Posted by: thefitacademic | February 15, 2011

V-day & Weekend Wrap-Up

Hey guys! Sorry so little love this weekend! It’s been busy! And then yesterday I ended up having a great time, but everything we did was later in the day, so I didn’t have a chance to post afterwards. So here’s a quick run-down:

Sunday:

Fresh rosemary from the yard

PICT3210

And another try at pop-overs (with herbs!)

PICT3212

PICT3224

PICT3226

Some corn & avocado salsa (half from a jar/half home-made)

PICT3216PICT3218

Veggie and chicken kabobs

PICT3220PICT3221

PICT3227

A little bit of LOVE

PICT3223

Monday:

Lots of work in the morning (very productive, considering I took the day “off”)

Then a beautiful hike in the most gorgeous weather we’ve had in months! It was 76 degrees with a slight breeze. Amazing!

PICT3237

We set off on Brown Mountain Trail

There were some regular cacti like this

PICT3249

and this

PICT3251

But then there were also weird, trippy cacti that look like they’re straight out of Dr. Suess’ imagination!

Exhibit A

PICT3236

Exhibit B

PICT3238

Rocky had a great time

PICT3248

That is, if you ignore the fact that within the first 5 minutes he stepped on a giant piece of cactus that had fallen from Exhibit B, above. It was a whole dramatic ordeal that also resulted in Chris becoming impaled several times in his hand while he was helping with the extraction. We almost turned back. Almost.  But the boys put on their brave faces and we went forward. And thank goodness we did because it was AMAZING!

PICT3239PICT3240

This was like the stairway to heaven. The mountain was STEEP and it seemed NEVER-ENDING! It was rough there for a minute.

PICT3241

When we got to the top we took a water break and had some snacks that I had brought along:  a little trail mix and a banana

PICT3243Amazing view of the valley!

PICT3247

Worth every step up that mountain-side!

When we returned home, there was some Sushi-Making to get to!

I had pre-chopped lots of veggies

PICT3233

asparagus, red bell pepper, carrots

PICT3235

Onions and jalapenos to be fried tempura style for a little crunch

PICT3256

Plus sushi-grade ahi tuna, avocado, cream cheese, sesame seeds & chia seeds for on top, and the nori, of course.

PICT3255

Chris started us out with #1. This is only the second time we’ve made sushi, and the first time was an entire year ago! It’s been way too long!

PICT3257

Rolling it up like a champ

PICT3258

We needed some celebratory bubbly (mine was “watered” down with OJ)

PICT3259

The finished product – just like pros!

PICT3261

 

PICT3264

PICT3265

And we even had cute little sushi plates with specks of wasabi (my FAVE!)

PICT3267

(Sorry I didn’t think to snap the pic on my first bite, so the plate is already soiled from previous sushi pieces)

All-in-all, it was an AMAZING time – EXACTLY what I had wanted and hoped for. Last year Chris surprised me with an entire house full of balloons all romantic-style.

image

We are NOT romantic people by nature. A hike is more up our alley!

And really, it’s not about what you do – it’s about who you’re with, right? And I love sharing the ride! Happy Tuesday, y’all! Hope your week is off on the right foot!

Responses

  1. Poor Rocky!

    That is some good looking sushi! I am impressed!

    • Yeah – he didn’t act like it really affected him, but Chris said it was pretty painful!

  2. Sounds like such a fun and adventurous Valentine’s Day! Those cacti are pretty crazy! Kind of like a Salvatore Dali painting. Props on making homemade sushi! I’ve heard it’s pretty difficult!

  3. WOW, those popovers look fantastic!!

  4. What a fun hike! We had planned to go for a long walk but it was pouring last night! Your pup looks so cute!

  5. What a fun Valentine’s day! I am soo impressed that you guys made sushi. I really do want to attempt making it. I just need to jump in and give it a try!

  6. Sounds great! We made our own sushi last year and had a blast! I wish we had hiking weather but we usually go on my first hike on my bday weekend! REALLY looking forward to it. 🙂

    • aww, what a fun way to celebrate your b-day!

  7. Oooo, rice OUT on the sushi… very pro!! 😀

  8. ahhhh sooo much in this post! =) love it!

    I have never thought of putting chia seeds on sushi — you’re a genius I love it! =) Totally need to pick up some chia seeds anyways! Just need to find them in my healthy wasteland of a town… they don’t even have quinoa here! boo!

    Looks like a fabulous adventure with good eats ❤ Glad you had a blast! ❤

  9. My husband and I LOVE hiking!
    The kabobs & sushi both look so good. Glad you had a great Valentine’s Day!

  10. Your sushi looks great! As in, well made…I don’t eat sushi!

    Jealous of your hike! I love hiking, but don’t have anywhere nearby to hike 😦

  11. your valentine’s day looks awesome!!! i can’t believe you made that sushi yourselves! it seriously looks like what i would get in a restaurant. nice work!

  12. This is my idea of a perfect valetine’s day, hike and sushi. Can’t get any better, I am glad you had a nice day!

  13. All those eats look pretty darn good!!!! I wish we had a hike like that around here!


Leave a Reply

Categories

