Posted by: thefitacademic | December 26, 2010

Disney Story

This morning’s run included a close-up view of many of these guys

image(Source)

My mom’s neighborhood is basically overrun with the cute little guys! It would be just like a Disney story if it weren’t that it’s actually somewhat of a problem, being as they eat peoples’ flowers & run around fearlessly like they own the place. Since hunting is not allowed they’ve grown quite used to human presence and don’t get scared and run away like most deer in the wild. Although they can be a nuisance, they were cute as can be on my run & I enjoyed scoping out all the little baby Bambi deer that still had their spots! Adorable!

Did everyone have a good Christmas?

I had a great day! If you’ve been following along, you know my week prior to Christmas was pretty insane! It was nice to have a full day yesterday just to relax & hang out with family! I even snuck in a 2 hour nap! Yesss!!!!

Here’s how we split our day:  morning opening presents & breakfast at my Moms house; lunch and more presents at Chris’ mom’s house. Dinner & the entire extended family (with still more presents) at my Mom’s house again.

And we’ve got a big family!

PICT2495

catching a runaway

PICT2500

getting into trouble

PICT2501

my brother’s twin!

PICT2503

babies opening presents

PICT2504

munching/opening presents

PICT2505

more trouble!

And of course there was food!

PICT2498

Dinner included spare-ribs, grilled chicken breasts, and steak

PICT2499

with mashed potatoes, green salad, jello salad, rolls, cocktail shrimp, cheese balls, veggies & dip….I can’t even remember everything!

PICT2497

And dessert included several kinds of cookies,  pies, fudge, cheesecake, caramel, and more!

We’re house- and dog-sitting for some neighbors of my Grandma for the next few days, so after dinner we went over there to let the dog out.

PICT2511

Tuscany is a full-blood great dane. She’s only 1 year old (still a puppy in personality), and she totally towers over my beast of a dog. (for comparison, Rocky weighs just under 100 lb! He’s pretty huge!)

PICT2514

We took Rocky over so we could let them meet and walk them together. Rocky really liked Tuscany….as a friend. But we think Tuscany is in puppy love!

Much of today is going to be spent playing catch-up with some very neglected, yet much needed school-work! Ugh! I mean, oh joy!? Winking smile

Me and my work – we have kind of a love-hate relationship. I love it. But sometimes I think it wants too much from me!

Check out my new Weekly Workouts to see what I’m up to at the gym on the streets.

Does it feel like  Monday to anyone else or just me???

Responses

  1. Looks like you had a great Xmas. Nice. It does kinda feel like Monday – I think it’s because the after Xmas blues are setting in. If only Xmas could happen several times a year. 🙂

  2. Wow you have so many little ones at your Christmas! I don’t know why having the holiday on a Saturday is so odd but it has thrown me off in days too!
    Katherine

  3. Great Danes are the best!! And I feel ya on the Monday feeling!

  4. awww puppy love? too cute! You know i’m nutso for animals =)

    So let me get this straight… the deer are like pests there? hahaha! at least they’re cute pests! My old neighborhood was overrun by bunnies… I was always afraid I’d accidentally run one over. Never happened though – phew!!!!

    Glad you had a great Christmas! Enjoy your Sunday ❤

    xoXOxo
    jenn

    • oh yikes! I would be worried about hitting the bunnies, too! So weird what (precious) animals can become pests when their population isn’t held “in-check”

  5. My lab is in the middle of nowhere surrounded by trees and the deers can pop out anytime. They are cute but can be a nuisance.

    Love the celebrations!

  6. Merry (late) Christmas!

  7. We are dodging deers all the time-great to see once in a while but not staring at your headlights!

  8. […] MY FIRST GIVEAWAY Okay, so you all probably know how much I love Bonne Maman Preserves & Jelly. If you haven’t noticed I’ve written about it here and here and even before I mentioned the brand by name you may have noticed it photographed here and here. […]

  9. […] deer in the neighborhood on my morning jog. LOOOOVE seeing them all over – its so beautiful! I’ve talked before about how my Mom’s neighborhood feels like its straight from a Disney story […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

