Posted by: thefitacademic | December 28, 2010

Sick & Tired

I woke up this morning feeling less-than-stellar! I’ve been running around and doing so much, plus I haven’t mentioned it here but I’ve been barely sleeping! Like – 3 hours has been a “good” night since we got to Austin. I blame it on all the hustle & bustle. But, we’ve also been bouncing from house to house sleeping everywhere from air mattresses blown up in living rooms, to big U-shaped couches (with me being forced to sleep in the U-bend!). I think out of the week we’ve been here I’ve only slept in a “real” bed 2 nights! Anyways, it’s all caught up with me because this morning I woke up with a wicked-sore throat, runny nose, and a cough. Awesome. One day before my Trash-The-Dress shoot, and only 3 days before my birthday!

It’s very unfortunate, too, because amidst our low low temps (low relative to Texas temps…..not relative to the rest of the country!) I am planning to do a trash-the-dress involving water. Like this:

image(Source)

Not only is it going to be FREEZING (I’m already mentally prepared for that), but now I’m worried about my health! Ick!

On top of that – today was supposed to be a “long run” day. Not going to happen! Depending on how I feel I might swap my run for some yoga…..or if I really feel like I need a break I might just make today a “REST” day and replace one of my shorter runs with a long run later in the week.

To try to kick-start my immune system – I thought some extra antioxidants in Green Monster form would be helpful this morning.

PICT2533

I wanted lots of vitamin C, so I included an entire orange + splash of OJ for juice, a hand-full of pineapples + juice, a couple strawberries, 1/2 banana, protein powder, a generous portion of spinach, and about 6 baby carrots. Tasted good!

Now I’m snuggled up in a blanket on the couch to watch TV do some work. Maybe a nap is in the future. All I know is I do not want to get worse, so I need to take it easy!

Hope your days are all going well!

Responses

  1. Have another green monster or two throughout the day today and really get that vitamin C going. Take that rest day and really REST! Sending well wishes your way!! xoxo

  2. Oh, and I LOVE the trash the dress idea!!

  3. Hope you recover real soon. Hopefully before your photo shoot and Birthday. Keep that Vitamin C flowing. 🙂

  4. awwwwwwwwww FEEL BETTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. thank you for the comment, it means a lot 🙂

    i hope you feel better soon- like you said, plenty of vitamin c and REST does the body wonders

  6. You need more sleep! I try for 8 hours a night!

  7. Hope you feel better!

    And I totally want to do a trash the dress whenever I get married, that would be a blast!

  8. CRINGE – 3 hours is definitely not enough sleep! Hope you feel better soon!

  9. oh no! I hate being sick, looks like you are well equipped! Hope you feel better soon!

  10. It is totally that time of year for illness; I’d share my cough drops with you in a minute. Hope you get a chance to recuperate and feel better!
    Katherine


Leave a Reply

Categories

