Posted by: thefitacademic | December 12, 2010

Weekend In a Nutshell

Wow – this weekend just flew by!

Friday night I went out with friends to celebrate the end of the semester! We had dinner at the Auld Dubliner in Tucson. They are awesome because they brush their french fries with a curry powder that is just an amazing little surprise! You never expect curry on fries, but it is DELISH!!!

Dubliner(Source)

We also over-indulged a wee with the drinks ; )

Saturday consisted of lots of errands, some R&R, a little biking, and loving with Rocky

PICT2306.

Sunday morning I made a yummy breakfast that has always been reserved for special occasions. Today was nothing special, but I had all the ingredients so I decided to make it anyways

PICT2321

Sticky Roll Pull-Aparts

One 3-oz package of regular butterscotch pudding

1 cup melted butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

chopped pecans

cinnamon to taste

24 frozen dough balls (like Rhoads)

 

Directions:

Stir butter and sugar together In a small bowl. In a bundt pan, pour pecans and place 24 frozen dough balls. Sprinkle dry pudding mix over the top & pour sugar/butter mixture on top. Sprinkle with cinnamon and cover with wax paper. Leave to rise overnight.

In the morning, bake the rolls in bundt pan at 350 for 20-30 minutes, until rolls are browned on top.

 

So – this is a recipe that my Mom has always used (this was our traditional Christmas morning breakfast for years and years). I don’t have a bundt pan so I cooked it in a casserole-style baking dish and it didn’t work quite as well…I found that some of the rolls were burned and others still doughy, so they didn’t cook evenly. I have made it several times with the bundt pan and it has always worked well – so if you’re going to try the recipe, I’d suggest cooking it in the correct baking dish.

Despite the uneven cooking, I found a couple that were done just perfectly!

PICT2322

Other weekend highlights include getting a few Christmas presents, getting some new flameless candles/decorations, going to the dog park,

PICT2325PICT2323

yummy stuffed chicken breasts,

PICT2336

and just a little bit of lazing about

sleepy

I’m ready for Monday! Bring it on, work-week! Last week until heading back to Texas for some family time!!!

Responses

  1. Those sticky rolls just made me tummy grumble! hehe.

  2. awwww I heart rocky! He’s just so stinkin cute! he should be in every post =) hehe

  3. Curry fries sound delish! Are you coming home to Austin?! Maybe we can meet up while you’re here! 🙂

    • I am! That would be fun! I know that time of year is always crazy, but I’ll be available, so let me know when you’re free!

      • I’m totally not going anywhere, and I’ll have 2 weeks off of class, so work is all I’ll have to worry about. Shoot, if you want a free massage I could borrow you for homework! Let me know! 🙂

      • That would be awesome! I’ll hit you up : )

  4. Ooh those sticky rolls sound fantastic.

  5. I love how your dog models. 1 cup butter? Those must be good!

    • I know, disgusting right? : ) The ones I made didn’t have nearly that much, but I only used I think 9 dough balls instead of all 24, so I basically cut all the ingredients by two-thirds.

  6. Great attitude about the workweek! Have a great time in Texas 🙂

  7. Oh gosh I am hiding this post from my hubby. He will want those rolls for breakfast everyday. He has a slight obsession with cinnamon rolls or anything resembling them lol

  8. how are you I was fortunate to find your website in wordpress
    your post is terrific
    I get a lot in your website really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really splendid
    where can find it

  9. Just stumbled upon your blog, love the recipe for sticky roll pull-aparts. Quick and delicious


Leave a Reply

Categories

