Posted by: thefitacademic | December 16, 2010

Just call me the fireman ‘cuz I’m putting out the fires!!

Whoa! Today has been quick & crazy! Feel like I’m dealing with rapid-fire all day! I love it though.

Luckily, I also got my run in this morning because right now it’s cold and rainy so that would be horrible! And look – it’s already Thursday and I’ve totally kept to my workout schedule this week perfectly : )

And amidst it all I’ve had some good eats:

PICT2387

Oh no! An almost-empty Almond Butter jar! What to do?PICT2385

Maybe add some oatmeal, & slivered almonds along with some banana chunks (not pictured)

PICT2386

I tried my hand at making a balsamic reduction

PICT2390

Used a ton of balsamic vinegar, reduce half-way

PICT2397PICT2398

added a little brown sugar, reduced more. Done.

PICT2391

Good balsamic vinegar is key.

Made some tortellini

PICT2394

Wilted spinach by putting it in a strainer & pouring the boiling tortellini over it (when the tortellini is done and needing to be drained – great trick!)

Threw in bowl together, added balsamic reduction. Done.

PICT2399

Tried (failed) to get an “action” shot

PICT2400

Ready to take to work for lunch

PICT2405

And dinner…

PICT2379

PICT2380

PICT2384

PICT2382

This picture was taken before I remembered to slather my burger with avocado (mmmmm). It’s a burger patty with cheese and turkey bacon (no bun), a salad with feta, dried cranberries & crunchy strips, and homemade baked potato “chips.”

 

Now – off to see the Winterhaven lights, then maybe to poker…

Responses

  1. Love Avocado on my burgers. Yum.

  2. Girl, I was LMAO as I came over here to read this because the title of this post in my Google reader says “I should be a fireman cuz I’m putting out”… lol!!! 😀 Your tortellini looks amazing!

  3. ah! that reminds me i have an uber ripe avocado i NEED to eat before it goes bad….hmmm-to put it atop a baked potato or make chocolate avocado pudding? i think i could probably manage both 🙂

    • chocolate avocado pudding? I’ve never heard of such a thing! You need to let me know what this is all about with 2 of my greatest loves! : )

      • Chocolate avocado pudding ROCKS! Avocado, cocoa powder, and a sweetener… (stevia, maple syrup, etc.)…. ZOMG! 😀

      • yeah-what Christin said 🙂

  4. Nice job getting your workouts in! I have such a hard time when it’s gross out!

  5. What a great idea for lunch. I always get bored with my go to turkey sandwich, thanks for the packed lunch inspiration 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

