Posted by: thefitacademic | April 26, 2011

FOOOOOD!!!!!

So this is it – the culmination of my entire school career (and yes, after 2 decades you can call school a “career”) Open-mouthed smile

This week I have embarked upon my comprehensive exams. You pass those exams and you are considered a “graduate candidate” – as in, “they” (faculty) see “you” (me!) fit to be one of their peers. You still have to do the dissertation, but honestly the comps are supposed to be the hardest thing you do. It’s downhill from here. And if you don’t pass……well let’s not think about that Disappointed smile

Every program does it a little differently. In my program I received 4 “questions” (long paragraphs asking about 15 different things, each) that I have to respond to in a 15 page paper, each (not including References – that’s a whole separate document). I received the questions on Monday at 9:00am. They are due by Friday at 5:00pm. So what am I doing between now and then? Very little other than WRITE WRITE WRITE! My goal is to do 1 question a day, then spend Friday reviewing and revising everything. So far so good because I finished an entire question yesterday.

Let’s just say – the process is grueling. My workouts have already fallen to the way-side. I got in a short jog yesterday morning but today I’m up and at ‘em….no time to workout. That’s okay though. This is 1 week. It won’t derail my triathlon training.

One thing that I can’t REFUSE to give up?

Good food!

Luckily I plan my weeks’ meals ahead of time to take all the guess-work out of dinner. I was also strategic this week – picking meals that would be QUICK, EASY, and DELICIOUS!

Enter:  Turkey and Cheese Stromboli!!!

Listen to how easy this is, guys! And then go get the ingredients (or make it from what you have on hand), and MAKE IT TONGHT! Yum!

Ingredients:

pizza dough (I cheated and used store-bought, but you can make your own, too!)

cheese

Boar’s Head sliced turkey breast (or other lunch meat)

*that’s it!!!*

Directions:

First, flatten your dough onto a baking sheet – just like you would if you were prepping a pizza. (make it in the shape of a rectangle, NOT a circle!) I used Trader Joe’s garlic & herb dough, but you can use anything you want.

Next, layer hefty portions of meat and cheese along the center of the dough – it should stretch completely from one end of the dough to the other (long-ways on the rectangle).

Then, fold one side of the dough over the top, then do the same thing with the other side, meeting in the middle and sealing to shut.

You can brush with a little egg white or EVOO, if desired (I didn’t, so the top of mine isn’t all shiny). Then pop in the oven at 400 for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown on the top.

My finished product looked like this:

IMAG0584

I served mine along with a big bowl of steamed broccoli that had been seasoned with some salt, pepper, garlic, and a dab of Earth Balance.

IMAG0583

It’s really that easy! About 5 minutes of prep is all it takes to have a delicious Turkey and Cheese Stromboli!!! And you can play around with it, too! Make a pizza style one (layer pepperoni and cheese, and include a marinara dipping sauce on the side) or you can make a chicken and veggie one. The sky is the limit, people!

Then slice it open, plate it up, and enjoy the fruits of your 5-minute labor.IMAG0586

Bonus:  We even had leftovers so I can take it for lunch today instead of having to worry about making myself something else.

Do you have any go-to Quick and Easy Recipes that you rely on when things are crazy? Please share!!! Smile

Responses

  1. Good luck!!! You are going to rock that exam 🙂

  2. Good luck with your essays!! Your plan sounds like my typical mode of attack for beastly assignments 😉 You are SO close to the finish line!!!!

  3. Good luck on your exams!!!!!
    And stromboli is seriously awesome.

  4. Good luck on your exams and papers! I graduate in 24 days! I’m kinda freaking out! My go to meal is usually a stir fry of some sort but heres a good recipe for israeli cous cous! the flavor combos are endless!http://www.startoverfromscratch.com/2011/01/so-nice-they-named-it-twice.html

    • Congrats!!! And thanks for the recipe – I love couscous!

  5. Best of luck to you and you are soo right.. 1 week won’t derail your training/fitness. Sometimes a week off is just what ya need 😉
    Your Stromboli looks so great and I love how easy it is !

  6. I have a lot of leftovers in my freezer that I eat in a pinch, but my favorite quick meal is a quesadilla! Yum, I love them 🙂

  7. Good Luck! I have a soft spot for Sauteed pears with brie cheese grilled sandwich. Sooo Good! sooo easy!

  8. mmmm i wonder how it would be with mozzarella and apples? for some reason that sounds good to me!

    • mmmm – this actually sounds like it might be amazing!!!

  9. Good luck!!! You’re going to do amazing! When I need a quick dinner, I usually go for a whole-wheat pasta with an easy sauce!

    • i would totally do this every day if it weren’t for the husband hating pasta meals! Isn’t he crazy?!

  10. good luck on the exam!! you’ll do awesome! 🙂 and it will feel AMAZING when it’s over! i actually received my email confirmation today from our grad school that i have achieved “dissertator” status! FINALLY.

  11. Wow, that looks absolutely tasty!

    My quick go to meals are quesadillas, nachos or pizza. I love quick meals.

    Good luck on your exams!!

    • love all those things – i’m a sucker for cheese! : )

  12. Good Luck!!! My go-to meal when I am busy is usually some type of quasadilla!

  13. Good luck on your exams! You can do it!

    I like couscous because it cooks in about 5 minutes. Add veggies and some sort of protein and it’s a full meal!

  14. best of luck to you!!!!!! Just think what you are lacking in physical exercise this week you will make up for in mental and Im sure it will help in its own way with your tri training!!!

  15. […] week has been brutal. I’m dong my comps this week and I started out strong on Monday. But on Tuesday…..shit hit the […]

  16. […] Thursday, ya’ll. One more day until my hell week is […]

  17. My quick and go-to recipe goes something like take sliced turkey breast out of fridge, spread cranberry apple butter on it, put into mouth and chew. That was dinner last night, oops! 😉

  18. […] I did manage to survive my Comps HELL week…barely. I’ll tell you what – I don’t think I’ve ever been so thankful for 5:00pm on […]

  19. […] Exam today. I completed the written portion at the end of the Spring semester (remember that Hell week?). Yeah, I had to wait to take the Oral portion until the beginning of this semester….which is […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

