Posted by: thefitacademic | May 7, 2011

Perfect Lazy Saturday

Well, after just complaining that I have been missing out, I’m already making headway on a couple of my goals (friends + me time). Friday night was completely packed! First, we went to a potluck for school, then some friends and I headed out for a few drinks afterwards. Didn’t take too many pictures, but I did see this crazy mask thing made from pennies on the wall of a little local bar.

IMAG0648

This morning we woke up early and went to a big pancake breakfast being hosted by the local Mason lodge. I haven’t talked about it on the blog, but Chris just became an Entered Apprentice Mason, so we’ll be attending more of their functions. They’re starting a volunteer organization to mentor at-risk children, and I think I’d like to get involved in it – I love volunteer work, and it’s been awhile since I’ve done any!

We came home and indulged in a lengthy nap (if that’s not “me” time, I don’t know what is!) and I woke up needing energy so I made myself a strawberry, pineapple, banana smoothie

IMAG0651

It’s rare for me not to add protein or spinach, but I was craving some real fruit flavor!

Now we’re torn on whether to go BBQ at a friends’ house or to run the errands we’d planned on doing (hey – there’s always Sunday, right?) and then later this evening we’ll be attending a graduation party for a friend who just passed her dissertation defense and is now officially a “Dr”!!! I’m really excited because it will present the perfect opportunity to meet new people, since this person has a ton of friends outside of academia. Between that later this evening and our breakfast this morning, we’re already making headway on my Operation:  Make Friends goal!

Gotta run – I’m definitely leaning toward BBQ over errands, so I need to gather some food up! Open-mouthed smile

When’s the last time you had a good, long nap?

Responses

  1. I had a good long nap yesterday when I got home from work. I didn’t even mean to fall asleep, so I guess I needed it!

  2. Aww wow congrats to your friend! And Chris!! That’s awesome!!

  3. yay! that sounds great ash! i’m glad you get to relax this weekend!!! are you done with school yet?

    • not until Wednesday – but it’s getting closer every day!!! : )

  4. Glad you are enjoying yourself! I never would have guessed that mask was made of pennies! Crazy cool 🙂

    a nap is great me time 😉

  5. i love pancakes for breakfast 🙂
    i don’t take long naps but i find shot power naps very helpful !

  6. Hahhahahahah I slept for 3 days when I was sick last week… pretty long nap there! 😉 ‘Grats to Chris on the whole mason thing… my big brother is a mason!

    • cool – had no idea! It’s been a really big deal to him so he’s very excited about the whole thing : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

