Posted by: thefitacademic | April 20, 2011

Pacific Time

One of the things about living in Arizona is that we don’t do the whole “daylight savings” time change thing.

That means that our “time zone” fluctuates by time of year. And although I LOVE that days are now being bright longer and Spring is in the air (at least here) we are now on Pacific Time, so we are 3 hours behind the East coast.

Sadly, this means that by the time I eat dinner, many of you are already in bed for the night. But, never fear, today is a new day and here I am!!!


Breakfast was at school – I had to run out of the house quickly this morning and didn’t get a chance to eat before. I grabbed a Chobani and some granola to pour on top. Delish!

IMAG0549

Lunch was a giant salad beast:  carrots, chicken, feta cheese, spinach/lettuce mix, dried cranberries & some walnuts. The chicken is covering everything in the picture, but I swear it was loaded up!

IMAG0550

And Dinner hasn’t been consumed just yet (remember – Pacific coast?) but it’s going to be a Crock Pot Meal!

IMAG0552

I try to plan weekly meals so it focuses my grocery trips and makes life easier/less complicated. I have a few crockpot meals planned over the next couple weeks so I can survive until the end of the semester! Tonight we’re having roast pork with carrots and potatoes. Tomorrow I’m using the same crock-pot to make pulled pork sandwiches. And it will make another appearance in a few more days.

Other than my eats, I’ve had a good past couple days. I’ve been super productive, which always makes me happy, and I’ve been able to enjoy a couple car trips with Rocky boy

IMAG0556

He looks so silly sticking his head up in the air & with his ears catching the wind. It’s a good thing I fell in love with him when he was a precious puppy because this picture makes him look like a rat-dog!

IMAG0557IMAG0558

Oh – and remember how I went to Old Navy this past Saturday to cash in on their $7 cropped camis? I wore one yesterday to work. Perfect for Arizona’s warm weather!

IMAG0547

Cute, right!?

And now – it’s back to working! Have a good evening!

What’s the last new piece of clothing you bought?

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten today?

Responses

  1. i just bought a new bright yellow coat and a fun pink & yellow sundress! 🙂

    and lol at rocky out the window! capone does NOT like doing that.

  2. I also had Chobani in my WIAW 🙂 That salad looks good!

  3. I hated the no changing time thing when I lived in Phoenix. I felt like I could never get my tv schedule straight or what time the East Coast was on.

  4. I miss chobani like nobody’s business. Stupid lame Australia.

  5. the day has just begun – but the granola I just ate was pretty good! 🙂

  6. I recently bought a bunch of new running gear. Nothing makes me want to go for a run like a new sports bra! I haven’t bought any “normal” clothes in a while.

    I think Rocky looks adorable with his head out the window!

    • totally agree – running/workout clothes > regular clothes : )

  7. I didn’t know Arizona doesn’t do daylight savings! That must get confusing traveling between time zones.

    I’m currently eating breakfast so I guess my PB&J smoothie is the best thing I’ve eaten so far.

  8. I bought some new PJ’s at Target. I may be wearing them now. I work from home and sometimes forget to get dressed in the morning. 🙂

  9. Lookin’ cute!! The best thing I bought was one of those cropped tops from Nordstrom. It’s white and I love wearing different colored tanks underneath it!

  10. Ohmygosh I totally am mad that I don’t have time to go to old navy and grab these! Ok I do technically have time today but there’s so much bloggy stuff to catch up on that I feel like I shouldn’t shop =/ boo

    I didn’t know that about arizona! so odd! Ooh! I may have a AZ trip in the works soon! sooo excited! I’ll have to hit you up for some good places to go/visit/eat =)

    • exciting!!!!! Where in AZ?!
      And, are you kidding me? There’s always time to shop ; )

  11. I totally need to get my butt in gear and make some awesome meat in the crockpot… I only ever make soup in it, lol! 🙂

    • soup takes more effort than meat! Seriously – I buy a slab-o-meat (pork roast, for example), throw it in with some carrots and potatoes, a little seasoning, and it’s good to go! : )

  12. I didn’t know AZ was a whole 3 hours behind! How cool!!
    Yummy eats 🙂
    LOVE the outfit too!!!

  13. I had lemon Greek yogurt- best thing I’ve eaten all week!

    • mmmmm – I haven’t tried lemon flavored but it sounds so refreshing and summer-y!

  14. That whole time zone thing would confuse the crap out of me!

    Love the outfit you are wearing in that pic. And your dog is too cute with his head out the window 🙂

  15. Ah i bought WAY too much clothing recently… But i’m not mad about it 🙂 J.Crew owns me.

  16. Productive feels so good. 😉 The crockpot looks amazing, I don’t have one, but I have just started cooking a lot in a cast-iron pot which is great for slow-cooking things. 🙂

    Today, I had a slice of por roast with roasted green asparagus, carrots, and lots of onions for lunch. That was the highlight. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

