Posted by: thefitacademic | February 6, 2011

Super Bowl Sunday

Hey guys! Having a happy Sunday?

Doing anything fun for Super Bowl? Chris, his brother (our house-guest….who apparently will be staying for at least another week), and I are going to head over to one of my friends’ houses for a little get together thing. To me its really about the socialization & the food! I really don’t care about the game and even Chris doesn’t have any ties to either team this year so no one around my house is really passionate about the game.

Whatever.

Meanwhile, I’ve been a music downloading machine lately! I don’t even know why, but I’ve just been on it! So I’ve got a little bit longer edition of my ipod downloads today to share! Enjoy!

Ipod Downloads:

F**ing Perfect, Pink

Gangsta’s Paradise, Coolio

Billionaire, Travie McCoy

I Don’t Wanna Be In Love, Good Charlotte

Collide, Howie Day

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Miranda Lambert

Good Morning Beautiful, Steve Holy

Johnny and June, Heidi Newfield

You and Me, Dave Matthews Band

American Baby, Dave Matthews Band

My Cherie Amour, Stevie Wonder

Usually I’m always downloading fast-paced songs for running (I used to only use my ipod when running, so that’s all I cared about) But now I’ve started downloading a wider variety of songs. You may also notice that many of the songs from this week were on the 69 cent sale on itunes (“Love” songs are on sale for V-Day). If you haven’t yet – you gotta get on that! Open-mouthed smile

This morning I woke up to some actually reasonable temperatures (I think it was 50-something….you know, instead of 15 degrees!) The boys were still sleeping, so I decided to slip into my running clothes & head out the door. When I got back from running I picked up Rocky and went walking around the neighborhood (Rocky is incredibly lazy. He loves walks, but he wants NOTHING to do with my runs – he doesn’t like to be rushed). When I got back I had a giant bowl of oatmeal with 1/2 banana, chia seeds, and a drizzle of agave nectar.PICT3071

It felt good. I think the cold has had me in a funk. That, plus the fact that I haven’t been doing running for cardio lately (I’ve been mixing in biking, some workout DVDs, and just more “indoor” type activities since it’s been so cold). It’s made me forget that running really helps to keep me SANE and GROUNDED! I need it. I can’t continue to neglect it. Thankfully, it looks like its starting to warm up a little around here!

For today’s Super Bowl party, us girls have been discussing what we’re all going to bring (so there aren’t duplicates, etc.) Sounds like it’s going to be great! One girl is making chili, another is making meatballs in a crockpot and bringing fresh guac (MY LOVE!), and I’m bringing potato skins & queso.

Sneak Peak:

PICT3121

I feel like I’ve been having too much cheese lately so I’m going to try to stay away from the queso. Shouldn’t be hard – since that guacamole is there I’m sure I’ll spend most of my time posted up next to the guac bowl Open-mouthed smile

Do you have any traditional Super Bowl foods you make every year?

Are you “celebrating” Super Bowl Sunday? If not – what are you up to?

I’m spending all morning working on some school stuff. Fun-fun! Winking smile

Responses

  1. Yep, I’ll be celebrating Super Bowl Sunday! 😉 Making cookies and mini sandwiches. Love that you included Gangsta’s Paradise in your playlist!! That is my karaoke jam. I know every word to that song!!

  2. I didn’t know they lovey songs were on sale this wk, I must check out! I love Collide and My Cherie Amour 🙂

    I was going to go to a bar tonight but my throat is starting to hurt so I will probably just hang in while watching the game in the comfort of my home.

    • uh oh – hope your throat feels better soon!!

  3. Guacamole sounds great right now!
    We don’t have any special plans for the game – we don’t even have cable!! My husband is pretty swamped with classes right now, and I’m still sick – so we’re taking it easy.

    Have a great day! 🙂

  4. Like you, I could care less about the actual football game, but I sure do like food!

  5. I’m doing homework all day! I almost wish I liked football so I could have a distraction…

  6. I’m not really celebrating…but hoping the Steelers win! I dooo not like the Packers. 🙂

  7. oh dear god you whipped out the coolio! =) you flipping rock!

  8. My roommate totally took me out for sushi and ice cream… I love girlfriend dates! Other than that, today I’m doing homework and some cooking… the usual!

  9. I’m totally adding some coolio to my running mix 🙂

    Enjoy the superbowl and guac!

  10. We go to the same party every year and I usually make spinach artichoke dip. I’m pretty much only in it for the food 🙂

  11. gangsters in paradise-CLASSIC!!!
    I usually make a bunch of apps but we didn’t go anywhere:) So instead we just made pizzas which was good enough to me, besides wanting doritos bad now!

    • haha. I LOVE making my own pizza! I’m picky, so I like being able to get it EXACTLY like I want it! : )

  12. Someone at my family party makes chicken wing dip every year:)

  13. great list of ipod songs! i LOVE johnny and june – such a good song! 🙂

  14. DMB = my fav! I’ll have to check out the iTunes sale! Thanks for the heads up 🙂
    Our traditions = beer & good eats!!

  15. […] horrible, but I think the song is actually catchy – it has a good beat! Might just be in my next edition of ipod […]

  16. […] If you want some ideas for more upbeat songs, check out some previous ipod downloads (1, 2, 3, 4, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

