Posted by: thefitacademic | March 16, 2011

Eats & Treats

This morning began with a GLORIOUS run. My P90X plan called for a 45minute Cardio X DVD, but I opted instead for a 4 mile run + the guerilla cardio workout I talked about a couple days ago. I think it was especially nice today because the Tucson weather has been GORGEOUS and since I started P90X I’ve only gone on a single run. One run in 3 weeks! I’ve been missing it!

I followed my run with Breakfast in a glass

IMAG0268IMAG0269

In the smoothie was 1 banana, a handfull of pineapple chunks, 4 small strawberries, a sprinkling of unsweetened coconut, a handfull of spinach (although it doesn’t look green!?), a scoop of whey protein powder, and some almond milk to make it all blend. Topped with a sprinkling of chia seeds. Breakfast of champions!

Then I worked. worked. worked.

Then leftovers for lunch

IMAG0272

Sorry I didn’t get a better picture (and I’d already eaten about half before I even realized I should snap a pic!) A couple days ago I made homemade coconut shrimp, with a cilantro-coconut brown rice mixture. Basically, I dredged the shrimpies in an egg-wash, then into coconut & baked until golden brown. The rice was just normal rice with some coconut & cilantro mixed in after the rice was cooked. You know how usually when you remove rice from heat you let it sit covered for 5 minutes? That’s when I mixed in the coconut and cilantro.

Here’s the whole picture:

IMAG0273

Afternoon Snack was carrots and almond butterIMAG0114

And then Dinner was 2 tacos with a side salad and some avocado-corn salsa.

IMAG0043

I buried the tacos under lettuce so it’s hard to see, but I had corn tortillas, topped with seasoned chicken meat, refried beans, diced peppers/onions, salsa, sour cream, lettuce & cheese.

While cooking the chicken meat, I also whipped up some quick Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip granola bars so we could have some snackies for our road trip tomorrow. I used a new recipe so I’m hoping it turns out well. They’re cooling right now, but when I try them – I’ll let you know how they’ve turned out. If they’re good I’ll share a recipe!

IMAG0281

Tonight is going to be spent prepping for our little weekend getaway. We’re leaving early tomorrow morning and I’ve been furiously working the past couple days to get some work out of the way before we go. As a result, I have NOTHING ready for this trip! Need to go get some more snacks, do laundry, and just generally gather my crap together.

Have a good evening!

Doing anything for St. Patty’s Day?

Do you get a Spring Break holiday? Do you go out of town for it?

Psst: Check out some of the Other “What I Ate Wednesday” posts over at Peas & Crayons!

Double Psssst: If you want to do a guest post for me the last week of this month, send me an e-mail at aking1231 [at] gmail [dot] com

Responses

  1. I had a Spring Break, and I went to Florida- but now I’m having major trouble getting adjusted to NY!

  2. My spring break isn’t until the end of April! How unfair is that?!

    • My friend is at LSU and theirs is the end of April, but they also have a long-weekend break (Thurs & Fri off) for Mardi Gras! I’m so jealous!

  3. why did you hide the tacos under the lettuce? bahahaha! thanks for linking up love! ❤

    I cant wait for my breakfast smoothie tomorrow! just looking at your yummy cup makes me want one baaad!

  4. I don’t get an official spring break, but my husband does since he’s in grad school. We have family coming to visit us during his break – it should be fun!

  5. We just got back from vacay! But I’m dreaming of hitting the slopes for a little spring skiing. I hear marmot basin calling my name….Have a great trip!

  6. I’m just running a road race for St. Patricks day! I’m pretty excited though. 😉 Other than that, I have exams booo. 😦

  7. Your tacos looks yummy, even if they are covered in lettuce, I can tell! and so do those bars! I already had my spring break and visited family in Alabama! For St. Patty’s I’m wearing green, make some cookies for my co-workers, and am making brown soda bread when I get home from work!

    • can you believe I’ve NEVER made soda bread before? Sounds like a fun St. Pats!

  8. PB + chocolate + granola! What a tummy combination! I’m still undecided for St. Pat’s. All depends on how I feel after work at 5:45…we shall see! 🙂

  9. How do you like P90X? My roommate has been doing it since the beginning of the year, but she actually isn’t seeing the results she wants and thinks it’s too easy. Guess that’s what happens when you’re already in super good shape. Must be nice! haha

    I went to the Arnold Sports Festival and then to Boyne Mountain here in northern Michigan for a ski trip for my spring break 🙂 It was a blast. Have fun this weekend!

    • I’ll do a full P90X review when I’m 1 month deep (right now I’m in 3 weeks deep). I think the thing that REALLY makes the difference is the diet. You can do the workouts, but if you aren’t eating right you won’t see the results you want.
      That ski trip sounds amazing! I guess we’re doing the opposites: you to the cold & me to the beach : )

  10. Weekend getaway? Sounds awesome … have a great time! 😀

  11. I have a bag of coconut that I purchased for a recipe and it just sits in my fridge. I had no idea that coconut was so popular in the foodie world, or that it had health bennies. I need to find more things to do with it!!!

    • oh man, I could eat it everyday! In smoothies, in yogurt messes, of course my coconut shrimp…..i could go on : )

  12. I’m not doing anything for St. Patrick’s day other than going to hot yoga 🙂

  13. Those granola bars look delicious! I always try to pack lots of snacks for trips as well. Always best to come prepared.
    Tonight my friends and I are going to a pub crawl on the strip downtown (I live in LV). I have never gone on the strip for St Patty’s Day so I am looking forward to it.

  14. Yay roadtrip! You deserve a break! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

