Posted by: thefitacademic | November 30, 2010

Productive Tuesday

I love groupon! And in case you’ve been living under a rock and haven’t heard of it, you should check it out here!! Basically you get stuff for way cheaper than it normally is! I’ve picked up everything for half-price: massages, dinners, clothing, yoga and more! It is truly amazing!

In other news, the weather has been COLD here in Tucson! Yesterday on my way to the office it was 31 degrees, today it was only 29!!! Yikes! The crazy thing is that supposedly in two days from now its going to be back up to 80 again!

Due to the frigid weather, I haven’t been able to wanted to go on a morning run, like usual. It’s just too cold! So yesterday I took “off” and today I’m hitting up the gym at school. The place is brand new & beautiful! I’m glad they give grad students access for free! (see my new “workouts” tab to see what I’m up to at the gym)

Due to the Thanksgiving break, I’m also behind in work! So, today I packed up both a lunch and dinner for me to eat at school, because I plan on being here from 9am-9pm or so.

Lunch featured leftovers (my favorite lunch-time meal because it requires no preparation!)

This is the chicken noodle soup I made in the crock pot a couple days ago. I added some milk to give it a creamier consistency today. I took this picture after I’d already eaten a couple of bites.

I also had some grapes along with the soup.

Just before hitting up the gym IĀ  had a snack of veggies with almond butter to get a little protein pick-me-up (I only ate about half the veggies pictured)

as well as a little coffee in case the protein needed some caffeine-induced help : )

You know another sneaky way to add protein to your cup-o-joe? Sometimes I like to add a tablespoon of Chocolate flavored Soy Protein! Stir-stir-stir!!!! (or else you have clumps) Tastes delish!

And check out my new running shirt (yep – another new one!)

And look – it has little slits for your thumbs, too (is this on all long-sleeved running shirts & I just never knew because I’d never bought a long-sleeved shirt before?) Oh – and it even has a hood! Pretty sweet!

After the gym, dinner featured more turkey pockets! Remember when I made these? Well I had another can of crescent roll dough, so I decided to go to town with leftovers. I made 2 different kinds, and I had one of each for dinner.

(never mind the tiny plates – I didn’t have a regular full-sized plate at the office so I used 2 little ones)

One is like your traditional “Thanksgiving Sandwich”, with turkey, stuffing, and cranberry sauce. The other I like to call “Carb Crisis” and featured stuffing, mashed potatoes, and turkey gravy. The Thanksgiving Sandwich was delicious, but the “Carb Crisis” basically got eaten with a fork out of the crescent roll because it was just too heavy if I included the roll. Check out the insides –

And now here I am, still playing catch up.

I’ve found that when I have to stay late I really enjoy breaking the day up by going to the gym. That way I still feel like I have a “break”. And I’ve actually come to kind of enjoy evenings at the office. It’s nice when no one is around and I have the whole place to myself.

My floor features a huge suite of grad-student cubicles and faculty-member offices.

And out of all the grad students – guess how many have their very own office with a door that actually shuts?!

Just one – this girl! I’m lucky that way. Welcome to my (window-less) corner nook. It’s basically my second home. It’s kinda my first home because I spend far more waking hours here than at my real home! (I’m sure you can tell from the pics – looks like I live in my office, for sure!)

Now, back to the grind!

Responses

  1. I love the Thanksgiving Sandwich pocket!! Genius!

  2. I’ve heard great things about groupon, but I’m not sure they’d have many deals in a little town like Normal.
    Love the shirt! Thumb holes rock in cold weather:)
    how awesome that you get your own office!! I’m jealous:)

  3. Cute running shirt! I love groupon too!

  4. i love thumb holes!!! i have a few shirts with them, even my jacket has it šŸ™‚

  5. My grad student cube was windowless too, tiny, and I also had to share with 4 others. You are one lucky lady!

    • Ugh – that’s how it is in the Psyc department here (plus, they’re in the basement so they’re literally sharing a closet with 4 people in a hole underground, lol)! I’m lucky because our department has a ton of external grants & funding agencies so we have a HUGE & very nice facility, for sure!

  6. Groupon is the best! The turkey pockets look yummy. I will have to check out that post.

  7. I love groupon!!!

  8. My office doesn’t have windows either which makes me appreciate daylight so much!

    Love your snack! I’m kinda obsessed with almond butter šŸ™‚

  9. Wow so nice that you at least have a door that closes! I still haven’t had time to make those turkey pockets but they just look soooo good šŸ™‚

  10. It’s been super cold in the Phoenix area too. My fourth “winter” living in Arizona, and I don’t remember it ever being this cold, brrr!


Leave a Reply

Categories

