Posted by: thefitacademic | November 26, 2010

Leftover lunch

This morning was fabulous! I woke up and just stayed in bed for probably an hour, just relaxing, petting Rocky & cuddling before finally getting up – that NEVER happens!

I got in a good couple of hours of (school) work this morning before running to the grocery store to pick up these for later this evening:

This, my friends, is the makings for some adult beverages: Hot Cider with Black Cherry Bourbon and Hot Chocolate with White Chocolate Irish Cream. Pretty indulgent! Remember me telling you about how the hubbs’ had built a fire pit in the backyard? We’re going to enjoy it this evening with a few friends & I thought it’d be great to have some seasonal beverages to offer  along with some marshmallows & roasting sticks : )

For lunch I made a creative turkey leftover. This is NOT for everyone (it’s pretty spicy!), but my hubbs and I are fanatics for really spicy foods. You could modify the recipe and make it work for you, too.

Buffalo Turkey Pockets

This is what it looks like when it’s been properly pinched closed and after it is baked.

Below is what it looks like if you don’t properly seal it shut….and then it pops apart while in the oven

Still delicious!

Super fast & easy too! Here’s what you do:

Buffalo Turkey Pockets:

1/2 cup shredded turkey (or chicken)

1/4 cup cream cheese

1/8 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/8 cup blue cheese crumbles

Buffalo Wing Sauce to taste (I do a ton because, again, I like SPICY)

any veggies of choice (I diced up jalapenos, but you could dice up celery to throw in there, to0)

Mix together all the above ingredients in a bowl. Then take a package of crescent roll dough and unroll into 4 squares. Press together the perforated lines to form a solid seal. Place a good size scoop of the mixture into the center of each of the 4 squares. Then, pull together the corners and pinch to seal shut. Brush the top of each with egg to brown the tops and seal the pinch marks. Throw in the oven at 350 for about 12 minutes, or until golden brown.

I love this recipe because there are a million ways to make it your own. You could make it savory instead of spicy by removing the buffalo sauce, adding herbs, and changing the cheeses to compliment your flavors (e.g., remove the blue cheese). I usually make the recipe with chicken, but turkey worked wonderfully as well.

I served mine with simple celery chopped up – it complimented the buffalo and blue cheese nicely!

Try it out and let me know how it goes and if you mix/match ingredients to customize it for you!


Responses

  1. Those are brilliant! I’d have to modify the cheese to cow’s milk dairy and use Tofutti cream cheese, but I bet they would still be awesome!!!

  2. Ohhh….I want some of those special beverages. They sound REALLY good.

  3. What a fun night you guys are going to have!!! And that is definitely a creative use for leftovers. My husband is a big buffalo/spicy fan- I bet he’d love these puppers

  4. Mmmm!
    I love a good mug of spiked hot chocolate.
    A very nice treat indeed.

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I want to come over to your place tonight! A fire pit, marshmallows and adult beverages…sounds pretty awesome!

  6. Great way to use up the leftover turkey! I love buffalo sauce on just about everything! : )

  7. So smart to use the rolls to make a mini calzone!! I definitely have to try that soon! I looove pizza-esque recipes.

  8. […] the gym, dinner featured more turkey pockets! Remember when I made these? Well I had another can of crescent roll dough, so I decided to go to town with leftovers. I made 2 […]


Leave a comment

Categories