Posted by: thefitacademic | May 17, 2011

Loaded Cobb Salad

Today has been another glorious summer day! I did some gardening (got a new basil plant), ran some errands, and did some work. Tomorrow I’m going back into the office, but since it’s been an entire week since I’ve been there, I’m feeling quite refreshed and ready to kick some To-Do List booty!

Thankfully my allergies have subsided a great deal so I’ve been able to enjoy long walks with Rocky and jogging outdoors. Tomorrow I’ve got a long bike-ride planned, so that will be nice, too.

For dinner tonight I knew I wanted something light and fresh, yet hearty. Not just any regular salad was going to cut it. And you know how sometimes you think about something and then can’t get it out of your head? Yeah, I’ve had this beast of a salad planned for a good while now.

IMAG0729

There were so many delicious toppings on this bad boy.

Corn that had been cooked the other day on the grill & cut fresh from the cob

Shredded chicken that had been mixed with BBQ sauce

Huge chunks of avocado that seemed never-ending

IMAG0731

And so much more!

In the end this baby was packed with:  chicken, avocado, cheese, turkey bacon crumbles, corn, black beans, diced onions, and jalapeno slices. All on a bed of romaine and baby spinach.

IMAG0728

No need for any dressing with the moist chicken. Once all of the ingredients were combined there were plenty of juices flowing.

After dinner Rocky and I enjoyed what is becoming our traditional daily walk.IMAG0726

Despite how hot it already is during the day, the evenings have been quite nice – low/mid 70’s with gentle breezes. Beautiful.

I’m spending the evening watching The King’s Speech. Yes, I am just now getting around to watching it. Yes, I know how amazing it is supposed to be. I have just been very busy lately. I’m catching up now. Smile

Maybe if the hubbs is lucky there will be brownies in our future. We’ll see.

What’s your favorite movie you’ve seen recently?

Responses

  1. Corn in my salad is actually one of my tip choices. So good!

    I’m not too sure my favorite movie seen recently though because I have been too busy studying and being in the blogging world bahaha.

  2. Corn & black beans are awesome together in salads!

    I just saw both “Bridesmaids” and “Something Borrowed” and I’d buy them both! Love a good chick flick…

    • me, too! I definitely want to see both of them! : )

  3. I’m interested to hear what you thought of The King’s Speech. I usually enjoy most of Colin Firth’s movies but I thought Geoffrey Rush was also great in this film. The two of them together had a fun dynamic.

    Favourite movie I’ve seen recently? I loved “Paul.” It is a spoof-comedy of sci-fi movies, and while parodies are not always my cup of tea, when they’re done right they are truly awesome. I haven’t laughed so much in ages!

  4. I’m kinda wishing I lived in AZ right now as a storm is rolling into Pittsburgh with RAIN. LOL..
    Good luck with the to-do list girl! Your cobb salad looks to die for 🙂

  5. That cobb salad looks awesome!

  6. cobb salad and brownies. Thats a good day!!

  7. ok now that salad looks amazing.. pulled bbq chicken, fresh grilled corn, avocado!?!?! yum

  8. We watched Easy A the other night….surprisingly fun! As far as movie movies go..I haven’t seen any for a while.

    • I saw that awhile ago and I totally agree! I had really low expectations, but I ended up thinking it was really cute & funny! Really liked it!

  9. I haven’t seen any movies in quite some time, but the King’s Speech is still high on my list!


Leave a Reply

Categories

