Posted by: thefitacademic | April 28, 2011

An old love resurfaces….

This is going to be a little different than my typical food and/or exercising posts. Maybe because I’m burning the midnight oil and have completely lost my mind. Maybe because my life has been consumed by comps so I have nothing health and/or fitness related to share. Nevertheless – here I go! (and if you hate this post, please come back! I promise I’ll be back to my old routine soon!!!)

I used to love music.

Like….loooooove it.

I’ve always enjoyed hearing music, singing along, going to live music – anything around town. I think the infatuation only grew as I learned to create music (I took guitar lessons when I was 17 and was hooked!) I gained a whole new appreciation.

When I’d listen to music I could feel the chords as they were being strummed.

Feel it in my soul.

Yes, I know how weird this sounds (unless you, too, really have a passion for music – and then you “get” it).

And to be honest, my love affair with music has waned over time. Ticket prices to shows have raised over the years, my time has become increasingly valuable, and I have been unwilling to spend the time, money, or effort to go see shows or to continue making my own music. Other things took center stage in my life – and I’m totally okay with that.

But do you ever hear an un-edited version of a song, and suddenly it strikes a chord in you (no pun intended Winking smile)? Suddenly you realize that there was a word blurred on the radio and when you hear it – it totally changes the meaning of the entire song?

This happened when I found out that James Blunt, in the original (unedited) version of “Beautiful” actually drops an F-bomb. That single word TOTALLY changed the meaning of the song for me. In fact, it totally changes the meaning of the sentence in a literal interpretation, as well. The video opens up a whole new can of symbolism (note, though, that this is the edited version – I’m assuming an unedited version was never made since it couldn’t be aired on TV). This was a long time ago though.

 

Well, it’s happened again. This time with Mumford and Sons and the song “Little Lion Man.” You heard it?

Same basic story – there’s an F-bomb (in the chorus, no less!) that’s blurred out on the radio. This discovery completely changed everything. I became obsessed – listening to it over and over again. Analyzing what the words must mean.

Here are the lyrics:

Mumford and Sons:  Little Lion Man

Weep for yourself, my man
You’ll never be what is in your heart
Weep little lion man
You’re not as brave as you were at the start
Rate yourself and rake yourself
Take all the courage you have left
Wasted on fixing all the problems
That you made in your own head

But it was not your fault but mine
And it was your heart on the line
I really fucked it up this time
Didn’t I, my dear?

Tremble for yourself, my man
You know that you have seen this all before
Tremble little lion man
You’ll never settle any of your score
Your grace is wasted in your face
Your boldness stands alone among the wreck
Learn from your mother
Or else spend your days biting your own neck

But it was not your fault but mine
And it was your heart on the line
I really fucked it up this time
Didn’t I, my dear?

 

At first I thought the song was all about a love gone sour. He’s fucked it up – he says so himself! But then I realized that only the chorus sounds as though he’s talking to an ex-love. The verses, themselves, sound as if he’s talking….to himself? Is the entirety of the song to himself? The last verse is particularly interesting. Clearly he’s taking responsibility for messing up this relationship. The first verse implies he was arrogant and has been knocked down from his pedestal (and I think this is a common thing that occurs with age, alone). He’s made up problems out of nothing and ruined whatever good thing he had going for him. But has he lived through this before? Or perhaps had something similar happen in a previous relationship? Is this a pattern for him? If he doesn’t learn, he’s doomed to repeat the same pattern in future relationships.

That’s my take anyway.

And so it appears that I’m having a love affair….with music.

And just for good measure, let me leave you with one of my all-time favorite videos. I came across this a few weeks (months?) back and have been absolutely enthralled by it! So fascinating that the human ear is obviously drawn to this same basic chord progression. Blows me away.

Happy Thursday, ya’ll. One more day until my hell week is over!

Tell me something good!!!

Responses

  1. I have fallen in and out of love with music and right now I just don’t care for it haha. I do like James Blunt and Mumford and Sons tho!!! Great taste in music 😀

  2. I must not listen to the radio often enough because I didn’t know there was a version of Little Lion Man that DIDN’T have the f bomb in it. Liar my M&S is one of my favorites ever

  3. I liked that video! Thanks for sharing!

    It kind of reminds me of the Pachelbel rant: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdxkVQy7QLM

  4. Well, there are certain rap songs in which the entire song is basically changed for the radio edit haha. There are lots of whistles, sound effects, etc. bleeped over. And lets not forget “forget you” by Cee-lo.

  5. I’m a big fan of the F bomb. When properly used, it conveys so much, and no other word can substitute. I heard that in the Mumford song and loved it!

  6. I’d never heard that song before now but I can understand why it means something to you! I felt that way about “Runaway” by Mat Kearney a few weeks ago. LOVE that song!!

  7. I love music and really has a lot to do with how productive I am…when i clean my house, when i workout and when i drive long distances!

  8. […] I’ve been especially obsessed with that last song by Charlie Mars. Have you heard it? It’s not even the lyrics (truthfully, I don’t even know all the words!), but something about the beat – it’s just so soothing! Love it! (You can read about another music obsession here) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

