Posted by: thefitacademic | December 17, 2010

Why We FAIL at Weight Loss

Today I’m going to overview some reasons why people commonly fail at weight loss. I’m not suggesting that everyone needs to be loosing weight, and it’s definitely a slippery slope with getting caught up in weight-loss obsession. But the fact of the matter is, these are common mistakes that most people have made (I know I’ve made plenty of them!) and I thought this could potentially help others (and help myself) to know about common pitfalls of an otherwise healthy weight-loss program.

The 8 Reasons Why We FAIL at Weight Loss

image(Source)

original list by –Tom Venuto;  retrieved from Cut The Fat podcast

1. No Focus

When you embark on any fitness journey, we need to figure out 2 things: where you’re starting from, and where you want to go! I’m not suggesting you should be focused on the # on the scale! There are all types of ways to define where you are starting and where you want to go. You could use % body fat, BMI, jean size, energy level, or whatever!  But it’s important to be realistic about where you’re starting and to have a concrete goal of where you want to go!

2. No Priorities

Just because you “plan” to go to the gym doesn’t mean it’s going to actually happen. But if you live a super-busy lifestyle, you have to make the time, plain and simple. That doesn’t mean that you have to make exercise your #1 priority in life, but it has to be high enough up on the list that it gets fit into your day!

3. No Support System

Sometimes it can be hard to find supportive friends or family. Hopefully you all have people in your life that can motivate you and keep you working toward your goals. Unfortunately, sometimes people can be….less than supportive. If this is the case, it’s important to find supportive people elsewhere (uh….hello healthy blogging sphere?)

image (Source)

4. No Accountability

Okay – these are the people who know what they’re supposed to be eating, but they just keep snacking on the chocolate or the ice cream, or whatever. They know that they should be exercising, but they just don’t get off the couch and start exercising. Figure out a way to become accountable for your goals. This goes hand-in-hand with having a support system. You can be accountable to each other!

5. No Patience

In college I always had roommates trying the newest fad diet. But this is not healthy – you can’t just jump around from one “diet” extreme to another. When you decide to start your weight loss journey, you need to put on your game face & just stick with it! Results won’t be instant, so give it the time it deserves.

6. No Plan

If you set a goal, but no steps to achieve that goal – then how is it ever going to happen? You can’t just say you want to be a doctor and ever expect to achieve that goal if you don’t first go to college, take the necessary courses, etc. Same thing with the weight loss. Once the goal is set, figure out realistic ways to work toward it!

7. No Balance

Remember #5? In order to have patience, you can’t have some crazy, super-restrictive diet or some 10 hour a day workout routine or something. If you start out with too much vigor right out of the gate, you can burn out quickly! Make sure to pace yourself for the long-haul. I’m not interested in some crash-diet! I’m talking about a healthy and balance lifestyle! That doesn’t work without balance!

8. No Personalization

What works for one person may not work for you. Just because a celebrity is endorsing a certain product or exercise doesn’t make it effective! Pay attention to your body – what do you enjoy, what works for your body, etc? Take the parts of fitness programs that work for you and leave the parts that don’t! Always – be realistic!

image(Source)

***This is a review of an article by Tom Venuto. The opinions expressed here are only my own (and in full disclosure – I have no certifications or qualifications of any kind). Take it or leave it – just check with your doctor before you start your own fitness program!

Responses

  1. good overview-especially the parts about plan and personalization.
    like the saying goes: if you fail to plan, you plan to fail.
    and for goodness sake, do something you like so you’ll stick with it. 🙂
    for some people it’s running. i do not like running at all. so, i’d never stick with it.

    also, diet, as in eating good, healthy, pure food, is 80% of it. if you have a bad diet, you’re not gonna get optimal results in a reasonable time. it’s like if you put bad gas or oil in a car. it’s not gonna perform well and you won’t get the results from it you want.
    again, good tips!

    • I so agree about the importance of the “diet” (I hate that word – but you know what I mean)! I think many people don’t know hot important it is to eat right! Even if you’re working out all the time – if you’re not fueling your body properly, the results probably won’t be what you want!

  2. I loved the one about finding a way to be more accountable to your goals….love blogging for that reason:) GREAT review and I couldn’t agree more!

  3. What a great article!! I totally fail at number 1 a lot. I try and push myself all the time but when I step back I am not really sure what for. Is it to be healthier? Drop a pant size? Or simply out run some girl in my soccer game? I find that when I find my FOCUS and my DIRECTION on where and what I need to do, that my workouts and diet all fall right into place

  4. […] as one of my favorite ipod downloads, but I’ve also referenced it before (check it out here and here). Today I want to talk about another one of my favorite […]

  5. […] talked about it here (explaining why I eat meat), here (giving the 6 principles of Fat Loss), and here (8 reasons why we fail at weight loss). Well yesterday I listened to another great one all about […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

