Posted by: thefitacademic | February 18, 2011

Trash the Dress Preview

Do you know what a trash-the-dress shoot is?

It’s where, after the wedding, you do some crazy photo shoot in your wedding gown that is likely to end up with it being destroyed (“trashed”). From the beginning, I KNEW I wanted to do this! My mom was pretty distraught over it, but in the end I think she finally accepted that it was going to happen & she’d had adequate time to mentally “prepare,” and I know she loves the photos…so I think all ended well.

I did my Trash-the-Dress in late December (my Mom’s wedding anniversary, actually, Dec. 28th). Luckily it was a relatively warm day the day we went out to the lake – the prior day had been raining and literally freezing. We went out in the late afternoon, it was around 40-ish degrees and we were actually able to bear it!

This is just a preview, as I’m waiting for the entire collection on photo DVD. But enjoy as you go through your Fridays. And if you haven’t yet,

GET ON OVER TO MY GIVEAWAY! Last day to enter!

180157_190362757659996_157764120919860_596620_1013237_n

171660_188597984503140_157764120919860_585162_3513722_o

170808_188597944503144_157764120919860_585161_825475_o

170648_188598057836466_157764120919860_585163_2361241_o

Also for your viewing pleasure, enjoy my electric green smoothie from this morning (Like the PB&Co in the background?)

PICT3299

What are you up to today/this weekend?

 

*Note: Trash the dress photos done by Magan Blasig of Urban Grey Photography in Austin, Texas

Responses

  1. “It’s electric!” yup you got the electric slide song stuck in my head! brat =)

    I cannot waiiiiit to see more of this photo shoot! eeee!!!

  2. Wow what a neat idea. I think that is something I want to do once I get married. I had never even heard of that until now. I can’t wait to see some more photos. 🙂

  3. I love them all!!!

    You know, I have been so anti-traditional wedding (since I’ve been married before), but Alex wants a more traditional thing (having never been married), and now I really want to get married in a white dress again just so I can do a trash the dress shoot. I want a dress that’s cut to show off all my tattoos… those photos would kick ass! 😉

    • definitely! And there are so many ways to do a trash-the-dress, too! Totally make it your own, ya know?

  4. Those pics are beautiful!!

    This weekend=preparing for my move next week…to Istanbul!

  5. those sneak peek photos look great!! i think a trash the dress shoot sounds like so much fun! one of my best friends did it and hers were so cool too. 🙂

  6. Those pics look fantastic! I wanted to do that, but my mom was so against it. Maybe I’ll do it anyway one day…:)

  7. awesome idea! I’ve never heard of this. I just entered your giveaway!
    Meri
    merigoesround.blogspot.com

  8. I’ve never heard of trash the dress but I’m diggin the idea!!!

    I love your smoothie, I need to make a greenie soon, it’s been forever since I’ve had one but with this gorgeous weather outside I should definitely whip one up this wknd!

  9. oh yeah! i’ve heard of the trash the dress thing before. never knew anyone who did it though. i think most women have the dream of passing it down to their future potential daughter.
    i do like the idea though-sounds like fun!

    • i know – that’s the big resistance against it (and my mom’s argument). I just feel like there’s no way that I would’ve ever wanted to wear my Mom’s dress, or my Grandma’s or whomevers just because they kept it (and yes, my Mom & both Grandma’s all still have their dresses) & I feel like my potential future daughters are going to feel the same way about my dress. I’d rather get some memories out of it than have it sit in a cedar chest for the rest of my life. I’m stubborn that way : )

  10. Haha!! What a cool idea! I think my mom would flip if I wanted to do that! I’m so happy it’s the weekend. Definitely craving some rest!

  11. […] trash-the-dress shoot THREE MONTHS ago (in December) and I’ve talked about it and even dangled a little preview, but I’ve finally gotten the picture CD so now I’ll actually share the goods with […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

