Posted by: thefitacademic | January 12, 2011

MY FIRST GIVEAWAY

Okay, so you all probably know how much I love Bonne Maman Preserves & Jelly. If you haven’t noticed I’ve written about it here and here and even before I mentioned the brand by name you may have noticed it photographed here and here.

The truth is, I love the stuff! Bonne Maman’s products are 100% natural! No additives, no artificial flavors, glucose, HFCS, etc. In fact, I love their products so much that I contacted them to see if they’d be willing to help me host my first giveaway and they agreed!

So, in honor of some of the most delicious preserves and jellies that you will ever taste, I decided to do some Jam-thumbprint cookies!

I consulted my handy-dandy Better Homes & Gardens Cook Book

PICT2805

My mom bought it for my my freshman year of college (geeze – a decade ago!?) and I don’t reference it nearly enough, but it has recipes for everything!PICT2804

Here are the players:

PICT2806

I’ve got my regular flour, my whole wheat flour, sugar, butter, eggs, jam, nuts & vanilla (that’s real Mexican vanilla, too!)

First things first: make sure your butter is softened, but NOT melted!

I beat the butter for 30 seconds on medium speed. Added the sugar and beat until combined. Add egg yolks & vanilla and then the flour is last.

Easy as…….cookies?

Then, cover the mixing bowl & refrigerate to firm the dough up a little. Once ready, shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll dough in egg whites, then in crushed nuts & put on a greased cookie sheet.

PICT2810

(Used the Slap Chop to chop the nuts – love that contraption!)PICT2811

Don’t forget to leave your mark  ->(that could be misinterpreted) thumb printWinking smile

PICT2812

Throw them in the oven at 375 for 10 minutes, or until browned. Done!

PICT2820

Jam Thumbprint Cookies

Ingredients:

2/3 cup butter, softened (I used 1/2 cup butter and about 1/4 cup apple sauce)

1/2 cup sugar

2 egg yolks

2 egg whites, lightly beaten

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour (I used 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour)

1 cup finely chopped walnuts (I used almonds because it’s all I had on hand)

1/2 cup of your favorite Bonne Maman preserve flavor! Open-mouthed smile

Directions:

1. Beat butter with an electric mixer on medium high for 30 seconds. Add sugar. Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl. Beat in egg yolks and vanilla until combined. Beat in as much flour as you can. Stir in remaining flour. Cover and chill dough for 1 hour or until easy to handle.

2. Grease a cookie sheet; set aside. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in egg whites, then in chopped nuts. Place 1 inch apart on prepared cookie sheet. Press thumb into center of each ball. Bake at 374 for 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool. Just before serving, fill centers with jam.

What’s that you say? You want your own Bonne Maman?

Who wouldn’t?!

So one lucky reader will win not just 1, but 2 jars of Bonne Maman: 1 strawberry, and 1 grape. It’s easy to enter!

 PICT2744

Bonne Maman Giveaway Contest Rules & Directions

1. Just leave me a comment stating which Bonne Maman flavor is your favorite. It doesn’t have to be just between strawberry & grape – they’ve got EIGHTEEN different flavors ranging from wild blueberry to fig to black currant & blackberry! Check them out here.

Just your comment, alone, will get you one entry.

2. Then, subscribe to my blog (in the upper right column you’ll see the “subscribe” link). That will get you a second entry. If you already follow, let me know & I’ll still give you a second entry.

Do you want extra credit?

3. If you have a favorite way that you like to eat jelly or preserves (e.g., cookies, homemade granola bars, or even just slathered on some toast or English muffins), link back to your blog where you have given the recipe. For this, you’ll get a third entry!

The winner will be selected randomly first thing on Saturday morning (let’s say 8am), so make sure to get your comments in by Friday night!

Responses

  1. ahhh I want to try this!!!!! ❤ but I'm the first to comment. so I know I won't win. booo! I'm commenting anyways b/c I wanted to say hello =)

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  2. I love the Bonne Maman marmalade! Putting some butter and marmalade on an english muffin always reminds me of my grandparents.

    Your first giveaway, so exciting!

  3. I love Bonne Maman products! And strawberry is my favorite too 🙂

  4. Already subscribed!

  5. I’ve had their peach in the past and it is divine!! And can having you in my google reader count? I hate subscribing when you’re already in my reader! 😉 Aaaand for a third, http://purplebirdblog.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/jam-filled-deliciousness/ here’s where I *just* made some awesome jelly goodness in bar form! 🙂

  6. I’ve tried their apricot and loved it!

  7. I subscribed!

  8. I’m a sucker for blueberry jams!! I love thumbprints .. I usually sprinkle some powdered sugar on top!

  9. When I think of jams, I can only think of the strawberry flavor. I’ve been itching to try the thumb print cookies for a while now!

  10. I’ve never tried Bonne Maman! I think my favourite would be the fig 🙂

  11. I’ve never had it! My grams and I make strawberry jam every summer:) So i’d have to say grape-since I don’t have any of that kind in stock:)

  12. I’m a strawberry girl through and through!!

  13. oooooh……..the raspberry looks great! awesome giveaway! thanks!

  14. apricot raspberry sounds amazing!

  15. I subscribe now

  16. the raspberry apricot sounds amazing!

  17. […] And, because I’ve been holding out on you in terms of my recent eats, I wanted to give you some recent photos. I swear it hasn’t been on purpose! One day I accidentally left my camera at school (DOH!) and then I’ve had other things to attend to – like my first giveaway!!! (You can still enter, see this post!) […]

  18. I’d love to try one of those!
    Only I live in Brazil, so I’m not sure I can enter this giveaway…
    Can I?
    🙂

    • ya know what? I didn’t say there were any restrictions so you can definitely enter! I’m going to announce the winner tomorrow so stay tuned! : )

  19. I love apricot jam!!! The strawberry sounds wonderful!

  20. […] English muffin: 1/2 with regular peanut butter (I need to get more almond butter – I’m out!) and 1/2 with strawberry preserves. Speaking of preserves….today is the LAST DAY to enter my giveaway! If you haven’t done so already, check it out! […]

  21. I love strawberry jam.

  22. […] been cooking more and have been trying to enjoy it. I’ve made a couple fun things (like those thumb print cookies and the protein bars I’ll reveal soon), but the dinners, themselves, have still been kind of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

