Posted by: thefitacademic | November 29, 2010

How we met

How has everyone adjusted back into the work thing? I’ll tell you what – it was HARD for me to go into the office today! And then I had a surprise work meeting that I had forgotten about. Always good.

The hubb’s and I had a gift card to Texas Roadhouse. The plan was originally to go on Thursday and for dinner tonight I was going  to do tacos, but by the time I got home I was in no mood to cook, so Texas Roadhouse it was. That place is just a little too much for me. Good, but it seems like everything is fried and by the time I left I felt….greasy?

Anyways, so since I have nothing else to say I’m going to tell you about how Chris and I met

(This picture was from a friend’s camera – don’t have the pics yet from the photographer)

Anyways, we met my freshman year of college (his sophomore year). It’s funny because we grew up practically down the street from each other. To this day, my mom & his mom live only about 20 minutes away from each other – which makes traveling home really convenient! But we didn’t meet in Austin, where we’re both from. Instead, we met in Stephenville, Texas at Tarleton State University. You wouldn’t have heard of it, it’s in the middle of nothing in small town, USA.

The first weekend of college there was a huge party. The campus was tiny so pretty much everyone went to this party. Everyone but me, that is. I had gone back home  to Austin – it was only a 2 1/2 hour drive and I already missed home! But one of my roommates went to the party. She’d met a couple guys there and ended up giving them a ride home from the party. They left some stuff in her car accidentally. No one remembered each others’ names or anything (we all lived on campus, so it’s not like the boys were dropped at a house or something), and the boys thought they’d never get their stuff back again.

But, lo and behold, one day my roommate and I were stopped at a red light on the way to the store. The boys were behind us at the light, recognized my roommate’s car, and decided it would be hilarious to scare us by sneaking up and banging on the windows at that red light!

Those boys were Chris and his roommate. Something about his “charm” won me over ; )

We’ve been dating ever since (August 2002) and just 3 weeks ago, we were married. In the past 8 years *yikes* we’ve seen a LOT together!

Trail of Lights 2002

Floating the Guadalupe River, 2004

Dominican Republic, 2006

Snorkeling in Belize, 2008

Parasailing in Key West, 2009

Vegas, 2010 (he won $500 on that pull!!!)

Been together through thick

And thin.

I love this man. And if you knew his macho persona like I do – you’d know that this picture


 

proves how much he loves me, too.

Responses

  1. Awwe congrats on your marriage, girl! You guys are adorbz together!

  2. This last picture of you guys is super cute!

  3. How cute are all those pictures?!!! Looks like you two are really in love! : )

  4. That last pic made me laugh. My hubs would NEVER do a bare foot pic like that. He definitely loves you. You got some major booty going on in the pic before it. I’m jealous! 🙂

  5. I agree about feeling “greasy” upon leaving the Texas Road House! I had to go there for a work thing and I swear, even their salads have that “fried” taste! Next to people posting pictures of their pets, my favorite thing to read about on blogs is someone’s significant other 🙂

  6. Haha! I love the last pic too! Love obviously! Cute….

  7. What a cute love story!!

  8. Cute!


Leave a Reply

Categories

