Posted by: thefitacademic | January 22, 2011

The Big 3-0

Good morning blog world! I had a great time last night celebrating my friend’s 30th birthday! Big milestone! I’m glad all my friends are a little older because lots of them are turning 30 this year, but I still have 3 years to go so I can kinda ease into the whole life-crisis thing people go through when hitting 30.

This morning I wanted to have something a little different. I decided on making some hashbrowns! I diced up some onion, garlic, and jalapeno

PICT2945

I washed and grated a potato into a large skillet (spray it first with cooking spray). Threw the diced onion/pepper mixture in too.

PICT2946

I simultaneously cooked up a couple strips of turkey bacon. Then, I plopped a little honey-flavored greek yogurt in a shallow side-bowl and added some fresh blueberries.

When the hashbrowns were done I topped with a generous slathering of hot sauce

PICT2947

This weekend I’m doing something that I’ve never done before.

Since Chris is gone and I have a crazy-insane amount of things to do, I’m going to try to take advantage of the time and REALLY crank out a ton of work. To aid in my endeavor, I’ve decided NOT TO WATCH TV ALL WEEKEND!

It’s funny because I really don’t consider myself to be a big TV-watcher. I only have a couple shows that I “follow”, and although the TV is often on, it’s really just used as background noise while I’m doing other things.

But I realized that just simply having the TV on can make me less productive. It’s a distraction. Even though I don’t really care what’s on,  I guess if I’m being honest I am paying attention to what’s going on to some extent.  So, if I have to run errands I’ll busy myself until the end of the program so I can see what happens. Or I’ll get wrapped up in something I really don’t care about and then an hour is gone while I’ve been half-watching TV and half-working.

But probably the biggest problem:  if the TV is on, then I am NOT reading. That’s an issue because I have A LOT of reading to get done. Some of it is “tough” stuff that I really need to concentrate on. But, some of it is actually stuff that (although academic-related) I really enjoy and consider to be enjoyable reading. But, I won’t even crack the book’s cover if the TV is on making noise.

So, I’ve decided that I’ll rent a movie for tonight & have myself a little scrapbook marathon during whatever movie I get. But otherwise, my goal is to not even turn on the TV all weekend long (something I’ve never consciously tried to control before)

Here’s a peak at my To-Do List:

PICT2951

More has been added since this picture, too.

Right now I’ve accomplished very little. I need to get on that Winking smile

What are you up to this weekend?

Do you ever go completely TV-less for days?

Responses

  1. Good luck on your to do list! I need to go TV-less more often. It’s a huge time suck.

  2. Hi Ashley! I’m so glad i found your blog through another one–I am also in academic (postdoc) so I totally get what that’s like and why it’s hard! Unfortunately, I worked like an Insane Person and gained like 30 pounds during my 6 years of grad school, which I’m trying to remedy :).

    But on to your post: I recently spent 30 days with no TV as part of an experiment for my blog–it was so helpful! I watch so much less crap now, and am much more mindful of when it’s on. Good luck-interested to hear how it goes.

    • What a cool experiment! Maybe I’ll have to give that a shot sometime! I hear ya about the gaining weight in grad school thing! It’s so hard to try to find balance! Especially with the job market the way it is (and I want to stay in academia – be a professor), you really have to work ALL THE TIME just to be competitive!

  3. Good luck on that to-do list! I actually never watched TV in grad school. I was either in class, studying, sleeping, or training at the kung fu school. I never had time, and I didn’t miss it at all.

    Now I watch a bunch of shows, but it’s how my husband and I unwind after the baby goes down for the night. Plus, discovering shows like Tosh.O and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia has improved my quality of life 🙂

  4. I’m kind of like you. I only have a couple shows that I follow, but I do have the TV on as background noise all the time! I’ve never gone TV-less for a weekend, crazy! Good luck on your to-do list! I know you’ll get it all done!

  5. good luck this weekend! have fun 🙂

  6. I have a hard time going the whole weekend without the TV..but honestly I think it’s mostly because of my boyfriend!

  7. I usually have my t.v. on for background noise too! But you’re right, it is really distracting…especially when reading needs to be done, which I have as well! Guess I will be joining you. 😀

  8. Completely TV-less? Um, yes! My husband and I moved to California in September and decided not to get to cable. Instead we spend our time outside taking advantage of this gorgeous weather. I’ve also ready SO MANY books since then! There are a few shows that we watch on Hulu (Modern Family & SNL) but that’s it. I think you’ll be surprise how easy it is to be without. Good luck! 🙂

    • yeah, I’m definitely finding countless ways to fill my time still : )

  9. Ohhhh, hashbrowns look good. How do you like the Slap Chop? Does it actually work?

    Like you, I only follow a few shows. But I usually keep it on for background noise. Every now and then I like to mix it up and turn it off but listen to music instead.

    • LOOOOOVE the Slap Chop! I was skeptical at first because it’s one of those “as seen on tv” products & every single time I’ve purchased that stuff it has ended up being….well…total crap! But I’ve had the Slap Chop for a few months now, I use it all the time (probably every other day on average!) and I LOOOOVE it! So easy to use and WAY easier to clean than a conventional food processor! I use it for everything!!!

  10. Holy list batman!! 🙂

    I hardly ever turn on the TV anymore with the exception of Fox’s Sunday night Animation Domination lineup. We don’t have cable and I’m way too busy!

  11. Wow! What a list! Believe it or not, I have not had cable or satellite for over a year now. I did it in the beginning to cut down on some expenses, and although I occasionally miss the days of food network surfing, I really don’t think about it at all.

    My real challenge would be to go internet-less for a day. THAT would be hard!

    • Oh, I know! I’ve thought about it, but I have to have internet for work….what can ya do?
      I also went cable-less for years! I actually went without for a total of 4 years (1 year without, 1 year with, then 3 years without!) I just got it back again maybe 4 months ago??? It’s amazing how much of a time suck it can be! Maybe when my contract is up I’ll get rid of it again. I just LOVE the DVR function, though!!!! Makes life so much better! : )

  12. Sounds like a great goal! Can’t say we’ve ever gone tv-less on purpose – but we’re so busy that it happens more often than not (but not on purpose!). 🙂
    Hope you’re as productive as you want to be this weekend!

  13. I’m a total to-do list maker too 🙂 Helps me keep track of all there is, cause otherwise there’s no way I’d remember it all.

    I saw you have a Slap chop…do you like it?? Does it work well??

    • LOVE the Slap Chop! It’s like a little magic machine!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

