Posted by: thefitacademic | January 6, 2011

First Mary Madness

I’m getting pretty excited about my very first half-marathon coming up January 16th! Can you believe it? That’s next weekend! I’ve done so much training and working toward this goal, it will feel REALLY good when it’s done to accomplish it!Smile

I happened to flip through this issue of Runners magazine and there was an article that caught my eye

PICT2581

All about running your 1st marathon or half-marathon, and highlighting the “BEST” races for a runner’s first mary.

PICT2582

Imagine my delight when right there on the list was THISPICT2586

The Rock N Roll Phoenix marathon! Hey – that’s the one I’m doing!!!! And there are TONS (like 10 or 12) of Rock N Roll races throughout the country, but the authors specifically picked the race in Phoenix as the “best” because it’s flat landscape, moderate temperatures, and beautiful views! Can you believe it? I’m so excited!

In preparation of the run, and because my sister recently gave me an itunes gift card, I’ve downloaded a few new songs to jam to on my training runs

Itunes Downloads

Glee cast – Gives You Hell –> does anyone else download the Glee version of songs?

Glee cast – Dream On

Linkin Park – In the End

The Used – Under Pressure

Taylor Swift – Mine

Tje Austin – Shooting Star

 

I have kind of eclectic music taste.

This week has been pretty crazy! Lots of cleaning and organizing around the house, back full-swing at school, and still trying to squeeze in some time for myself (scrapbooking, playing guitar, etc.) Tonight I’m going to try to fit in that “me-time.”

But if you’re bored, here’s some interesting reading:

-Do you know the story behind the first marathon? Did you know it used to be shorter?

-Here are some practical aspects about preparing for your race.

-And here are some of Caitlin’s tips for runners.

Responses

  1. I am not a huge Lady Gaga fan, but the On The Rocks version (all male acapella group)of “Bad Romance” is badASS. If I were a runner I’d totally have that on my list, lol! 🙂

    Good LUCK on your marathon! I am in awe of anyone who can run more than 5 minutes without petering out, and I know you’re gonna do great!

    • omg, I just youtubed the group & saw their video and It.Was.AMAZING!!!!!! Great talent, but also HILARIOUS! Loved it : )

  2. You went from the Used to Taylor Swift. ballsy little playlist ya go there! haha it’s awesome!!!

  3. Good luck for your half marathon, you’ll do great!

  4. I like your blog! It’s certainly hard to stay fit and eat healthy while in grad school…I certainly wasn’t 🙂 Good luck with the half marathon-it looks wicked fun!

    • Thanks – I’m looking forward to it! And it’s seriously hard to try to find the time to stay fit! This blog is, in a lot of ways, a way to try to keep myself accountable! : )

  5. Hey I’m excited I found your blog, because I’m hoping to run my first half marathon in March! (Not sure if it’ll happen but I’m really hoping to!) The problem is the weather has been so cold here in VA!

    Good luck and have fun! It looks like you’ve got a good playlist 🙂

    • How do you do it in the cold? It is soooo cold! I’m still new-ish to running (started about a year ago) and it’s so hard for me to do it when it’s below freezing out!!!

  6. Yay!!! I’m so excited for you! You’re going to do great! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely keep you posted!

  7. […] this race. I trained…but not nearly as long or hard as I did for my first 10K (pre-blog) and half-marathon, both of which felt pretty brutal both during and after the races. After the half, I didn’t even […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

