Posted by: thefitacademic | February 13, 2011

Parsnip Fries and Another Snack Attack!

Last night we made burgers, but instead of starchy potatoes cut up into fries, I decided to try something different – parsnip fries!

Have you tried parsnips yet? After seeing them in the blogosphere forever (like, since I first started blogging), I FINALLY decided to give it a go and see for myself what I thought of parsnips!

image(Source)

They’re found next to carrots – a sweeter cousin of the carrot.

I picked up a couple & started by peeling them just like you do with a carrot. Then, I cut them into strips, trying to keep them about all equally sized, like so:

PICT3189

Tossed them in a bowl with a drizzle of EVOO, and some sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper. Keeping it simple for my first time.

PICT3190

Lined them all up on a greased cookie sheet and popped in an oven heated to 350 for 30 minutes

PICT3191

Flipped them half way. Then, upped the heat to 425 for the last 10 minutes to get crisp and browned.

PICT3193

(A couple of the thinner pieces burned a little, but the vast majority were okay)

The burger I had on a bed of greens instead of using a bun. I topped it with chopped onions, jalapenos, melted cheese, turkey bacon, and a plop of guacamole.PICT3196

Served with a side of the parsnip fries and a scoop-full of baked beans

PICT3195

My review:

I thought the parsnip fries were okay. Not fabulous. Just okay. I ate them all – they tasted great dipped in ketchup – but I would probably just opt for sweet potato fries in the future. The boys weren’t real fans either.

Later I made a variation of my Banana Reese’s Fake-Out. So get this:

the PBB&J (Peanut butter, banana, & Jelly)

Cut the banana in half long ways

PICT3197

Then spread half with almond butter (mine is fresh from Sunflower Farmer’s Market – cheaper than pre-packaged kind and WAY easier than doing it myself again!)PICT3200

Then topped with preserves. I did part with raspberry and part with strawberry.

PICT3202PICT3203

Made a sandwich, then cut into bite-sized pieces. Perfect power snack to get you through the afternoon!

PICT3205

Tonight we’re grilling up some food on our smoker. We haven’t used it very much lately (it’s been freezing outside!), but today is actually pretty beautiful grilling weather! Doing a little variety of things: chicken sausage, chicken and veggie kabobs, asparagus, and a couple small steaks. Something for everyone!

I’m pretty excited because I’m taking the day off tomorrow! Although I’ll probably end up just working from home in the morning (while Chris is at work finishing up some stuff), in the afternoon we’ve planned to go on a little hike with Rocky boy. Nothing super long or strenuous. It’s a 4 mile trail that’s supposed to be easy-to-moderate and have great views of the city. I think I might pack a little lunch and plan to eat there. We’ll see.

Hope everyone has had a great weekend! They always go too quickly!

Have you tried parsnips before? What’s your favorite way to eat them?

What’s the best snack you’ve had recently?

Responses

  1. Your banana snacks look so yummy!! I’ve never tried parsnip fries, but I can definitely understand you preferring sweet potato fries. I’d probably feel the same way. I love making my own trail mix snacks!

  2. I haven’t tried parsnips before. I’m definitely a huge fan of sweet potato fries too!

    And your banana sandwich looks delic 🙂

  3. I really like parsnips roasted in the oven. I usually do it with Brussels sprouts to balance out the sweetness (and I love Brussels sprouts!) I’ve also used them in soups with good results!

    Hiking sounds fun, I haven’t gone for a hike since the baby came along!

  4. PB&J banana? fantaaaaaaaaaabulous! I want one now!!!! ❤

    Happy Early Valentines Day!

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  5. I love hikes and haven’t been in toooo long! I hope you guys have a great time! 🙂

  6. Interesting-I would have never thought to make fries out of them!

    I cooked with parsnips once last year in a beef stew and they were good but I havent tried them since. I think I should change that.

  7. I’m not a parsnip fan either. I’ve tried, I just can’t get into them.
    Have a great time today – sounds fun!

  8. I love squash and sweet potato fries, and parsnips are still on my to-try list! I just haven’t gotten around to it. I had how long the prep time is for those suckers.

    the best snack I’ve had lately HAD to be some PB&J oats made with Naturally More peanutbutter. the chia seeds in that stuff makes it AWESOME.

  9. Your little PB&J banana bites were cute!!

    I actually have a bag of parsnips in the fridge as I type, just waiting to be steamed and pureed into baby food!

  10. I actually love parsnip fries, just love to dunk them in some ketchup!

  11. yup-i’ve had roasted parsnips before…throw em in a big pan with all the other veggies. i like when they get a little burnt 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

