Posted by: thefitacademic | February 16, 2011

Sweet Child O Mine

Good morning, world! I’ve made the executive decision to have Chris drop me off at school/work this morning rather than ride my bike, despite the GORGEOUS weather, simply because I forgot my ipod at school yesterday and I can.not.will.not make the trek without some music (don’t worry – I only listen with 1 bud in so I can still hear traffic noises. Plus I mostly take specified “bike routes” rather than main roads).

Last night I had a quick, easy, and DELICIOUS meal! Grilled paninis!

I had bought some fresh pesto (my little food processor has finally fried itself so I couldn’t make my own – God bless that little processor for all it’s hard workOpen-mouthed smile). I had pre-cooked chicken yesterday so it would be super quick and easy! All I had to do was pan-fry some turkey bacon, and sautee some peppers and onions (already pre-cut from sushi yesterday)

PICT3276

It had pesto, cheese, peppers & onions, and chicken.On fresh baked bread (from the bakery – not from me)

Components:

PICT3269

PICT3270PICT3268PICT3273PICT3272

All together with some apple slices

 

PICT3274

And a leftover Valentine treat for dessert!

PICT3278

This morning I made a smoothie. Out of spinach, but I loaded it up with a banana, peach, some strawberries, vanilla soy protein powder & a hefty sprinkling of chia seeds on top.

PICT3283

In my Guinness glass (like my beer glass collection?)

PICT3284

And Rocky boy was being too sweet this morning! Look at that little sleepy face

PICT3289

I just had to give him a kiss

PICT3286

Plus a little gazing into each others’ eyes. This is Love, y’all! Open-mouthed smilePICT3291

In other news, something sad happened last night. My bro-in-law (Chris’ brother) had to go back to Texas. He’s been staying with us for the last 2 weeks and has been planning on moving here full-time. But, he had a minor emergency back home and had to get back right away, quite unexpectedly. Don’t worry – nothing horrible, but it’s his personal/private business, so I’m not going to go into it here.

Chris and I both enjoyed waking up this morning and not having the living room “off-limits” (that’s where he’s been staying), but we were both sad he had to leave so suddenly. Hopefully he’ll be able to come back soon – and get a place all his own. I’ll keep you updated.

I can’t believe its already Wednesday I guess the week flies by when you don’t go into the office on Monday. Winking smile Maybe I’ll do work-from-home Monday more often!

If you had a choice, would you want to work from home, or do you prefer to keep “work” and “home” separate?

I like a mix of both. Both have their positives, as well as their negatives.

Responses

  1. I would love nothing more than to work for home. I’m still trying to find someone who wants to pay me for running, thinking, baking, crafting and being awesome. Lol. 🙂

    • haha, I love the last part “being awesome” – yeah if you find someone who pays for that, definitely let me know! : )

  2. I like a mix of both too. That’s why I really enjoyed teaching a college class last year. I had my office hours and class time, but most of my work was done at home (in my sweatpants) 🙂

  3. I can see the upside to both. but I could also see being so NOT productive if I worked from home!

    ps… my tummy is now saying “pestopestopestopestopesto NOW.”

    • haha, LOVE me some pesto *drool* : )

  4. I like working on my own terms, so I’d choose from home. But whenever I’ve been in a work-from-home situation, I’ve always taken it to a coffee shop or somewhere to get out. A big no-no is working in bed…then I am never able to fall asleep, because i associated stress with my pillow.

  5. I don’t think I’d mind working from home, since I do a lot of my schoolwork at home now. But I’d have to get out once in a while.

  6. I’m so your bro-in-law had to leave – I hope everything turns out alright for him!

  7. I’m sorry about your brother-in-law.

    Your paninis look amazing though. I’ve never made my own, but I love having them at Panera Bread! I would love to work from home. Never gonna happen though haha!

  8. Sorry to hear about your bro in law. I think I would rather work out of home, but then again I have never had a “real” job so I guess it might not be as fun as I imagine!

  9. I totally gaze at my dogs like that too… madly in love! 🙂

  10. i always think I’d like to work from home – but also get stir-crazy if I’m inside for too long – so yes, but with a few “outings” 🙂

  11. Haha, you’re such the typical student, not being able to function well without the beloved ipod…I feel the same way when I’m out on a run.

    Sorry about your bro-in-law…I’m glad it isn’t anything serious though.

  12. I wouldn’t mind working from home some of the time, but getting all dressed up for work is fun for me too!

    Those pics of you & your pup are so cute 🙂 It makes me miss mine so much 😦

  13. Sometimes I just sit and stare at Lincoln. It is love and I don’t know how people don’t like dogs. He is actually sitting undercovers as I type, I heart my dog.

    I got a panini maker for Xmas and still havent used it–whats that about?

    I would LOVE to work from home and go into the office every now and then. I hate the obligation of going into work with set hours in a gray depressing cube.

  14. ohmygosh that panini looks awesome! I love when I have leftover chopped veggies in my junk bowl to use in other recipes and quick meals/snacks!

    Hope all is well with your BIL!

  15. I’d like to work at home, although I could see myself getting really lazy and never putting on real clothes or leaving the house 🙂

  16. I have never worked from home, so I cannot judge how well I’ll do. But I think I’ll prefer to keep the two separate.

    I am so sorry to hear about your brother-in-law.

  17. I have work time and home time. I’m okay at mixing the locations just as long as the time is explicitly laid out.

    smoothie; beer… it’s all good 🙂

  18. i’d love to be able to work from home! but if i did that, i would probably actually work from coffee shops to get out of my apartment. i hate monotony, so i’m sure i’d get sick of being in my apartment just like i am sick of my office!

    • yeah, I sometimes miss being an undergrad. As a grad I’m stuck in my little window-less office ALL THE TIME. As an undergrad I always HATED not having a “real” office, but I loved going to the library to study. Something about the solidarity of having others around working too makes it less painful. When I’m cooped up in the office I can’t even see anyone else & I miss just having people around (even if we’re not talking – it’s enough that they’re just around, ya know?)

  19. I would LOVE to work from home! I could spend more time with our dog, Gus and also would be more likely to get my workout done and over with earlier!

  20. […] remember when the bro-in-law had to rush back to Texas unexpectedly? Well he’s coming  back again – tomorrow. I know a lot of people would not be excited for […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

