Posted by: thefitacademic | January 9, 2011

Weekend Whirlwind

Whoa – this weekend has been jam-packed! And for good reason – it’s the last weekend before classes resume this week at school.

Today started off with an easy english muffin. Slathered with Bonne Maman Grape Jelly – it’s a new flavor so I was anxious to try it out. It’s the first “gourmet” grape jelly & it’s made with Muscat grapes rather than Concord grapes. Muscat grapes are commonly used for wine & I think this is the first time they’ve been used in a jelly! And – I’ll tell you what – you can really taste the difference!

PICT2754PICT2753

Speaking of Bonne Maman, I’m going to host my very first giveaway this week in which 1 lucky reader will win 2 of Bonne Maman’s flavors: the new grape jelly, and their strawberry preserves. The giveaway will be on Wednesday, so check back then for more info.

After breakfast I was out the door!

I hit up a few stores.

Spent some time here

image(Source)

and a little time here

image(Source)

Saw some people gathered to protest the shootings that took place yesterday here in Tucson while I was on my way to school (horrible tragedy)!

PICT2643

Then came home & tried my hand at making Ice Cream! I opted for a flavor simply called Peanut Butter Ice Cream that I’d found a recipe for online. I had some white chocolate peanut butter on hand and I thought this ice cream with a couple white chocolate chips sprinkled on top would be HEAVEN!

PICT2757

So I mixed the ingredients (cream, PB, sugar, half & half, milk) and heated on the stove-top as directions stated

PICT2758

Then cooled & put it in the ice cream maker and let it crank for oh….almost 2 hoursPICT2738

Then it came out…..

PICT2765

and….

PICT2766

disaster! Something was terribly wrong! We followed the recipe and directions to a T, so maybe the recipe was bad (just got it from a google search, not an “official” cookbook or anything). It tasted yummy – but just NOT AT ALL like ice cream. It was more like a peanut butter mousse. I think it would be an amazing cream filling for a peanut butter pie or something, but I cannot eat it just like ice cream. Didn’t even make a bowl….tasting that white ice cream blade was all I needed to know something was just not right. I couldn’t bring myself to throw it away, so it’s currently in the freezer until I figure out what to do with it.

For lunch I shredded some leftover chicken & threw it in a mini-crock pot with some BBQ sauce

PICT2761PICT2763

When it was warmed throughout, I ate it on top of a bed of spinach & romaine lettuce, with some cheese & crispy tortilla strips

PICT2764

Like my new bowl?

PICT2760

Then I went to a lovely yoga class at Yoga Oasis. I LOVE the girl, Annie, who does the Sunday afternoon class. Her class is always packed so I guess the word is out that she is the bomb-diggityOpen-mouthed smile

When I got home I worked on a little more organization – this time in the storage shed we have at our place. Didn’t get it finished, but got a good way through – now I can actually find the things I need!

Then I decided to try to do an ice cream re-do. I was just so bummed with the way the peanut butter went! This time I’m doing just a plain jane vanilla. Cross your fingers for me! Here it is in step 1 (heat up & dissolve sugar)PICT2768

Right now it’s cooling down before it can go back in the ice cream maker.

While prepping the ice cream, I made some dinner.

Chicken that had marinated in Italian dressing, seasoned with black pepper & basil

PICT2767

also made some cheese tortellini, and “steamed” spinach. You know a trick to “steam” spinach super quickly? Put your spinach in the bottom of a strainer. Then, when the tortellini is done, pour on top of spinach. The boiling water will wilt the spinach super quick. I tossed it all in a bowl with a little olive oil & balsamic vinegarPICT2770

And ate it with a dinner roll with butter and strawberry Bonne Maman preserves (I can’t get enough!)

PICT2769PICT2771

Yum! And now I’m going to check up on that ice cream & then get down and dirty with a little scrapbooking! I’m kind of in denial about classes starting back. Don’t let it happen!!!!! It’s so funny because I love my job – I love teaching, I love being taught – the whole 9 yards. But you know what I DON’T love? The constant go-go-go craziness and all the stress that accompanies it. No bueno.

What are some of your favorite ways to de-stress? Me? I love yoga!

Responses

  1. The jelly sounds delish! can’t wait to enter the giveaway! =)

    Sorry the PB ice cream didn’t turn out the way you hoped! maybe put it in the pie like you suggested? with some chocolate pudding and a dollop of whipped cream it may taste decadent! =)

    xoXOxo
    jenn

  2. That ice cream fail sounds pretty magical anyway! And yes, I do like your new bowl! 🙂

  3. I am so glad you made it out! Seriously, give me a cup of coffee and put me in bed bath and beyond or home depot and wait a week for me to navigate my way around the stores- only to come out for more food. I really like your new bowl. I am particular about bowls and think that contrasting bottoms and sides are a great option! Let’s have another weekend soon; I’m already missing it

  4. The idea of peanut butter ice cream sounds fantastic. I hope the vanilla turns out!

  5. I’ve had ice cream making disasters before, too.
    I figured out that the issue was, it didn’t cool long enough before going into the ice cream machine.
    Even when I had some flavors that didn’t need to be heated before cooling, it took AT LEAST 6-8 hours of cooling in the fridge before mixing in the machine. THEN it turned out great 🙂
    Hope your vanilla turns out well!!

  6. Sorry that the ice cream did not turn out the right way, sounds delicious anyway! My de-stresser talking to my mum and yoga!

  7. You live in Tucson?! I’m from there! When I heard about Gabrielle Giffords, my sister and I were glued to CNN at our gallery here in Georgia. Do you live nearby where the shooting took place? Such a tragedy.

    • Wow – small world! I don’t live near it, but my husband was working about a block away! Thank goodness he didn’t need to run to the store or anything! The outpouring of emotion has been pretty intense – especially being that I’m on a University campus, there are groups of all kind (promoting peace, supporting the families involved, supporting Giffords, etc.) It’s been crazy!

  8. […] Weekend Whirlwind « Thefitacademic's Blog […]

  9. Great trick to steam the spinach! Never would have thought of that, but I’m definitely definitely going to do that when the next occasion calls for it 🙂

  10. […] how much I love Bonne Maman Preserves & Jelly. If you haven’t noticed I’ve written about it here and here and even before I mentioned the brand by name you may have noticed it photographed here […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

