Posted by: thefitacademic | March 25, 2011

Longing for Austin

This time of year is BEAUTIFUL in Austin.

It’s okay in Tucson, too. It’s before the horrible summer-time death-heat sets in.

But there are definitely some aspects of Austin that I just LONG FOR this time of year.

1. Crawfish Boils

crawfish boil

Does it sound back-woodsy? Did you ever even know that crawfish boils are real things that people actually do?

I know it looks a little grotesque, but crawfish are some of my all-time favorite things and are only seasonally available (RIGHT NOW!) and are NOT available in Tucson (at least, not that I have found). One of my good Austinite friends has a birthday this month and always has huge crawfish boils at his place. I miss them. I LOOOOVE the spicy flavor of both the crawfish, as well as the potatoes and carrots that are traditionally all cooked together in the same pot. So flavorful!

2. The Water!

image(Source)

You would think that my Spring Break trip to Lake Havasu last week would have quenched my thirst for needing to see and be around water. If anything, it just made my lust intensify! I am a WATER-GIRL!!! It is one of the hardest parts of living in my totally land-locked state and in an area totally devoid of any lakes, rivers, or streams. And Austin lakes have running trails that are absolutely gorgeous to jog around – especially given the stellar weather this time of year.

3. The Dog Parks

image(Source)

Even our dog parks have water! I know Rocky totally misses them because swimming is one of his all-time favorite activities! Like Momma, like baby! Open-mouthed smile

4. Family

all

Both Chris & my immediate families reside in Austin (as well as some of our extended family). It’s hard to live away from family. We hope to move back when my graduate schooling is complete. And friends fall into this same category (of course we miss them too!!!)

5. Flowers & Foliage

bluebonnets

In addition to Tucson having no water, there is also pretty much zero landscaping. It’s better for the environment (since it’s a desert, it’s very water-intensive to try to landscape and maintain lawns and flowers, etc.) but it’s bad for my psyche. I need to see the pretty flowers and greenery! There’s nothing like when the bluebonnets are in season in Texas. Beautiful!

6. The Eats & Drinks

image(Source)

Of course Tucson has Mexican food (and thank goodness for that!), but Austin has Tex-Mex, a different genre of food that is difficult to really describe. There’s less oil/grease than in traditional Mexican food & I find it to be more bold in terms of flavor combinations. One of my all-time favorite restaurants is called Hula Hut. It’s a local Austin-only restaurant on the lake with beautiful views, delicious food, and seemingly never-ending drinks! Heaven!

I try to be thankful for what I have, so maybe one day soon I’ll get together a “Things I love about Tucson” post. But right now, my heart is in Austin!

Do you live far away from “home”? Do you like it/hate it? Why?

If not, would you ever consider moving away from home or family?

Responses

  1. I live quite far from home. Right now I am in Montana; I’m originally from Massachusetts and lived in Texas (San Antonio!) for about a year. I really, really miss my family and friends…I miss the fall foliage, the roads being efficiently plowed when it snows, my dog, Dunkin’ Donuts…the list goes on! I haven’t been home in 2 years. =(

  2. I’ve heard Austin is beautiful… I miss home which is Palm Beach, Florida but my whole family lives here so it’s not gonna happen!

  3. I fell in love with Austin when I spent 5 days there in 2008. Beautiful, beautiful city, and that Whole Foods is, clearly, what heaven looks like.

  4. My “home” was in a small town in NE, and now I’m in Kansas City, so I can’t say that I miss it that much … except for that my new little nephew is in NE and I really wish I could see him more! 🙂

  5. I am planning on moving about 1,000 miles away from home within the next year, but I am going to miss it so much! I would love to visit Austin 🙂

  6. hula hut, dog parks, town lake. LOVE IT! we need to get together for those!

  7. I live at home! Both sets of parents are here, too. It’s wonderful. I’ve been to Austin only once, when my friend moved there, and I loved it. What a great atmosphere.

  8. i live about 2.5 hours from “home”. i don’t ever want to move farther away (but i honestly don’t want to move back….).

  9. I’ve only been to Austin once but I can see why you miss it, there’s so much going on there and so much fun! Why did you all move to Tucson anyways, do you have plans on going back to TX?

    My parents live in FL and sisters in CA and IN, we are spread out. I miss them but thats what planes are for 🙂

  10. I’ve heard that Austin has great dog parks! I’m not sure I’d want to put my dog back in my car after she played in the water/mud though! 🙂

  11. Oh man, I wish we could do a crawfish boil together!! How badass would that be?! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

