Posted by: thefitacademic | March 9, 2011

Lazy Boy

Wow – this has been a weird week! Do you ever have times when you feel like the week is dragging by (like yesterday, it felt like Friday), and flying by (What?! Today’s already Wednesday?) all at the same time? Like I can’t catch up and yet life is just flying by. Something to think about anyway…

On that note, its time for another edition of What I Ate Wednesday!

My alarm went off way too early this morning! I woke up and had a cup of coffee (not pictured) and a bowl with strawberry greek yogurt, half a banana, and a hand-full each of fresh blueberries and plain oats for breakfast.

IMAG0162

For lunch I had a lovely salad:  half spinach and half romaine lettuce with some cheddar cheese, tortilla strips, grilled chicken, and a hefty amount of corn and black beans. I topped it with some salsa & gave it a toss.

IMAG0163

Came home to some laziness

IMAG0166

Do your dogs sleep all spread-eagle? He’s such a weirdo!

And dinner had to be something quick and easy because Chris had a meeting. Went with a California Pizza Kitchen crispy crust White Pizza

IMAG0167

Unfortunately, when I opened the box it looked like THIS:IMAG0169

What the crap? I’ve never tried this kind before & it doesn’t have sauce so maybe the toppings always fall off? Not really sure what to think of it. Also, the crust was definitely cracked. I think I might send them an e-mail with the above picture attached. Usually I’m not a letter-writer but I happen to have the picture handy and I was pretty disappointed when I opened the box.

I re-assembled the toppings, and added a couple of my own:  grilled chicken and red bell pepper. I really really really wanted to add extra cheese, but I’ve been trying to eat healthier and since I’m eating pizza, I think I can be reasonable and have a regular amount of cheese instead of extra cheese.

(For the record – as far as pizza goes, this one is pretty healthy – probably because it’s thin crust and loaded with veggies. For an entire 1/3 of the pizza it’s only 290 calories, 11 g fat, 32 g carb, & 15 g protein ~ not terrible, especially with the added veg + extra protein I added!)

I was pleased with the final product.

IMAG0170

It’s in the oven now so I’ll let ya know how it comes out Winking smile

More work tonight! I’ve got to prep for my lecture tomorrow & squeeze in a 45 minute Cardio P90X DVD.

Have you ever written a complaint letter to a company? Was the issue resolved?

Responses

  1. oooh that is one of my favorite frozen pizzas! Though its so salty that I have to dillute the salt by adding toooons of veggie toppings! I hope you love it! soooo excited you linked up! Thanks girl! ❤

    omg and your breakfast totally reminds me of an ice cream sundae =) what a fab way to start the day!

  2. Love California Pizza Kitchen! Your breakfast looks delicious btw 🙂

  3. I would def write a letter and email the pic with it!! Thats not cool. I havent written a letter in a long time but i have. If anything it usually just makes me feel better when I do even of the company does nothing.

  4. I’ve never tried CPK frozen pizzas – I’ve heard great things about them though. Might as well email them the pic – it wouldn’t hurt!

  5. That is serious crap right there, I’d totally write the company. I bet they’ll be very apologetic. No sauce though?!? Eh.

  6. That pizza looks yummy how you have it all fixed up!

  7. All of the food looks divine!!! I did ab ripper x last night and I can’t move today 😉

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  8. That salad sounds amazing! And I can’t help giggling at the pizza photo… quality control fail!

  9. I bet if you write a letter you’d at least get a coupon, that’s not the way it is supposed to look!

    I giggled at the sleeping dog pic, love it!

  10. I wrote a letter and since I didn’t take a picture they didn’t believe me! Lesson learned.

    • What?! That’s crazy! Who would actually lie about such a thing? Would anyone really take the time to write a letter if it weren’t really true? How pathetic!

  11. Definitely write them a letter… we got one one with only one giant pepperoni on it, and we were able to score a coupon for a free one! Most of the time their pizza is great! 🙂

  12. Your food looks delish but I would need some snacks! If I don’t eat every three hours I get grumpy. 😉

  13. I can’t believe the pizza came out like that!! Usually, the white pizza is really good. I’ve never written a letter to a company, but if that happened to me, I might!

  14. Sorry for the sad pizza, but yours looked better than the box. For sure tell them because they will give you some nice coupons 😉

  15. The pizza looks delish! Yum! Also, your fur baby is adorable!

  16. I once wrote a fake complaint letter with a lot of read-between-the-lines jokes in it to a local hockey team about a player’s foolish behavior and told my co-worker I was going to really send it. We got a lot of laughs.

  17. […] Type A Decorating              Feeding Ashley                Housewife in the Raw                      A Little Bit of This + That                 DOMO! Sarah Learns                  My Bizzy Kitchen               Momma’s Journey Cookies + Carrots                  Hippie Chic                     Greenderella 221 Vision                 Love, Life + Dessert               Cotter Crunch Purple Bird Blog         Working Out + Eating In        The Fit Academic […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

