Posted by: thefitacademic | December 6, 2010

Homemade Granola Bars

Today was boring – more school (what else is new). But, I did come home early enough to cook dinner &  make a fun little treat.

Dinner was going to be Chicken Cordon Bleu, but the chicken wasn’t that big & even after it was pounded it, it didn’t want to cooperate and fold over to form a “pocket.” So Plan B was chicken breasts with swiss cheese and ham on top. Chris had marinated the chicken in a roasted red pepper vinaigrette dressing, and the taste really pervaded – it was yum!

I also made some homemade rolls that tasted a lot better than they looked

Served with leftover scalloped potatoes, just like yesterday (with sour cream and fresh chives)

If you’re wondering what that dark brown “sauce” on my roll is, it’s none other than APPLE BUTTER (sooo good) slathered all over!

And after dinner I decided to make a batch of Homemade Granola Bars. I started making these during this past summer & discovered how quick and easy it is to make! Plus, it tastes better than store bought, for sure (and no preservatives, etc.)! I’ll never buy them again!

So here’s how it’s done:

Start with some dry ingredients:

& add brown sugar to a bowl with some butter (room temp) & vanilla. stir

Stir all that stuff together to combine. In a separate smaller bowl, combine jam, some protein powder & lemon juice

On a greased (or Pam sprayed) cookie sheet, put half of the oatmeal mixture, smoothing down & patting out. Top with the jam & spread out. Cover jam with remaining oatmeal mixture. Should look like this:

Throw in oven at 350 for 15-20 minutes, until browned.

Ta-Da!

Homemade Granola Bars

1 tsp fresh Mexican vanilla

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup salted butter, room temp

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 cups quick oats

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon3/4 cup jam* (*I use Bonne Maman raspberry preserves)

2 Tbs. hemp protein powder

1 Tbs fruit-flavored protein powder

1 Tbs lemon juice

Directions:

Mix together flour, oats, baking soda, cinnamon, and hemp protein powder (or can substitute for another kind of protein powder  I like the nutty flavor).

In a separate bowl, mix together butter, vanilla & brown sugar. Add dry ingredients to the wet, mixing to combine.

In a separate small bowl, combine jam (I used raspberry & strawberry, but blueberry & blackberry are also really good), fruit flavored protein powder (I used egg white protein in Berry flavor) & lemon juice.

Spray a baking sheet. Spread half of the oatmeal mixture evenly over the sheet. Top with the jam, spreading over the entire top of the oats. Top with remaining oatmeal mixture, again spreading evenly.

Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown.

Then – cut up into individual servings & you can store for snacks throughout the week or share with friends!

Take One:

Oops – Chris thought it would be hilarious to jump in the photo at the last second & act like he’s eating the thing.

Take Two

All together now

(they weren’t burned – the picture makes them look way darker than they really are!)

Today for a workout I didn’t want to have to go to the gym so I did a workout program from Fit TV called Total Body Sculpt with Gilad that I wanted to review for you.

First – It’s pretty awesome that there is such a thing as “Fit TV” where you get a bunch of different workout programs straight in your living room for free (well, it’s on cable – but  if you’re like me – you DVR it & it’s just chillin waitin for when you’re ready).

However – the program was pretty boring. The music was horrible, the movements were dull, and Gilad did not “pump me up” – he made me want to snooze.

But – if you force yourself to stick with it (because, again, it’s boring) – you actually get a pretty good strength & conditioning workout, plus there is some cardio too (not a lot), but  got a light sweat dong it (and a good burn in my butt & thighs).

My final decision – I’ll stick with my Biggest Loser workout videos.  The workout is the same, but the Biggest Loser is way more interesting & fun to do.

*do you do any workout videos or exercise programs from home?

Responses

  1. I actually have a similar homemade nutrigrain-esque bar recipe on the menu soon! 🙂 Yours look so good!

  2. I think the homemade rolls look great – made with love. Bet they tasted even better. 🙂

  3. Food that looks ugly typically tatstes the best 🙂 Your granola bars look amazing and i’m sure they taste even better! 🙂

  4. Oh, the granola bars look so good! I’ve been on a granola-making kick lately but haven’t tried bars… bars would definitely be easier for me to take as a snack during the day when I’m out and about 😉

  5. i’ve always wanted to try to make rolls! those look pretty good, despite appearances. 🙂 were they hard to make?

    • hard as in difficult? – No; Hard as in time-consuming? – YES! (you gotta take into consideration time for letting dough rise, etc.) Takes hours!

  6. Very nice and informative article. Thanks for the quality content and I hope you update your blog frequently as I`m interested in this topic. I`ve already bookmarked this article. Thanx!

  7. oh yum yum yum! i love making my own bars- easy to wrap up and go!

  8. […] healthier options, like fruit and now….chocolate peanut butter protein bars! I’ve made granola bars before and have played around with the recipe, but it has always had a base of oats and fruit. I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

