Posted by: thefitacademic | February 21, 2011

President’s Day Pancakes

Happy President’s Day (or, just another day…)

I decided to stick with the whole work-from-home-Monday thing I’ve got going. I have some afternoon meetings that will require I go into the office, but it’s nice to have the morning at home. I got in a good run, hopped in the shower, and was inspired by Caitlin’s delicious breakfast to make something yummy of my own!

I googled a recipe for “protein pancakes” and one of Gina’s posts popped up. I modified quite a bit and here’s what I was left with:

Protein Pancakes

Ingredients: (yield 1-2 pancakes)

1.5 scoops protein powder (I used Praline Cream Whey protein)

1/4 cup almond milk

1/8 cup wheat flour

1/8 cup flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp  cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

3/4 tsp vanilla

1 packet Truvia

1 heaping Tbs. of Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter (from PB&Co)

pinch of salt

Directions:

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. While heating up, mix together wet ingredients (milk, vanilla, and peanut butter), then add all the remaining ingredients.

Poor pancake mix into greased skillet and cook for about 3 minutes on each side, until golden brown.

Top with fresh fruit or 100% maple syrup and enjoy!

I ended up making mine as a single pancake, and it was almost as big as my plate! Could have easily yielded two smaller pancakes

IMAG0045

For school I’ve been doing a lot of reading about the natural history of women and their roles in society throughout time in different cultures and contexts. One book I read, “Women’s Work:  The first 20,000 years” uses archeological evidence to paint vivid pictures of women’s work from 20,000 BC until year 0. It was really an amazing read. Now I’m reading a book called Witchcraze

IMAG0042

This book details the various European-based witch-hunts that started centuries ago and have extended up as recently as the 1960s. Really amazing since so little time or attention has been paid to this topic and yet the 100,000+ deaths make the witchcraze the greatest number of mass killings not caused by war (although there are still semi-recent cases, the majority of the European witch-killings began in the 1500s).

Wanna know something interesting? The typical person to be accused of being a “witch” is:  female, old, unattractive, poor, outspoken, and widowed. In short, they have no one to speak for them and they are considered a nuisance, either for being outspoken and having an opinion contrary to the majority opinion, or for being an economic “drain” on society. Interesting, huh?

Check out this chapter’s title

IMAG0041

Pretty appalling, right?

Well, I’ve got to get back to work. I hope you are all enjoying a nice day off (or not…misery loves company, right?)

Anyone going on vacation anytime soon? I feel like I need a weekend getaway……maybe during Spring Break???

Responses

  1. Florida in 2.5 weeks! I can’t waitttt:)

  2. Witchcraze sounds like a pretty interesting read.

  3. i took a women’s studies class in college and a lot of it was about misogyny. i think one of the saddest and most bizarre things we studied was chinese foot binding.
    and yes, i definitely need a vacation!

  4. We’re not going anywhere for vacation soon, but we have a lot of family coming to visit us on their vacations! Now that we live in California, everyone wants to come visit! We love it! 🙂

  5. I had pancakes for presidents day too 🙂
    I’m going to Key West in 2.5 weeks 🙂

    • awww, jealous! Key West is gorgeous this time of year!

  6. If anyone asks Alex where I am, he usually responds with “Washing the dishes if she’s knows what’s good for her.” Isn’t he a peach? 😉 lollllll

    • haha, Chris has a similar mantra! Gotta love ’em!

  7. Ah, vacation. I wish! We didn’t go last year because the baby was born in June, and I don’t think we’re going this year either since the baby drink almost 500 dollars in fancy special formula each month (!)

  8. I could use a vacation right now. And when I say vacation I mean all inclusive umbrellas in the drink kinda of vacation. I may be going to Pittsburgh next month but thats more of a research trip to see if I want to move there.

  9. I haven’t perfected the protein pancake. Did yours come out crumbly? We’d love a vacation but it won’t be until the summer. A bit of me dies a little every day!!

    • no – not crumbly at all! It was actually just the perfect texture!

  10. i wish I had a vacation planned! 🙂

  11. Oh yum, I wish I had today off from class but had a chem exam at 8 am! Those pancakes look like they were a great decision. No vacation planned for me…although I would love a trip to hawaii!

    • ugh – 8am Chem? That sounds brutal!

  12. MMM girl I love protein pancakes. I make them every single morning or a protein waffle. Om nom nom.

  13. I’m going to Portland next month! It cannot come soon enough 🙂

  14. Yummy!!!!!!!

    We rarely take vacations, we just retreat to the mountains because it is so close and we love the quiet

    • that sounds fabulous! love close-to-home getaways!

  15. That book sounds really interesting, and I’m not surprised at all by the type of women who were accused of witchcraft. So disgusting! I wish I was going somewhere soon. Maybe!

  16. Happy Pres. Day! Where I live it’s Islander Day. That recipe makes me wish I still worked for the natural nutrition company, I used to get to taste test protein powder every time we did a blend (sometimes 20 in a shift), there were a few that I didn’t get tired of, but it would be cool to add some to pancakes. As for the witches, I’ve read a little bit about them and can’t help but wonder if these poor women were just the “bogeyman” of their time to make some people look like heroes.

  17. Mmm…to the protein pancakes-can your day start any better than with those? I’m off to Florida in the morning-a much needed break from all the snow and ice!

  18. That chapter title made me lol!!!
    And don’t pancakes make your day better? They always have that affect on me! 🙂

  19. I wish I was off for president’s day yesterday. I am having a serious case of burnout!
    I have a cruise planned for May but otherwise no trips planned. I did take some much needed time off for my birthday in March!

  20. GOSH, yes. I’d love a getaway right now!

    unfort, I get no spring break. waaah!

  21. Ooooh! I want to try that protein pancake recipe. I’m hoping the protein powder will sort of flavor the batter, because I don’t really like plain pancakes…
    Thanks for sharing!

  22. […] is a lazy-girls’ version of my protein pancake. Basically, it was the just-add-water kind from Trader Joe’s….plus I added a scoop of protein […]

  23. […] was a little more elaborate than usual since I’m at home. I made chocolate chip protein pancakes, using chocolate flavored soy protein […]

  24. […] of working from home to do a little bit more elaborate breakfast than normal. I made blueberry protein pancakes with fresh blueberries. I topped it with a healthy dollop of vanilla flavored greek yogurt and a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

