Posted by: thefitacademic | November 28, 2010

Meet Rocky

This is the love of my life my dog Rocky

He’s a rottweiler/blue heeler mix and he’s 5.

Chris and I got him as a puppy shortly after we moved in together well – 5 years ago in 2005. He was a precious-looking puppy, but he was a HELLION through and through!

Can’t you just see the mischief in his eyes?

Throughout the years we’ve been through a LOT together. We moved cross country twice: first from Austin to Boca Raton, Florida, and then from Florida to Tucson, Arizona. He’s seen me through blond hair and brown.

He’s been camping about a million times.

He loves hiking

and playing in the snow.

He’s gone from being one of the most destructive dogs of all time -you seen or read Marley & Me??? Marley had NOTHING on my dog – to being one of the best trained dogs that I know. See him looking at that ball? He’s under a trance right there!

But lately when I’ve been taking him walking he’s been pissing me off. See, he’s able to be in the yard any time he wants. He loves outside – stays out there for hours a day! And yet, the TWENTY minutes that I take him on a walk, he always has to take a poop! This is unfortunate because then I have to carry around his poop bag, rather than just having it be in the yard and having it “disposed of” (aka: Chris clean up) with all of the rest of his….waste. But how do you train a dog NOT to poop on walks? It’s hard because when we first got him he was trained to always poop on walks and was rewarded for doing so. Now I want him to leave the poop at home! : )

If anyone knows of any tips they would be appreciated.

So this morning I took Rocky for another walk (3rd day in a row! He’s loving all the new things to smell!) Then I dropped him off at home and went on a 3 mile run with sprinting intervals mixed in. It’s weird – you would think he would love to run – especially since he’s so big and has so much energy….but he couldn’t care less! Wants to walk and that is IT!

Then later this afternoon I was really feeling some tension in my body and felt like I needed a good yoga sesh, so I hit up Yoga Oasis for their $4 yoga happy hour. I love yoga – I don’t do it nearly enough! Every time I go I just feel so rejuvenated! And the girl who lead today’s class was awesome – I’ll have to check out more of her classes. I like a good mix of stretching, relaxing/meditation, and WORKIN’ IT! Without any of those 3, I’m not into it. I’ve been to lots of classes that are really heavy in the relaxation/mediation with very little actual “working out.” I’ve also been to classes with just stretching & working out and very little relaxation/meditation. It’s hard to find the right balance but Yoga Oasis is one of my faves (I just wish they did a Hot Yoga and I’d be in heaven!)

Food today has been all leftovers ~ trying to clean out the fridge. Tacos are in our near future.

Responses

  1. I like to joke that I literally walk the sh!t out of my dog because he literally could have just gone in the yard, but without fail he ALWAYS goes on walks too! πŸ˜€

    • I said literally twice, oops! lol πŸ™‚

      • haha – when I first read it I didn’t even notice! : )

  2. That baby photo is unfair, how could you ever say no to that face?! Seems like a great companion… I guess just not on 20-minute walks πŸ™‚ I wish I had some advice for you on that one!

  3. That’s one cute puppy!

  4. Aww your pup is so cute! Sort of looks like my dog πŸ˜‰

    And I have NO clue how to make Naava stop pooping on walks. She gets me every time!

  5. $4 yoga?? WOW! In NYC I can’t find any yoga for under $30!!! Your puppy is adorable – yes I refer to grown dogs as puppies πŸ™‚

    • I totally do, too! And him? He’s my baby ; )

  6. I love yoga too! Though I don’t know if I could handle hot yoga because I absolutely hate sweating. =) And the price for that class–wow.
    Love the picture of your dog as a puppy. I’m a cat person through and through, but dogs have a soulfulness that cats are just lacking.

  7. Hi there, thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Had to leave a note that your pup is adorable (now and as a puppy). What a sweetie he looks like!

  8. […] If you just haven’t gotten enough, you can read more about Rocky here. […]

  9. I think our dogs would get along! I had a dog that I trained to not poop on a walk, but that was easy because A. He was a Doberman and was really smart and B. He hated to be seen when he pooped and usually did it behind a tree.

    My current dog prefers to poop on the leash and I haven’t been able to change her mind about that. I usually do an out and back route, so I often bag the poop and leave it and pick it up on the way back. It’s still a stinky pain in the butt though πŸ™‚

    • That’s a good way to do it! At least then you don’t have to carry it the whole way!

  10. What a cutie!

  11. I dislike having to carry a poop bag on runs/walks too! My dogs never fail to do the same.

  12. I too believe I have a rottweiler/heeler mix. Ive been told that he may have catahoula in him but I truly believe he is a Rottheeler πŸ™‚ I would love to share pics with you to hear your opinion . He look very similar to rocky


Leave a Reply

Categories

