Posted by: thefitacademic | May 1, 2011

Crack-a-lackin!

Good evening, friends!

This weekend has gone by WAAAAAAY too quickly! I could really use one more day per weekend! For reals!

I spent a good chunk of the weekend working – which definitely doesn’t help! But I’ve been super productive, so that’s always good!

As I mentioned yesterday, I went to a little picnic yesterday afternoon and I took some Strawberry Banana Oatmeal bars for the event. I borrowed Chelsey’s recipe for her “crack” bars, but made my own modifications. Here it is!

Strawberry Banana Oatmeal Bars

Ingredients:

3/4 cup flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 3/4 cup oats

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 bananas, smashed

4 Tbs agave nectar

2 packets of Truvia

1/4 cup water

1/3 cup almond milk

2 Tbs oil

1 pound strawberries, sliced

1 Tbs cinnamon

1 Tbs butter, melted

1/4 cup brown sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine all the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, & Truvia (or sugar substitute). Stir to combine.

In a smaller bowl, combine smashed banana, vanilla, agave, water, milk & oil. Stir until smooth.

In another small bowl, combine melted butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, thoroughly combining.

Pour half the batter into the bottom of a sprayed 8 X 8 pan. Layer with sliced strawberries, then top with remaining batter. Drizzle with brown sugar/butter mixture.

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Here’s how it looks in pictures

Dry ingredients:

IMAG0610

Wet ingredients:

IMAG0609

In the pan, layered with sliced strawberries

IMAG0611

Topped with remaining batter

IMAG0612

Done with baking!

IMAG0613

Side view, still in the pan:

IMAG0614

Close up:

IMAG0617

and another

IMAG0619

They were a big hit – not too sweet, but just sweet enough! Next time I would probably just mix the strawberries in with the rest of the batter instead of layering. In Chelsey’s recipe she originally pureed the strawberries, and I’m sure that would have worked better but I was being lazy and didn’t feel like finding my mini food processor.

It was still delicious!

In other news – my allergies have been KILLING me! So weird, too, because I usually don’t have problems with allergies! All I know is I can’t breathe, I’m sneezing non-stop, and I want to scratch my eyes out of my head because they itch so badly! Ugh!

I just picked up some Claritan D, so hopefully it will help.

Do you have bad allergies? What do you do!? (any tips for a big baby?)Winking smile

Did you make anything yummy this weekend?

Responses

  1. My weekend went by way too fast as well … not cool!!

  2. I LOVE strawberry and banana together so I’m definitely bookmarking this recipe! I bet your kitchen smelled amazing!!

  3. Sounds way too healthy for me, but it looks pretty tasty 🙂

    “Cinnamon bites and kisses simultaneously.”
    -Vanna Bonta

  4. I don’t usually have problems either but I’ve been a wreck with my allergies!

    Those crack bars definitely look yummy 🙂

  5. Oh man those bars looks delish! Perfect for springtime. Too bad I ate most of the strawberries I just bought. I’ll just have to buy some more!

  6. Oooh, those bars are beautiful!

    I have allergies, but I’m allergic to allergy medicine :/


Leave a Reply

Categories

