Posted by: thefitacademic | December 19, 2010

Tying one on

image(Source)

Last night Chris & I went to a holiday White Elephant party at my boss’ house. He has had this party every year, but this is the first year that he invited us lowly grad students to it : ) I was surprised by the turnout – upwards of 50 people or so. The house was packed and some people spilled outside to the back deck/pool area. There was lots of wine & snackage that I partook in. I was trying to keep it under control, but I did have a couple glasses extra from my “normal” intake….

….but then it all went downhill from there (more on that in a minute)! The party was fun, the White Elephant was, um, interesting? We brought 2 presents:

1 = bottle of wine + movie in a Christmas stocking

2 = Coal-shaped chocolates, coffee travel mug, and little random tool-thing.(admittedly random)

When we left we walked away with these two gifts:

1 = Christmas decoration: Santa, his sleigh, and all the reindeer

2 = silly putty

So what do you think – did we come up, break even, or go down?

I kinda wish we’d been able to come back home with our own bottle of wine & some chocolate Smile

I do like the Christmas decoration, though. It would look perfect on a mantle above a fireplace (which, of course, we don’t have), but I’ll find somewhere to display it. We’re leaving town tomorrow anyway, so I guess it really doesn’t matter, but since we have NO Christmas decorations at all, it was nice to get a little something.

The big ticket item was a Ukulele (if you don’t know, it looks similar to a mini-guitar, but has only 4 strings)

imageimage

(Source)

I REALLY wanted that thing! It was fully functioning, correctly tuned, and was painted in a gorgeous hawaiian themed motif. I play a little guitar (just for fun – I’m not great or anything), and I have ALWAYS wanted to learn the ukulele, but was limited because I don’t own one. I “stole” the ukulele from someone else and was already forming dreams in my head about how I would take lessons once a week in the Spring & actually learn how to play the thing. I was so excited – until a child of about 5 years came & stole it from me (if you’re unfamiliar with a White Elephant – that’s how the game works). I was a little heart-broken. Felt like salt in the wounds when the next present was some silly putty. Really, people? I know White Elephants are random, but why would you bring silly putty? Aside from the one child there (who stole my ukulele), there weren’t even any kids so who would even want silly putty?*sigh* What can ya do?

So, after the game, the other grad students and I were all itching to leave (there were 4 grads + 2 dates = 6 people total). We decided to go down the street to a little bar to hang out a little longer & here’s where my portion-control just flew out the window! I had a disgusting amount of beer, closed the bar down, then went to a friend’s house & continued drinking + eating homemade gingerbread cookies! I didn’t even keep track of my total number of beverages consumed, but I’m sure I took in about an entire day’s worth of extra calories. Ugh.

You know – part of me feels kind of disgusted, but the other part is glad that I can do these types of things every once in awhile. It keeps me young to go out with friends and stay out all night (well, until 3am!) Typically, I’m kind of old-lady-ish. I stay home a lot, wake up early, don’t drink much, etc.

So, I’ve decided not to beat myself up over it. I’m 26. Nights like this will happen occasionally. As long as it’s not an every-weekend type of thing, I think I’m okay (and it’s by no means every weekend…..if anything it’s every once in a blue moon!)

Fortunately I still woke up early & feel great (how’d that happen?) That’s good because I’ve got a LOT to do today! Here’s a peek at my To-Do List

-Finish up manuscript revisions & submit

-Pick up books & articles from school

-Do laundry & pack bags

-Clean out the fridge & do light touch-up cleaning around the house

-Go buy healthy snacks for the road-trip & pack ice chest & snack bag

-burn new CD’s from Ipod for road trip

-YOGA!

That’s it. I’m happy to announce that I made it through this entire week without shifting any workouts around! Look at me go – quite an accomplishment! : )

I’m looking forward to yoga this afternoon. I LOVE the girl that leads the 4:00pm practice – she is amazing! And after last night, I can totally use some yoga to detox.

FYI: Tomorrow I’m going to be spending the ENTIRE day on the road (we’re aiming to leave by 4:00am, so we can arrive in Austin by about 5:00 or 6:00pm). I’m going to try to get a blog up in the morning before we hit the road, but you’ll have to forgive me if it doesn’t end up happening. 14 hour long road trips are NEVER fun!

What do you do to pass the time on long road trips?

Responses

  1. White Elephant’s & Yankee Swaps definitely make holiday parties interesting. Think you may have lost out a bit on the silly putty unless you got some big laughs out of it. 😉

  2. I have a friend who is a brilliant ukulele player!! And I’m glad you’re not beating yourself up too much about your indulgences last night. Tis the season, in my humble opinion! 🙂

  3. i love getting snacks ready for road trips:)

    road trips=i like to play I Spy with my daughter and mess around on my smart phone.
    have fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

