Posted by: thefitacademic | March 17, 2011

Granola Bars # 3

Happy St. Patty’s Day!

First, a little PSA. Back in the early college days St. Patty’s Day was the thang, ya know? That is – until one of my good friends got into a bad accident after drinking one too many & getting behind the wheel. It is NEVER worth it, ya know? And LOTS of cities even offer free taxi services or free tow-your-car-home if you’ve had too much to drink. If you’re going to drink, be smart about it, mkay?

This morning we got up early, packed our stuff & hit the road. We are currently en route for our weekend getaway destination:  Lake Havasu. We’re going to do primitive-style camping on the “beach” of the lake. It’s been a long time since I’ve gone camping for longer than a single night! I’m pretty excited, though! Living in the desert is rough if you’re a beach-baby like me. So just the thought of WATER is a little thrilling! Smile

I went last night to pick up some food and snacks & I made some homemade granola bars to take with us on the trip (amongst other things, of course). I showed you a sneak peak yesterday, but today I’m going to share the whole recipe (even though I already have TWO other granola bar recipes posted. Oh well!)

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

Found a recipe here and made my own adjustments

Ingredients:

Dry:

2 cups rolled oats

1 cup all-purpose flour

3 heaping Tbs. hemp protein powder

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup chocolate chips

1/8 cup chia seeds

Wet:

1/4 cup honey

2 Tbs. melted butter

2 Tbs vanilla

1/4 cup peanut butter

Directions:

First, I mixed together all of the dry ingredients

IMAG0276

In a separate bowl I mixed together all the wet ingredients

IMAG0277

Add wet to dry, stir to combine, and pour into a greased baking dish. Bake at 375 for 15 minutes or until golden brown on the top like so

IMAG0281

Let cool completely (or else it will crumble when you try to cut it). Should take about 30 minutes – 1 hour. Then slide up and enjoy!

IMAG0283IMAG0284

YUM!

On another note, I’ve finally downloaded a few new songs again so I wanna share them with you. I was kind of “inspired” (if you can call it that) to get some old-school rap since Nate Dogg just passed away. I also have some poppy old school hits that remind me of MS/HS days. Ahh, good times! Enjoy!

Ipod Downloads:

Lou Bega – Mambo number 5

69 Boys – Tootsee Roll

Sublime – Smoke 2 Joints

Nate Dogg – Regulate

Snoop Dogg – Just A G Thang

Responses

  1. Those look great! I swam to mambo number 5 when I was about 15 haha. Fun times:)

  2. YUM! I love making my own granola bars and I just happen to be out of mine and need some more 🙂

  3. ahhhhhh mambo #5! that brings back memories! though the hubs won’t admit it – he totally sings along!

    hearing DUI stories makes me sad and mad all at the same time. Its a huge concert in college and now being so close to a marine base… I get scared to drive at night. I have a really really good friend who got one too… and it was this freak accident and everyone was ok.. but im sad for her AND mad at her! yikes

    dont drink and drive peoples! ❤

  4. Mmm, those sound delicious!! I like how they include peanut butter, adds a lot of delicious flavor!

  5. Yum! Looks Delish! Have a great trip! And watch out for the bears 🙂

  6. lol! mambo no 5! my best friend and i LOVED that song back in the day!! and brad and i JUST listened to sublime for like 3 hours last weekend. love them! 🙂

  7. Are you crazy going to Havasu during spring break?!?! I did my field work there. Spent 5 summers in the crazy heat. I’ll never go back willingly. 🙂

    I have been listening to Regulators all day long.

    • Haha its actually nicer here than in tucson! Its about 85 during day & 55 at night great camping weather!

  8. That granola bar looks so nom. I’m completely jealous! I can’t make my own to save my life…I end up spending so much on them.

  9. The bars look so yummy!! You seriously have the best granola recipes! Mambo #5…wow that brings back so so many memories!

  10. Regulators – mount up.
    Gah!! I love it!

  11. AHHHHH!!! I was just listening to Tootsee Roll the other day, I still have the cd from high school.

    Amen to your blurb about drinking and driving, it is never worth it!

  12. You had me at peanut butter. your best yet I reckon 😉

  13. Ahhh, I remember that Tootsie roll song! It reminds me of 8th grade for some reason… I don’t even know what year it came out!

  14. Anything that combines pb and chocolate is a winner! Have fun at the lake 🙂

  15. Hahaha, I remember Mambo #5! I love running to Hip Hop and Rap…nothing makes me run faster than some DMX (especially if I’m running at night!)

    Thx for your comment on my cleanse… yep, giving up yogurt was definitely the hardest part! But it’s been almost a year now so I’ve ALMOST made peace with it!!

  16. Oh my gosh! Have fun on your getaway!! LOVE Mambo # 5 🙂 LOVE camping!!

  17. I love adding hemp protein powder to my bars. These look great!

  18. I had no clue about nate dogg..

    I want to try those bars. They look great.

  19. […] This has been such an eventful long weekend! If you’ll recall, I went to Lake Havasu for part of my Spring Break. How about a photo […]

  20. […] of horrible, but I think the song is actually catchy – it has a good beat! Might just be in my next edition of ipod […]

  21. […] of grapes, some greek yogurt, some plain oats (I got this from Caitlin) a crumbled homemade peanut butter chocolate chip granola bar, and some chia […]

  22. […] *You’ll notice these songs are much more “chill” than my average running/workout playlists. If you want some ideas for more upbeat songs, check out some previous ipod downloads (1, 2, 3, 4, 5) […]

  23. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m
    impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the last pawrt 🙂 I care for such info
    a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a
    long time. Thank yoou and best of luck.


Leave a Reply

Categories

