Posted by: thefitacademic | November 27, 2010

Lazy Saturday

Today has been the PERFECT lazy day!

1. I slept in late (for me). I usually wake up naturally around 6:30 or 7:00am, even without an alarm clock. Today I slept until 8:30! AMAZING success!

2. I had nothing to do. Usually my days “off” are jam-packed full of a million things to get done. Today I just got do do what I felt like – no plans or commitments to attend to.

3. It’s been productive. I’ve gotten to curl up on the couch and do a great deal of reading that I’ve been very behind with.

4. I’ve had great food.

Check out this salad beast

Looks like just a lot of cheese (that’s to entice the boy), but it’s actually super hearty! It’s a mix of spinach & romaine lettuce. Then to the mix I’ve added diced avocado, black beans, corn, turkey bacon crumbles, and little Santa Fe tortilla strips I got in a bag from the store (delicious!) Oh right, some leftover turkey is in the mix, too. Chris & I split it for lunch, plus there are still some leftovers in the fridge. I ate mine for lunch with some BBQ Ranch dressing & it was delicious!

This is going to be for dinner

That’s homemade chicken noodle soup, baby! YUUUUMMM & super easy! My house also smells amazing! I made it with 2 chicken breasts, a bunch of carrots, celery & onions chopped up, chicken broth & spices/seasonings. I also threw in a ton of brown rice (that I’d had leftover from the day before Thanksgiving) as well as some noodles, so it’s both Chicken and Rice with Noodles, lol. Can’t get enough of my carbs! (no good, haha)

Oh – so this is how the fire pit turned out that I talked about yesterday:

Don’t mind Rocky. He wanted to play.

Here’s an ariel view:

And here it is in action before people came over:

So instead of staying and hanging out like I’d originally thought, Chris had a couple friends that were going to play some poker, so they stopped in for a view of the fire-pit and a quick drink & then we all went together out to poker.

This was only my second time playing Texas Hold’Em and I did pretty awesome! It was tournament style, 6 tables, and I made it down to the final 2 tables. Then I made a bad call when I should have folded and lost it all. What can ya do?

This morning I decided to take Rocky for a walk through the neighborhood. It took us 20 minutes just to walk a single mile because he wants to stop every second and sniff/fake pee on stuff (yep, he’ll look at me like “what, I need to pee”, but then he raises his leg and nothing comes out…..that’s the “fake pee”)

Here are some views of my neighborhood:

See the pretty mountains in the distance? Not too long before there will be SNOW on those hills!

Look what else I came across: The Scooby Mobile (not sure if that’s what it’s called…I think actually it’s like the Mystery Wagon or something)

Can you see that a giant stuffed Scooby is actually in the driver’s seat? And look – even a Scooby Doo Windshield Cover thing:

Nice, right? Kinda made my day.

Okay, now I’m going to go back to reading on the couch before I break into that chicken soup for dinner. Good times!

Responses

  1. My dog totally does the fake pee thing too! Hilarious!

  2. hahaha thats so funny!! I’ve never heard of a dog fake peeing lol. I love chicken soup 🙂

  3. I made something totally similar for tonight at our house! Only used turkey and less broth! : ) Prescott got snow this morning, so I bet Tucson mountains will get it quickly as well!

  4. Looks like a great Saturday. Nice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

