Posted by: thefitacademic | January 14, 2011

I’m Fancy!

So thank you Madeleine and Priyanka for both nominating me for a Stylish blogger award! You guys seen these things going around?

image

So I’m supposed to give 7 random facts about myself, then nominate another 15 people for the award, notify them, etc.

Well, I’ve never been great at following the rules. I kind of make my own rules Winking smile

Also, no offense because I have NO IDEA who originally started the Stylish blogger award, but I’m really not into “chain” e-mails and such….and I feel like this kinda falls under that category. So no one is getting nominated (sorry!) & I’m only giving you 5 random facts…..because that’s all I could come up with right now!

Random Facts about Ashley

1. This award is kind of ironic because I am probably the LEAST stylish person….EVER! Check out this (very unfortunate) picture from my childhood.16

ummm, yeah. My mom took me to have a PERM when I was like SEVEN years old!!!! Doesn’t that seem like semi-child abuse? I don’t mean to minimize child abuse, because obviously it’s horrendous. But, I mean….all those chemicals and everything! That is just not okay! Also – are you loving my giant cat shirt? Yeah, I’m hot like thatOpen-mouthed smileAnd my fashion sense really hasn’t improved since then. Chris often makes fun of my workout outfits….but sometimes even my “work” clothes get a raised eyebrow or two. I like to think it’s because I don’t really care…..but I think it’s more because I’m just simply clueless

2. I LOVE horses and I used to work on a ranch when I was younger (like 17), taming the horses so that they were suitable for trail rides, etc., with patrons. I even practiced barrel-racing for awhile, but never took it professionally. My love of horses started young. Want another childhood picture? Here ya go (with my bubbah – as I called him at the time)

7

3. I’ve mentioned it before, but in case you’re new, I have kind of a weird dislike, borderline phobia of eggs. I don’t know what happened because I used to like them as a kid, but then…..I dunno….they just started really grossing me out! I used to not be able to handle the smell of eggs when my Mom cooked them on Saturday morning for breakfast. I couldn’t even deal with touching them when I would bake things like cookies or cake. I would make my sister break the eggs, stir the batter until I could no longer recognize the egg, and then I could take back over. I’ve gotten better over time, but I still don’t eat them. Wish I could get past my phobia because I KNOW they are so good for you, but I just can’t bring myself to eat them. Ick!

4. Even though I don’t really listen to country that often anymore, I’m still definitely a country-girl at heart! I’m from Texas and I LOVE the whole “southern hospitality” thing that Texas has going on. When we lived in Florida I used to joke that the stark contrast was amazing when we’d fly back home. The SECOND you step foot in Texas (even the airport), people would be so friendly! They smile, say hello, ask if you need help with your bags, etc. In south Florida there are a ton of New Yorkers and New Jersians (is that a word?) It’s a whole different mentality. They’re nice if you get to know them, but not a single person NOT EVER would so much as hold a door for a lady…..much less help get your bags off the baggage carousel. So here I am as a senior in high school – paying homage to my country roots

29

5. I am a BEACH BABY! Seriously….I lifeguarded from when I was 15-18 and my co-workers jokingly called me “gills” because (1) I was always in the water and (2) I can hold my breath and swim under water FOREVER. Now that we live in Arizona, the BIGGEST ADJUSTMENT has been trying to get used to the fact that this is the desert! I seriously have withdrawal that I can no longer drive 10 minutes to get to the beach. Even in Austin – no beaches, but there were a MILLION bodies of water & I used to hit them up ALL.THE.TIME. Here’s a couple water shots for ya

34b

floating the Guadalupe River

34c

at the beach in the Dominican Republic

50

snorkeling the big Red Reef in Boca Raton, Florida

So that’s it! Thanks for the nomination, ladies! Right now I’m doing laundry and packing for my bags. Chris & I are going to Phoenix tomorrow and my mom and step-dad are flying in. Then, Sunday is the day I’ve been training for for the past 5 months! The Rock & Roll Half-Marathon!!! I cannot wait!

Here are today’s eats:

PICT2833

English muffin: 1/2 with regular peanut butter (I need to get more almond butter – I’m out!) and 1/2 with strawberry preserves. Speaking of preserves….today is the LAST DAY to enter my giveaway! If you haven’t done so already, check it out!

Lunch was a baked potato topped with grilled chicken, some butter, cheese, and chives. (Sorry, no pic!)

And dinner was Chinese delivery!!!! Chinese is probably one of my favorite foods EVER! Chris and I have really been trying to avoid eating out as a way to save money, but tonight he’s working super late (trying to finish up a job before we leave) and since he has the car and we are totally out of food (no meat at all in the house!), I decided it’d be okay to get delivery Open-mouthed smile

I got spicy orange chicken with brown rice

PICT2840

PICT2842

and I ordered the hubbs some sesame chicken with fried rice & soup for when he gets home

 PICT2839

Also got an order of crab rangoon

PICT2843

As much as I love Chinese, I was kinda bummed when it showed up and there are NO veggies AT ALL! I mean, don’t they normally have broccoli and carrots with the chicken? I”ll have to make sure to specifically ask for a side of veg next time I order from this place.

Now, I’m back to laundry! Fun little Friday night Winking smile

Responses

  1. I didn’t nominate anyone either! 😉 And a serious hell to the yes about our Texas kindness and hospitality! It just ain’t the same anywhere else! Growing up here I just assumed that was the norm… boy was I in for a shock in my pre-teens when we went to visit family in New Jersey! I was BLOWN AWAY by the jerkiness of the people!!

  2. Loved this, girl!
    I’m probably the least stylish person ever, too…
    Even though I got nominated!
    Haha 😉

  3. Haha – that picture is great!! And love the underwater one, too.
    Have a great weekend!

  4. LOVE the random facts haha…. and I always get brown rice too! Keep up the good work girl!

  5. Your senior picture is awesome! You should see some of the outfits that I wore in elementary school, much worse than a giant cat. I see to recall having a perm too…:)

  6. Interesting factoids. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I love reading the lists that people come up with. They are all so interesting. I can totally believe the perm thing.. but I actually begged my mother to give me one (never happened though)

    That orange chicken has my mouth watering!

    -Khourt from:
    http://lifeasaconvert.blogspot.com

  8. […] (read: LARD). I’m also biased against recipes that use eggs (remember my irrational phobia-esque fear of eggs?) I finally found one I was content with, but unfortunately, firefox crashed before I had bookmarked […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

