Posted by: thefitacademic | December 5, 2010

Second Verse – Same as the First!

So I feel like today was almost a clone of yesterday.

I spent a little time cleaning house, a little time at the gym (switched my planned workouts: Saturday’s cross-training became a run & today’s run became my cross-training), and a whole LOT of time at the office

Last night at the cookie-making party, I overindulged a little (okay, a LOT) which resulted in a not-so-pleasant tummy ache from the sugar overload! But we made these lovely creations

Yeah – I use the term “lovely” loosely : )

This morning I woke up still feeling pretty sluggish. I wasn’t really hungry, so I had a piece of Apple Bread that a friend had made for the cookie party (it’s just Trader Joe’s mix, plus she added some fresh apple to the bread – Heaven!)

I went to school (where I spent the majority of my day) & had a simple salad for lunch

It’s spinach, walnuts, white cheddar, turkey bacon, and shredded chicken lunch meat. The salad dressing is Sunflower Farmer’s Market’s Smokey Tomato. Very hearty & filling!

For a pre-gym snack I had some greek yogurt with fresh blackberries & grapes.

and a coffee

And around 4:30ish, I called the Hubb’s to ask him to put some ham into the oven  (it has to cook for 2 hours).

When I got home, I checked up on the ham & set to work on some homemade scalloped potatoes, from a recipe I got here but I healthified it up a bit.

I see some leftover ham dinner creations in our future.

Here’s my final recipe for the

Healthified Scalloped Potatoes

4-5 potatoes, washed and peeled (if desired)

2 Tbs. butter or margarine

1 cup reduced fat milk

3 wedges of laughing cow cheese

Parmesan cheese to taste (about 1/4 cup)

onion & jalapeno, diced – opional

Italian seasoning, salt, & pepper, to taste

Directions:

Wash potatoes, and peel if desired (I like mostly peeled, with some skin still remaining)

Thinly slice potatoes. Spray a 9 x 9 baking dish with cooking spray, then layer a row of potato slices (about 1/3 of the potatoes). Add salt, pepper, and any seasonings desired. Add 1/2 Tbs butter, cut into pieces scattered about. Add 3/4 wedge of laughing cow cheese, cut into pieces and scatter about.

Continue with 2 more layers and top with remaining seasonings.

Heat reduced fat milk on the stove. As soon as it boils, pour on top of the potatoes. Cover and bake at 375 for 40 minutes. Remove cover and add Parmesan cheese, to taste. Return to oven uncovered and bake an additional 15 minutes, until cheese has melted & is browned.

Plate, and serve with a dollop of sour cream (or plain greek yogurt) and freshly snipped chives.

From Start:

To Finish:

Followed up with a cookie for dessert!

Now the hubb’s if off to get his weekly dose of poker & I’m working on some lesson plans for a class I’m teaching in the Spring.  I’ve also got a conference call at 7, so I’m waiting around for that. The working never ends! : )

Responses

  1. Those potatoes sound awesome! 🙂

  2. Aww I know what you mean about work never ending! Your salad looks DELICIOUS! I’ve never had scalloped potatoes so I’ve gotta try your recipe!

    • NEVER had scalloped potatoes?! (GASP) – I guess because I’m from the south…we’re big potato eaters, just in general. Not the best “veggie” (I put it in quotes because it’s really more a starch than a veggie), but it’s DELICIOUS! I could eat potatoes every day in a million different ways : )

  3. Your day sounds like mine every day…cleaning, gym, etc. Funny thing, when I was little I HATED scalloped potatoes..I don’t know what it was? Just refused to eat them, thought they were the worst. I haven’t tried them as an adult, I wonder if trying a different recipe would make me like them! I love potatoes

    • Give it a go – see if it’s for you!

  4. That potato scallop looks delish! I’m a huge fan of it, my mom always made it as comfort food! I’ll have to try the healthier version!

  5. Those taters look yummy!!!

  6. That’s so funny! I was just wondering what it would be like to cook with laughing cow cheese wedges! Looks like the potatoes came out great! =)

    xoXOxo

    • Yeah – it was kinda weird….like the cheese didn’t “melt” exactly. I think it would’ve been weird had I not also used the Parmesan on top. If I do it again, I’ll probably just use regular cheese instead of the laughing cow : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

