be MANDATORY! : )

  3. I have never baked with yeast because I’m super nervous to do so actually. I made pb nanner bread with peanut flour once and it turned out pretty good.

    I have somewhat unpacked this weekend but that is about it…

    • mmm – making it with peanut flour sounds amazing! I’ll have to remember that for next time!

  4. I can’t say I accomplished too much after the family party on Friday! The next day, I didn’t wake up until 10:00 am (shocking for me!) and then proceeded to sit on my bum the rest of the day blogging, relaxing and doing nathin 🙂
    This bread sounds great, I mean with those ingredients, how can you go wrong?! I have never cooked with yeast, I am too afraid to mess it up haha

  5. I would have been pretty tired from that hike.. I read your previous post and saw the pictures.. you were up so high!! Sorry your man has to work today 😦 @ least you have some delish bread 🙂

  6. YAY!!! I am so glad you liked it and your switches sound awesome!!!

  7. I don’t know if it would be possible for me to hate baking with yeast any more than I already do, haha. I always fail at pizza crusts because of it!

    That bread, on the other hand, looks delish! I love baking with the fun PB&Co flavors.

  8. TRADER JOES HAS PEANUT BUTTER CREAM CHEESE?!?!! Why didn’t I know this!? I need it now. I also need that bread right now. Peanut butter and banana is quite possibly my favorite combination in the whole wide world.
    I can’t say I have too much experience baking with yeast! I’m sort of scared of it. It seems so intimidating!

    • Yes – TJ’s PBcream cheese is AMAZING! Although…I love ALL of TJ’s stuff : )

  9. Kelly is coming to visit me in two days!!! I told her to bring me this bread. 😉

  10. Oh my, you used chocolate peanut butter in that bread? There’s no way it couldn’t taste incredible! I don’t mind baking with yeast, but I don’t do it too often.

  11. love the pic of the boys in bed! how fun……your bread looks so delicious and nutritious. don’t you love how a good hike will make you so tired?

  12. I’m getting better at baking with yeast! Sometimes it can be totally hit or miss though. But, I try not to let it get me down when it flops!

  13. I honestly will keep turning the pages in a bread recipe section until I get to the “quick breads” section. Yeast intimidates me.

  14. […] idea is that a carrot cake and peanut butter banana bread fell in love and had this […]

  15. Please let me kmow if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog.
    You have some really good posts and I think I would be
    a good asset. If you evfer want to take some of tthe load off, I’d love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

