Posted by: thefitacademic | March 22, 2011

Finding the silver lining

There are a few things I know I can always count on to make a crazy-hectic super-stressful day a little more bearable.

Number 1:  Coffee.

IMAG0366IMAG0365

I try not to drink it too often (I get addicted to the caffeine crazy quickly!), but sometimes I just gotta have it!

Number 2:  A delicious lunch.

IMAG0369

Food can cure all things Smile

Number 3:  New Shoes

IMAG0381

Nothing like wearing a new pair of shoes for the first time! Please ignore the hideous toenails – I am in serious need of a pedicure!

Number 4:  Seeing my baby boy at the end of the day.

IMAG0383

Yes, he is peeing (he’s squatting like a girl. What do you care?). It was the only time I could get him to hold still long enough to get a shot.

Number 5:  Pretty flowers.

IMAG0384

Can you believe that I somehow brought these flowers back to life & now they’re actually flourishing!? I swear, this is the longest success I’ve ever had with gardening (yes, I realize it’s only been about a month. Don’t rain on my parade – this is an accomplishment for me! Open-mouthed smile)

Number 6:  A hilarious haircut.

IMAG0379IMAG0380

He actually paid like $30 for that. Told the guy he wanted something “unusual.” Well – he got it! A mullet/rat-tail/mohawk hybrid that I think looks kind of similar to a female’s unshaven lady parts (I really wish this picture captured the full detail….Look hard here!)

Number 7: My partner in crime

IMG_4869

hahaha – we tried to “high-five” in this one. Can you just see the excitement in Chris’ face to be participating in such a cheesy photo (which was a total failure, clearly!). But it makes me laugh.Open-mouthed smile

Bonus:

58a

aww, now that’s a good one Winking smile

How do you get through a crazy/busy/stressful day?

Responses

  1. Your new shoes are CUTE!! And the high five photo is hilarious… I love the thought behind this post! I would say I go for a walk or run outside (fresh air is my ultimate pick-me-up), bake cookies or have a super-long bubble bath. Bonus points if the bubbles are scented 🙂

  2. Your shoes are adorable and I absolutely love this blog. I normally have some hot cocoa or walk around campus. It picks me up a little bit. 🙂

  3. haha i love the high five picture – super cute 🙂
    loving the new heels too… new shoes always make me happy!

  4. I love your top or dress in the last picture-snazzy!

    Coffee and my pups help me through a crazy day. I love walking through the door to see him hyperventilating and all hyper…..all b/c he is just happy to see me!

  5. Your baby is adorable! I get through a stressful day by looking forward to the end when I can snuggle in bed with a good book.

  6. This post makes me smile and feel all fuzzy inside. Hurrah for things that make life worth living!! Bad haircuts especially… when they’re on other people 😉

  7. Loved this post! I can totally see the “AHH!” factor in the haircut.. Did he get it fixed somewhere?

    The flowers are looking great!

    • nope, he’s just rocking it as-is! : )

  8. I’m so happy you found my blog — so I could find yours! I get through stressful pretty much the same as you! Coffee is definitely helping me out on this early Wednesday morning. Normally around lunch I start daydreaming about being home with my little family (fiance and pup) and it tends to make me feel better!

  9. My dog and my baby help me through the stress, even when they are the causes of it!

  10. Oh coffee is an absolute must!! And good healthy food too!!

    Your dog is sooooo cute!!!! My (male) dog also used to pee like a girl. Plus he grew up with a pair of cats and tried to mimic them when he played….but it’s all good. He was cute and that’s what counts right?!

  11. Unfortunately coffee is how I get through every day lol Good for you with the flowers! I have a black thumb so i’m super impressed haha

  12. I love your new shoes! I used to not be a huge shoe person, but getting new ones puts a certain spring in my step 🙂

  13. Those shoes are so cute!! I definitely need lots of coffee for days like this! I don’t know what I would do without it!

  14. […] the other night – a rarity in Tucson, for sure. It all but destroyed my flower garden that I had just been bragging about! The water really must have been torrential to make all the soil drain out of the flower […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

