Posted by: thefitacademic | February 26, 2011

Jumpin’ on the Bandwagon

Mom:  If all your friends jumped off a bridge, would you do it too?

Me:  Well – if it’s because they were all bungee-jumping or something, I’d probably give it a try.

Yes, I’m always jumping on the bandwagon. So without further adieu, here are the ABC’s of Me!

(A) Age: 27

(B) Bed Size: Queen…used to have a King but our tiny room cannot accommodate it!

(C) Chore You Hate: Putting things away. I have no problem doing laundry – just HATE putting it away. Same with dishes – cleaning & rinsing is no problem – just HATE putting them away, etc.

(D) Dogs? Of course – the “other man” in my relationship – Rocky! Winking smile

baby2Picture 001

awww, he looked so much cuter as a baby! But don’t tell him I said that!!!

(E) Essential Start Your Day Item: breakfast! Some people don’t like to eat first thing in the morning – I can’t get started without it!

(F) Favorite Color: Blue

(G) Gold or Silver? White Gold

(H) Height: 5’4”

(I) Instruments You Play: guitar (kinda – just for fun)

(J) Job Title: Research Scientist & College Lecturer (who am I kidding? Those are just euphemisms…..I’m a Grad Student, ugh!)

(K) Kids: maybe one day.

(L) Live: Tucson, Arizona……miss my Austin roots & my previous South Florida residence by the beach!

Picture 077

(M) Mom’s Name: Melonie

(N) Nicknames: Ash

(O) Overnight Hospital Stays? Nope

(P) Pet Peeve: People who think their time is more valuable than mine

(Q) Quote from a Movie: “Worrying is like a rocking chair. It’ll give you something to do, but it won’t get you anywhere.” – Van Wilder

(R) Right or Left Handed? Righty

(S) Siblings: oh buddy, I got 1 brother and 1 sister that are full biological siblings. I’ve also got 4 step-brothers. And 8 nieces and nephews (and 1 on the way!) When I was younger & living at home I only got along with my brother (the one “bio” brother). But since being adults, I’ve always gotten along best with my sister.

allbluebonnets

(T) Time You Wake Up? Sometime between 6am and 7am, depending on the day.

(U) Underwear: I mix it up:  boyshorts, bikinis, thongs, lacy things, cotton things, silky things, etc. I like the variety.

(V) Vegetable You Dislike: Hate cucumber (except in sushi), squash, and beets

(W) What Makes You Run Late: the hubbs! Usually it’s the girl that takes forever to get ready – our relationship is opposite! I’ll be ready in 15 minutes and he’s still picking clothes & changing for the umpteenth time!

(X) X-Rays You’ve Had Done: only Teeth! I’ve never had a broken bone (*knock on wood*) so my only X-rays have been normal teeth scan things.

(Y) Yummy Food You Make: Just check out my recipe page! That pumpkin chocolate chunk bread is one of my favorites, but the blueberry muffins were delicious too!

(Z) Zoo, Favorite Animal: fascinated by the pimates! Any of ‘em!

 

Today has been BORING! I’ve just been running errands like a crazy woman, while Chris has been cleaning the house & doing laundry. Last night we went to a poker tournament, lost pretty early, and hit up downtown, where we coincidentally ran into some people from my school. Good times. I think tonight we’re going to be more low key, maybe stay in and watch a movie. We’ll see.

And remember when the bro-in-law had to rush back to Texas unexpectedly? Well he’s coming  back again – tomorrow. I know a lot of people would not be excited for their brother-in-law to come crash on their couch for who knows how long, with no end in sight. I guess we’re just different. The bro-in-law has lived with us before and we all get along well. Plus, he really pitches in around the house & tries to be a good house guest, which is always appreciated. Sure, I don’t want him on our couch forever, but if business keeps going like it is now, he’ll be able to get a place of his own in no time!

Responses

  1. great attitude about your brother in law staying with you! i’m sure it helps immensely that he pitches in.
    i like the ABCs–may have to borrow it 🙂

  2. I was not aware that you had a pumpkin chocolate chunk bread recipe and I will be going to check it out immediately after posting this comment!

    I used to live in Texas too, and miss it lots. I think Arizona would be a good place to be though too. Never been, but heard lots of good things.

    • it’s not bad – I mostly miss access to water (i.e., lakes, rivers, beach, etc.)

  3. I love your ABCs, it’s such a fun way to get to know bloggers 🙂

    I’d love any helpful relative to come live with us for a bit!

  4. You know the “y” part of the meme does not apply to us food bloggers, all we make and eat is yummy right! I like how you have made the profession of grad students so sophisticated (I feel your pain)

  5. I lived in SOFL too! ❤ and i totally forgot that my hubs is the #1 thing to make me late. silly me… i blamed myself in my post when He totally makes me late to everrryyyywhere!

    where in south fl did you live?

    • we lived in boynton beach – i was going to school at FAU in Boca Raton. What about you?

  6. I feel like I’m the only person who hasn’t done the ABC’s—loved learning more things about you! I love Rocky so much, he is just so handsome.

  7. I need to jump on the bandwagon too!

    I can’t start my day without breakfast either! It is the best morning wakeup ever. 🙂

  8. Jumpin On The Bandwagon…

    […](V) Vegetable You Dislike: Hate cucumber (except in sushi), squash, and bets. (W) What Makes You Run Late: the[…]…

  9. I haven’t seen Van Wilder in too long haha!! I remember seeing that movie in the theater!!

  10. I love that you don’t mind about your BIL coming to stay for a while… especially as it seems to be helping him financially! That’s what family is for, right?? 😉

    • what can I say? I’ve got a soft-spot in my heart for the kid!

  11. […] & it’s one of my biggest pet peeves when people are late for meetings with me (part of hating when people think their time is more valuable than mine) so it drives me crazy when I’m the one who is […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

