Posted by: thefitacademic | January 11, 2011

Live, Laugh, Love <3

When Gina from the fitnessista did a post about things she loves, it was just the positivity I needed interjected into my day. I needed a mood boost, so I started thinking about the things I love.

Laughing with friends ‘till it hurts!

image

Traveling around the world!

image

My precious baby

image

(this is when he was a baby – about 5 months)

The Beach

beach

Marrying my best friend

Ashley & Chris Jordan's Wedding

And music ❤

I love music. Today I spent some time going through my “Running” Playlist to prepare for my half marathon this weekend – clearing out old songs I don’t want to hear & downloading a bunch of new songs (thanks again, sis, for the b-day present!)

Here are my

Ipod Downloads

Dynamite – Taio Cruz

We R who we R – Ke$ha

What’s my Name? – Rihanna & Drake

Coming Home – Diddy

I just Had Sex – The Lonely Island & Akon

Love Like Woe – The Ready Set

F*ng Perfect – Pink

California Gurls – Katy Perry & Snoop Dog

Gangsta’s Paradise – Coolio –> blast from the past, right?

Somewhere with You – Kenny Chesney

I used to love country. I mean – all through high school I was hard core! Case and point: Tim McGraw concert, outdoors in the rain, at auditorium shores in Austin, TX. The show kept getting pushed back due to rain, but we braved the weather (excuse the ridiculous get-up. I’ve never claimed to be fashion-savvy)

image

At any rate, I don’t listen to country that often anymore. Over the years I’ve moved away from Texas so I’m not exposed to it as frequently and, I dunno….I’ve just stopped listening.

But this Kenney Chesney song is really catchy! I’m really loving it right now!

 

Does it feel like it should be way later in the week than just Tuesday to anyone else?

What do you do when you need some positivity in your life?

PS: Check back tomorrow for my first giveaway!

Responses

  1. I love the idea of listing things you love-yay for positivity!

    Thanks for sharing your playlist, I am always on the hunt for tunes to add to my playlist. I’ve had Gangster’s Paradise running through my head after seeing the previews for the Green Hornet.

    I go to friends when I need positivity. One of my bf’s I’ve known since college and she is the most logicial, practical, funny friend a girl could ask for. I call her the Dali Lama since she is forever posting postivity quotes on facebook!

  2. I was totally needed some new workout tunes! The songs that I know on your list, I already LOVE, so I’m sure I’d like the ones I don’t know yet!

  3. I really like this post. I turn to movies, inspirational stories and my family + husband when I need positivity in my life!

    Ashley, I just tagged you for the stylish blogger award on my blog, check it out!

  4. it’s just tuesday? darn it.
    check out yeah x3 by chris brown

  5. I was saying the same thing!!!! I told my friends it feels like Thursday.. my body is CONVINCED it is almost the weekend. What a tease. Haha must have been the glorious snow days? who knows!

    I get positivity from my husband. He cracks me up

  6. Good music definitely brings the positivity to light! And doggie kisses. I’m convinced they cure cancer 😉

  7. OMG, my husband and I just watched that I Just Had Sex SNL video this weekend! We watch it every once in awhile for the laugh! 🙂

    • yeah – it’s kind of hilarious : )

  8. What a great post! I’m def one to make a quick playlist on itunes and sing on the top of my lungs!<–scary if i'm upset!

  9. Thank you for posting song ideas! I’m just starting to to think about my half marathon playlist! I still looove country and Sugarland makes some of the best running music.

    A good night’s sleep always makes me feel more positive about life!

    • oh – you’re right! I’ve only heard a couple of Sugarland’s songs, but they definitely have good beats for running!

  10. Great Playlist! I think I’m going to add some new tunes to my I-Pod! Generally, when I need a lift – I just enjoy a cup of hot chocolate and curl up with a new book. It’s the best way to refocus and relax for me.

    I also enjoy reading positive blogs such as this to keep me motivated on my fitness routine 🙂 Great Post!

  11. When I need something positive in my life I hit the tredmill after a good sweat i can think more clearly!

  12. […] on occasion that I have a series called “Ipod Downloads.” (You can check them out here, here or here.) Today I’m going to do a special edition of Ipod […]

  13. […] but I think the song is actually catchy – it has a good beat! Might just be in my next edition of ipod […]

  14. […] If you want some ideas for more upbeat songs, check out some previous ipod downloads (1, 2, 3, 4, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

