Posted by: thefitacademic | April 16, 2011

Mini-tri

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, then you know I’m a month and a half away from my first triathlon!!! I told you all about my first brick workout (2 portions of the triathlon sandwiched together:  swim + bike OR bike + run). Today I did an abbreviated version of all 3 portions of the tri. First, I biked to school as a warmup. When I got there I did 750m in the pool (that’s the exact length of the actual triathlon), then I biked back home at a faster pace rather than a warm-up pace (5km; the triathlon is 20km) and then went on a little jog with Rocky (1.5 miles, as opposed to 5km in the tri). And I feel really good. I feel like I could do this thing tomorrow, so I don’t think I’ll have any problem at all with the race next month! Hooray!

When I headed out the door on my jog I grabbed my camera – and I’m glad I did, because I came across a couple random things.

 IMAG0514

My shadow (and Rocky’s rear-end) jogging along.

Random Thing #1

IMAG0515

Clearly Rocky was intrigued

What the crap??? I guess someone doesn’t like pennies because I found probably at least a dollar’s worth on the side of the road! No, I didn’t grab them up. But I probably would have if it had been closer to home Open-mouthed smile Chris is always throwing away pennies (he thinks it’s “chump change”), and as a result I’ve started a penny jar so I can collect all of his unwanted change. Maybe one of these days I’ll have enough for a tank of gas or something….but probably not…..maybe some froyo, at least??? Winking smile

Random Thing #2

IMAG0516

Random mailbox

How would you like to be the mail-man/lady who gets to put mail inside the decapitated statue-thingy? I’d probably get a little kick out of it….but it’s also kinda creepy, so I dunno….

I love running – I really think you see the world in a totally different way. For example, I noticed a giant face carved into a tree just down the street from my house while out running. It has always been there and I just never noticed it….until I was on foot running by. Now I always point it out anytime I drive by with someone because it’s just so funny looking! But I probably would never have looked twice if I was driving by rather than running by.

Anyways, I need to jump in the shower. I’m hitting up Old Navy to see what’s up with their $8 cropped cardigans (Today Only!), and then over to Sunflower Farmer’s Market to stock up on some produce. Then I’ll be spending the rest of my day at school buried in work. Yup….it’s that time of the semester! Open-mouthed smile

Has there been anything weird/random that you’ve only noticed on foot?

What are you up to this weekend?

Responses

  1. I’ve been enjoying reading about your triathlon prep! It’s funny, because I HATE running, but I’ve always had a secret dream to complete a triathlon. Maybe someday…but first I have to become a runner. Swimming and cycling are so much more fun to me!

    • i struggle with the cycling part. Which is weird – because I always thought that was the “easy” part! haha!

  2. Great job training for the tri. I’ve done a duathlon before and made it through ok (bike running). We’ll see if I can work up to adding the swimming one day. Keep up the good work!

  3. Oh man, I wish I had known about that Old Navy sale!

    I always notice way more road kill when I’m running versus driving. The joys of country living. 🙂

  4. oh i love that you took your camera. i always see weird or inspirational things as i go and never take pics……..so awesome that you are doing a tri!

  5. paul throws quarters at me. He has ever since we saw borat in college. he doesnt chuck them or anything rough… just tosses them my way and tells me i’m a gypsy =) the usual…. bahahaha!

    i totally pick up change on sidewalks. I can’t help it =)

  6. that’s awesome that you already feel so prepared for your tri! 🙂 yay for you for being super in shape!

    tomorrow i’m planning on heading out on foot to explore my new neighborhood! i can’t wait to see what i find!

  7. ballin’ my feet are too gross to notice 😉 I wish I had a dog to walk

  8. Awesome finds on your run! Good job with the brick workout, those are TOUGH!!
    Hope you got some cute stuff at old navy 🙂

  9. When I wander outside now…I look for signs of spring (there are more and more, but we’re not there yet).
    That mailbox is kind of freaky!

  10. Woohoo! The triathlon is getting closer! I bet you will rock it! I always admire the sun over the lake, the flock of geese in the spring, and lately I’m on the lookout for coyotes in our neighborhood. I have my fingers-crossed I don’t run into one…

  11. oh I can’t wait until our farmer’s market opens up here!

  12. Why would someone throw pennies away?! those things can add up!

  13. Great job on the training!! So crazy about those pennies haha!! I wonder what the story is behind that one!

  14. I find the weirdest things on my walks to work… well I work near a methadone clinic, a Super America, a cafe, a pharmacy, a bank… so a lot of weird in one block 🙂

  15. You are so inspirational for training for a triathlon! I would love to do one, but I don’t have a good bike and I’m not a confident swimmer. I will live vicariously through you instead 🙂

    • haha, you don’t need a good bike (at least not for your first one)! I have a hand-me-down mountain bike from a friend with a basket on the front. For the actual triathlon I’m borrowing a nicer bike from my sister’s boyfriend, but for my training it’s all on this mountain bike, haha! But people have told me they’ve seen triathletes riding unicycles before!

  16. My weekend is over 😦 (I’m at work) And there was no windfall of pennies in it either!


Leave a Reply

Categories

