Posted by: thefitacademic | January 20, 2011

Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bars

I LOVE the chocolate/peanut butter combo! Who doesn’t? (we maybe can’t be friends…unless you have an allergy or a good excuse)

Plus, I’ve been trying to wean myself off snack foods in favor of healthier options, like fruit and now….chocolate peanut butter protein bars! I’ve made granola bars before and have played around with the recipe, but it has always had a base of oats and fruit. I decided to take a drastically different direction with the chocolate and peanut butter, and it was the Best Idea Ever (if I do say so myself Winking smile)

So here’s what you need:

Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bars

Ingredients:

2 cups oats

1/2 cup peanut or almond butter

1/2 cup apple sauce

1/2 cup protein powder (I used a mixture of vanilla-flavored whey & hemp)

1/2 cup slivered almonds

1/4 cup dark chocolate peanut butter

1/4 cup agave

1/4 cup chocolate chips

2 Tbs. chia seeds

1 Tbs. brown sugar

1 Tbs. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

Toast oats, sprinkled with brown sugar, under broiler until just browned. Let cool.

In a small bowl mix together apple sauce, peanut butters (regular and dark chocolate), agave, and vanilla.

In a large bowl mix together cooled oats, protein powder, slivered almonds, chocolate chips, chia seeds, and cinnamon.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until combined. Put into a baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until the tops are browned. Let cool and enjoy!

I didn’t take as many pictures of the process as I should, but here it is being all mixed together

PICT2908

And here’s what it looks like when everything is done (Caution: Do not cut up before fully cooled, or else it may crumble)

PICT2922PICT2921

I individually bagged them for mid-day or pre-workout snacks

PICT2910

Perfection.

This morning began with a green grey monster.

PICT2915PICT2916

I picked up some fresh blueberries for CHEAP so I’ve been eating them in everything: smoothies, salads, yogurt mix-ins, etc. This smoothie had 1/2 banana, handfull of blueberries, some mandarin oranges, hemp protein powder, and a ton of spinach (probably 2 cups?) plus some vanilla-flavored almond milk to help it all blend.

You can totally tell what fruit I have on hand in the house, because lunch also featured blueberries and mandarin oranges, but this time in salad formPICT2917

It also had turkey bacon, spinach, feta cheese, and pecans.

Since Chris has been gone Rocky has been super needy. He just wants to cuddle and be right up in my lap as much as possible!

PICT2865

Can’t say no to that face!

PICT2864

showing off his hoodie Open-mouthed smile

Today we have a visiting scholar that I get to meet with. It’s going to be a day jam-packed FULL of meetings. Don’t get me wrong, the meetings are necessary and I don’t take them for granted…..but it’s really frustrating when I’m stuck in meetings ALL DAY because then NOTHING ELSE gets done. So what’s that mean? I can’t just NOT DO the things I need to get done……..so instead it means I just “get” to do it in the evening, after hours. Joy. If I had to bet, I’d say I’ll probably be having more of THIS later this afternoon

PICT2826

And just FYI, the scrapbooking has been going wonderfully. I’ll show you some pics soon, but I’m now done through February 2010 – woo hoo! Less than a year behind now! That’s a pretty major milestone! I won’t be working on it any more until the weekend, but then I plan to bust out 4 months, which will get me to the summer of 2010. Exciting stuff, ladies and gents. I lead quite the fascinating life. Be jealous. Winking smile

If you don’t finish your “To-Do’s”, do you work on them late, or just roll them over to the next day?

For me it depends what it is – if I have something that HAS to be done (deadlines, etc.), it gets done in the evening. If it can wait until the next day, I usually just roll it over!

Responses

  1. Those bars look soooo good, I really want ot make some now! Ahh! 🙂

  2. I need to get into scrapbooking. For my parent’s 25th anniversary, I started making them a scrapbook. Needless to say, it will be their 28th anniversary and I haven’t even gotten past buying the materials!

    • haha, hilarious! I originally got “into” scrapbooking because it was a requirement of an AP english class my senior year of high school. But I LOVED the outcome. It can be hard to get started though (and daunting!) I found little scrapbook shops that did this thing “snip till you snap”….basically you pay $25 and go from usually 6-10pm-ish and you can use ALL of their materials (like glue, pens, stamps, dye cuts, etc…..you have to buy your own paper & stickers). I’d go with my friends and always got a ton done! Now I usually do it while I watch TV or listen to my ipod : )

  3. Starred this recipe- that combo is my FAV and I want to start making my own bars:)

  4. Damn girl, whey (giggle) to kick it up a notch on the bars! When can I expect my shipment to arrive? 😉

  5. So…when are you doing a giveaway of those bars??

    My to-do list is mostly household stuff, so I don’t stay up late to finish anything, it’ll still be there tomorrow 🙂

  6. Those bars look tasty.

  7. Love the bars!! They look so good! When it comes to to-do lists, I like to get them done asap, so I stay up late usually if I really need to get something done. Love the “gray” smoothie, too!! Great flavor combinations!

  8. You’re a scrapbooking machine! I’m behind… only by 5 years though! =) ahahaha! I hope I catch up to you soon!

  9. Ooooh, those protein bars look *amazing*! Do you think they’d work without the protein powder? I’ve yet to find a non-icky protein powder here in Canberra. There’d still be protein from the almond butter, right?

    (P.S. I love blueberries in smoothies, even though they do turn the mixture from green to green/brown, as you say!)

    • hmmm, I dunno! It’s actually kinda a lot of protein powder, so you’d definitely be missing out – but the almond butter could help compensate to some extent. Can you order some protein powder online?

  10. I love the chocolate and peanut butter combo… Really, I dont know anyone who doesn’t! Your protein bars look great 🙂

    I love scrapbooking but it is SO expensive…and they take so long I usually end up losing interest before finishing..

  11. I NEED TO MAKE THOSE BARS! when I get out of this dorm room it will be one of the first recipes i try 🙂

  12. Those bars look great – I’m all over that recipe. THanks!

  13. […] making appearances on my blog before? No? You weren’t paying attention (see here or here or here!). Well, the lovely people at PB&Co agreed to let me review some of their products on the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

